We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Space - Beautiful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Space - Beautiful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

You can see where this location is going and in 10 years may be very different from what it is now. My advice - get there and enjoy. The resort is perhaps the best on the Caye with spacious rooms and a beautiful compound. The pools will suit any family member, from the little to elderly. Nice swim up restaurant and the beach is fantastic.

If you dive, there are a ton of options. Island Divers provided a great experience - Rudi is a first-rate master. Whatever you do - Julie will set you up with a smile. Now, the roads are "rustic" and you will rent a golfcart to get round - but this only added to the experience to me. The town is small with many great restaruants right on the beach. Hit "Wild Mango" for a meal if you can.

The best part is the people - no edge - just family-oriented folks who go along to get along. Leave your stress at home - chill and be treated with respect by everyone you meet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    77
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
186
144
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the moment I walked through the door of our suite I was floored by the beauty and elegance that surrounded me. We were escorted on a tour and everything was so perfect and beautiful. The staff was so gracious and accomodating. The view was spectacular and we enjoyed the beach and swim up bar. We could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay. It is definitely a home away from home. The only bad thing was leaving.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We just returned from a 7 day stay with family and friends at the Grand Caribe. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite, 3 couples. Initially one room had two beds, and was furnished for kids, but the next morning, the crew came in and changed our two doubles into one additional king bed. This is the first place we've stayed where the pictures are true representation of the location! It's actually even better than it looks. Footprints bar put up with our crazy requests, and we all highly recommend the Papaya Pina Colada. The food at footprints was ok, not anything fantastic, and it was great to get out on the island and try some other places. The service, however, was fantastic.
We rented a 6 seat golf cart (which are in short supply, so if you are going to need one, call ahead and have the front desk work one out for you). There isn't as much bartering on the island as I've seen in other Central/S. American areas, probaby becuase of the high tourism rate. We ate at Wild Mangos (good), The Blue Water Grill (good), Caliente (great), Aji (just down the beach to the north, which was awesome), Legends Burgers (great when you've had your fill of seafood) and Elvi's Kitchen (also awesome, especially for fish/shrimp tacos, a favorite for the WHOLE group). I would recommend staying away from a place called the Tex-Mex Cantina to the north of the bridge, the fish was bad and they charged us for it anyway. Most places were reasonably priced.
We dove with Amigos Del Mar. They ran a very professional dive with a good brief before each dive on the profile, sea life, area, and highly knowledgeable dive masters. We were extremely happy with their service and we even bought the video of our three dives, something we would normally do. Kudos to the dive videographer. It was fun to share it with the family when we got home.
On a final note, every single person we met on the island was wonderfully friendly, and genuinely happy we were in their restaurant/store/dive shop/hotel, etc.
What a great trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grand Caribe and our 1BR suite (unit D8)! We booked through the Winter Special offer (pay for 5 nights, stay for 7). The condo was absolutely beautiful! It was nicely decorated and fully stocked with every appliance you could need. It also had wireless internet, two TVs, daily room service, and an impressive view of the grounds and ocean. The GC staff was very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is about a mile North of San Pedro. You can rent a golf cart for $72/d but we didn’t. Instead, we opted to take the water taxi into San Pedro or if we wanted to go to another hotel for dinner ($5/person, one way). This was convenient (they come by about once an hour) and seemed safer than driving the dark road at night.

We enjoyed exploring the area on bikes and by kayak (both rented from GC) and would definitely recommend a snorkelling tour to Hol Chan & Shark Ray Alley (we had a great time with Sylvan from SeaDuced). Footprints Beach Bar at the hotel has good food at reasonable prices. We would also recommend Wild Mangoes (in San Pedro), Mambo (at Matachica) and Lazy Croc’s BBQ (right next door, bring cash).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have to say that I was pretty impressed with this hotel. They own the best property I believe in Ambergris Caye. We were discourage to move here, told there was no restaurants around and no way to go to town.... not true at all. You have the coastal express coming every hour to the dock and can take you to town in five minutes. There is taxis, restaurants deliver food and there is a few restaurants at walking distance at different resorts. We stayed at Victoria House before, very good hotel but we both preferred Grand Caribe by far. This resort has an amazing dock with the best cleaned beach in the whole area.. There is no other hotel that has a beach like this one. It also has 3 pools and 2 hot tubs. It is not crowded. The service is unbelievable. The restaurant is pretty good and you can order from your room and you will be surprised how fast they come. Every suite/room has a view. We got an ocean front and it has been worth it but not needed because from every where there is a great view. They even offer a free line to call USA. Very, very impressed with this Hotel. I recommend it 100%.
Thank you guys for the hospitality. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We visited the Grand Caribe for 8 days over Christmas with our three children (18, 14, and 12) we had an incredible time. My husband worked with Eli beforehand to plan our trip, and she was so helpful. All the excursions we went on were awesome, and our guides were terrific.

The place was immaculate and all the staff were very friendly. We ate at the pool side bar numerous times, and found the food to be great. Helen was helpful, and the man cook (Matthew? I wish I could remember his name) could put out great dishes from that tiny kitchen.
Even the security was friendly. We had a three bedroom unit, it was immaculate, and the laundry service great. I don't know what they washed our clothes I , but the smelled incredible!
We took a fishing trip with Lois, he was the best. So friendly and helpful. We went to the mainland with a guide that Eli set us up with and went zip lining, to the Mayan Ruins and my favorite, cave tubing. Eli knows what she is doing.
The only thing I would do different would be to make sure that our golf cart had a rail or bar across the back. Our kids rode back there, and loved it, but I was terrified to send them flying off.
From all the other places we saw on the island, this appeared to be the best!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Grand Caribe is a new resort. They really didn't start renting here until 2010. These are all condo style accommodations, ranging from 1BR to 4BR. Let me start by saying all the pictures you see of the resort are 100% accurate. It is a stunningly beautiful place. The condos are spacious and well decorated. I spent the month of Feb here to escape the snow in the north east. This was a working vacation for me and I was fully able to work from down here because grand caribe has reliable internet in every condo. The service is excellent. As an example, I arrived on a Sunday and the internet was not working in my condo. The brought the IT guy in on a Sunday to fix it for me. That's service beyond what you'd probably get in the US. The house staff is able and willing to arrange any excursion for you such as world class diving, snorkling, etc. Every little detail of my visit was just taken care of for me ... all I had to do was mention it and it was done. It appears that every condo here has a nice view of the ocean, some are directly on the ocean. The water is blue and clear, you can stand out on their dock and see all kind of aquatic life without even getting wet! The pools are beautiful and don't forget the swim up bar. It is a full service bar that also serves very nice food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I personally feel the resort is just the right distance from down town. It is quick to get to down town, but you're not living in the hustle and bustle of down town. I highly recommend this place and Ambergris Caye in general. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
2.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
5.0 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.