We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay 5 Star all the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Athens Gate to your Saves list
Athens Gate
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing stay 5 Star all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start! The resort is beautiful well kept clean and so modern! The drinks amazing James was our bar tender most of the week and the Piña Coladas to die for! E made all of our excursion reservations and recommended great restaurants the hospitality here is like none other! Oh don't let me forget the beds so comfortable we stayed in room 7 overlooking the Carribbean Sea the balcony is huge the rooms are big I just can't say enough great things about this resort! Rhonda the owner helped book this and anytime I had a question before we got there even right down to the weather she had it covered a true doll! James and E were amazing host made us feel at home and so helpful! They set up our excursions with Tuff E Nuff and those guys were great! All together this vacation was a blast we are a family of four our kids are teens and had so much fun the pool is always clean and the beach is sooooo clean the doc is beautiful we had such a blast hands down a 5 Star resort!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passportstampingmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We love staying here. Beautiful condo, gorgeous pool, First class service. James the bartender and E the manager take excellent care of you. This resort is located on south side of island, and is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadastaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just home from a short but wonderful stay in Belize at the MOST beautiful place on the island, Athens Gate. You can't go wrong here. I don't even have enough time to write about all the great things to say about the place but the staff, OH MY!! They are simply and amazingly AWESOME! E and James were at our beck and call and treated us like royalty. I wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else on a return trip! Best bartenders around! If it is your wish, it is their command. They are ALL THAT!! RS

Room Tip: All the rooms have an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Athens Gate for our 3rd time - there is nowhere else we would even consider staying on Ambergris Caye. From the beautifully appointed units to the immaculately kept grounds, it's a perfect place to stay.
E and James were always so attentive to our needs, whether it was setting up an excursion, mixing a drink at the pool bar, or giving us restaurant suggestions for dinner. They met us upon our arrival, and were there to say goodbye on our final day. Even the owners, Joe and Rhonda, made us feel right at home.

On this trip, we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units on the 3rd floor. It was tastefully furnished, and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. On our two previous trips, we stayed in one of the 3 bedroom units, and it was equally as nice. Last summer we brought our then 13 year old twins, and they felt right at home.

Athens Gate is a slice of paradise that I think about long after the trip is over. My husband and I have traveled extensively, but Ambergris Caye and Athens Gate will always be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have traveled the world and by far this hotel rates up there as one of the best. The place exceeded our expectations. Our unit was huge and had all the comforts of home. The property was beautifully well kept. The service was top notch. E and James (manager and bar tender) saw to it that we had everything we needed. The pictures you see online don't give this place justice even the professional ones. It's better than that! It's a little outside of town maybe 2 miles, but it's so much more peaceful and quiet and yet still close enough to town. Golf carts are for rent here and is how the tourists get around. We can't say enough good things about Athens Gate. We've seen the town and many other hotels. We will be back here again with our children. There's only one choice for us and it's Athens Gate!

Room Tip: Second floor and above have better views of ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a person that travels for a living, I thought I had experienced everything that was possible.That was until I stayed at Athens Gate. The owners have risen the bar on excellence.
Yes, the condos are perfect, spotless and with all the amenities that is expected from a five star location. It is the staff and the attention to detail that far exceeds anything that I have experienced.
You can find no better a staff that is willing and eager to make sure your stay is enjoyable. I was a quarter mile away on the beach when James appeared with a towel. He noticed that I needed one and ran one to me. E has a knack of knowing what you want before you do. In setting up tours, sailing, etc. E gets you what you want-not steering you towards just a few. No inside deals here. It is what is best for the customer!
The grounds are beautiful. I made a game out of trying to find one leaf out of place and never found one. The beach seemed to be constantly raked. Nothing but white sand.
I found paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms have some advantage. Talk to the owners and let them know what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staying at Athens Gate was a dream. The staff is friendly and efficient, the property luxurious, the beach stunning, the drinks ice cold. It's on the quiet end of the island, but just a golf cart's ride away from the center of town. The owners are gracious and welcoming, and it's obvious that they take pride in this gorgeous place. The perfect getaway if you're looking for luxury in the islands!

Room Tip: There are no bad ones - they all are beautiful, and face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhanggeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Athens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing