We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best grouper on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio Restaurant

El Patio Restaurant
Corner of Barrier Reef Drive & Black Coral Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501-226-3898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best grouper on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

They serve the best grouper dishes on the island. The wait staff is very attentive and friendly. Ask for Ray when you go.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The service provided in this restaurant is excellent. I always have Creamy Fettuccine which is excellent here. Always greeted by either JJ who provides the best service in San Pedro. I recommend always asking for JJ when visiting El Patio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Waiter was really nice and funny, gave us discount as we were one of the first guests for a dinner. Fish - snapper in coconut.. was really good. Shrimps portion was not big. Drinks were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Walking around San Pedro, we found ourselves hungry and overcome by humidity. We looked at several places, but chose El Patio as it offerred the most shade and space. Waiter greeted us and went for cold drinks. We looked over the menu and ordered.Waiter joined us several times to explain there would be a small delay as they were serving a large group, we told him okay as we were enjoying the cool. Turns out the group, seated close by, was 12-14 people, and they were the mayor and citizen's council, meeting for planning.Good sign if they choose to eat here.
Food was great, wife had a rice and beans with chicken. Chicken is prepared in a sauce, and was delicious. I had coconut rice with fish. Delicious as well. Both had plantains and slaw. Wife now likes plantains, and the slaw was great, just a touch of spice and unique.Others commnted on sandy floor, but hey it's Belize, not NYC-what did you expect? It's part of the experience and to be expected in Central America or Mexico among other places-otherwise stay in the USA, or come here for the experience. Nicest people, great food, good prices. I'm impressed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“hot hot hot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we walked in and walked out. it was so hot. sandy floor didn't even look at the menu. we were the only ones there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Patio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Patio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.