We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay 5 Star all the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Gate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athens Gate
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now for 35% OFF!
Ranked #2 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
2 reviews
“Amazing stay 5 Star all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I don't even know where to start! The resort is beautiful well kept clean and so modern! The drinks amazing James was our bar tender most of the week and the Piña Coladas to die for! E made all of our excursion reservations and recommended great restaurants the hospitality here is like none other! Oh don't let me forget the beds so comfortable we stayed in room 7 overlooking the Carribbean Sea the balcony is huge the rooms are big I just can't say enough great things about this resort! Rhonda the owner helped book this and anytime I had a question before we got there even right down to the weather she had it covered a true doll! James and E were amazing host made us feel at home and so helpful! They set up our excursions with Tuff E Nuff and those guys were great! All together this vacation was a blast we are a family of four our kids are teens and had so much fun the pool is always clean and the beach is sooooo clean the doc is beautiful we had such a blast hands down a 5 Star resort!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We love staying here. Beautiful condo, gorgeous pool, First class service. James the bartender and E the manager take excellent care of you. This resort is located on south side of island, and is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just home from a short but wonderful stay in Belize at the MOST beautiful place on the island, Athens Gate. You can't go wrong here. I don't even have enough time to write about all the great things to say about the place but the staff, OH MY!! They are simply and amazingly AWESOME! E and James were at our beck and call and treated us like royalty. I wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else on a return trip! Best bartenders around! If it is your wish, it is their command. They are ALL THAT!! RS

Room Tip: All the rooms have an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Athens Gate for our 3rd time - there is nowhere else we would even consider staying on Ambergris Caye. From the beautifully appointed units to the immaculately kept grounds, it's a perfect place to stay.
E and James were always so attentive to our needs, whether it was setting up an excursion, mixing a drink at the pool bar, or giving us restaurant suggestions for dinner. They met us upon our arrival, and were there to say goodbye on our final day. Even the owners, Joe and Rhonda, made us feel right at home.

On this trip, we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units on the 3rd floor. It was tastefully furnished, and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. On our two previous trips, we stayed in one of the 3 bedroom units, and it was equally as nice. Last summer we brought our then 13 year old twins, and they felt right at home.

Athens Gate is a slice of paradise that I think about long after the trip is over. My husband and I have traveled extensively, but Ambergris Caye and Athens Gate will always be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have traveled the world and by far this hotel rates up there as one of the best. The place exceeded our expectations. Our unit was huge and had all the comforts of home. The property was beautifully well kept. The service was top notch. E and James (manager and bar tender) saw to it that we had everything we needed. The pictures you see online don't give this place justice even the professional ones. It's better than that! It's a little outside of town maybe 2 miles, but it's so much more peaceful and quiet and yet still close enough to town. Golf carts are for rent here and is how the tourists get around. We can't say enough good things about Athens Gate. We've seen the town and many other hotels. We will be back here again with our children. There's only one choice for us and it's Athens Gate!

Room Tip: Second floor and above have better views of ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a person that travels for a living, I thought I had experienced everything that was possible.That was until I stayed at Athens Gate. The owners have risen the bar on excellence.
Yes, the condos are perfect, spotless and with all the amenities that is expected from a five star location. It is the staff and the attention to detail that far exceeds anything that I have experienced.
You can find no better a staff that is willing and eager to make sure your stay is enjoyable. I was a quarter mile away on the beach when James appeared with a towel. He noticed that I needed one and ran one to me. E has a knack of knowing what you want before you do. In setting up tours, sailing, etc. E gets you what you want-not steering you towards just a few. No inside deals here. It is what is best for the customer!
The grounds are beautiful. I made a game out of trying to find one leaf out of place and never found one. The beach seemed to be constantly raked. Nothing but white sand.
I found paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms have some advantage. Talk to the owners and let them know what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staying at Athens Gate was a dream. The staff is friendly and efficient, the property luxurious, the beach stunning, the drinks ice cold. It's on the quiet end of the island, but just a golf cart's ride away from the center of town. The owners are gracious and welcoming, and it's obvious that they take pride in this gorgeous place. The perfect getaway if you're looking for luxury in the islands!

Room Tip: There are no bad ones - they all are beautiful, and face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Athens Gate to your Saves list