We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Gate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athens Gate
Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now for 35% OFF!
Ranked #2 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beyond perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Athens Gate and I can say that it is always perfection. This place is truly our home away from home. Rhonda and Mr Joe are gracious hosts and will do anything to make you feel comfortable. The accommodations are nothing less than spectacular. If that we're not enough the rest of the staff is nothing less than wonderful.

Eliazar "E" is there to handle everything for you from excursions to drinks. He can get you a catamaran or search the island for cinnamon bread. Anything you need he is there. Plus he is one heck of a nice guy. He has become an honorary member of our family and we are glad to have him.

James is a newer addition to this group and he is pretty great as well and makes a mean dirty banana! John keeps the ground well maintained and provided my daughter with as many coconuts as her heart desired.

San Pedro is a special place and Athens Gate is no exception. Truly I don't understand why Athens gate is ranked any less than #1 EVER! We've been to the island 5 times in 5 years and the last 3 have been spent here (once at the sister property Pelican Reef). The other properties only try to duplicate the perfection that is Athen's Gate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johns Island, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ditto to all of the comments about the excellent attentiveness and helpfulness of E, James, Joe and Rhonda. We always felt that they were available to help answer any question or solve any problem. Fishing guides were great. Loved being away from the hustle and bustle of the city center although there are numerous speed bumps on the roads - being in a peaceful place was worth it. Hidden Treasures is a great restaurant close to AG. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting the other guests at Athens Gate too.Condo was spacious and such a great value.

Room Tip: Condos behind the pool are 2 bedroom; condos beside the pool and closest to the water are 3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just got back from San Pedro, Belize and our best vacation experience. Reviews about "E", James, and the owner Joe are all true. These are great people and people we now consider friends. They make the time to talk to all of their guests and will do whatever they can for you not because they have to, but because they are good people. In addition Jon (flacco) and the rest of the grounds crew, including housekeeping are equally friendly. The facilities are exceptionally clean and well furnished with everything you need. The view is fantastic. For the first time ever my family was truly sad to leave our vacation and head for home. We will be planning our return trip soon. Finally I want to thank Joe for all his hands on attention to my family. We are all rooting for your Texas teams...until they play Seattle.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

After a short stay in the jungle we end our trip with four days on Ambergris Caye staying at Athens Gate. This spot is a great value. We had a spacious two bedroom condo with full kitchen. Beautiful view off our large porch. the bar was a comfortable spot to unwind in the afternoon. I agree with others the location south of town was great. We enjoyed our daily ten minute golf cart ride into town. There's a great bakery and grocery store within five minute cart ride. 'E' helped us with all our activity and meal reservations. All of his recommendations worked out great. We are still glowing after our Belize vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

November 2012 family vacation, first trip to Belize. Very lucky to have ended up staying at Athens Gate. The location is ideal....away from the noise and bustle of San Pedro but a quick trip in the golf cart to restaurants and grocery stores. Also being on the south part of the island, you are picked up last and dropped off first on excursions (time saver). The property itself is upscale. You will want to buy a condo here after staying. The rooms are beautiful, functional, spacious, and equipped with high end furnishings. I am going to have to get the same mattress set because they were very comfortable. The staff is outstanding. James the bartender is always handy to make a delicious pina colada or a host of other tropical drinks. He was exceptionally gracious with our 2 kids, meeting their demands for virgin pina coladas. Eliazar is unbeatable for recommending restaurants or arranging excursions. He is also just a super nice guy and fun to talk with. We will be staying here next time we head to Belize.

Room Tip: Not a bad room at the place, if you have trouble with stairs, stick to the first or second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

4 of us stayed here. It was off-season so we had the place to ourselves. It was like staying in a luxury house with a private staff. E, James and Jon were attentive yet non-invasive. The pool area is one of the nicest I saw. We toured several other places while there and I did not see a place I liked better. I preferred the smaller, more intimate setting at Athens Gate. We went to Victoria House, Mata Rocks, The Phoenix and Pelican Reef to have a drink and look around. I preferred Athens Gate to them all. The Phoenix was too close to town and the pool closed early from what I could tell. Athens Gate kept the pool lights on all night so you could swim whenever. Victoria House was beautiful, but too formal for my taste. I will definitely be back to Athens Gate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed 9 nights this month and while the overall experience was a positive one, the spectacular reviews I had read to make my choice are not shared by me nor the 7 friends and family who traveled with me. The hotel is a condo property in San Pedro. It is on the quiet side of the island which can be both good and bad. The 2 bedroom apartment was really nice with kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Washer and dryer are provided. Balcony overlooked the beach.The maid came in every day and kept the condo clean. It is owned by Joe, a developer from Texas with his wife Rhonda. "E" is the concierge, James the bartender, and Jonathan cleans the grounds.All are very nice and will grant just about any want you might have which includes excursions, renting golf carts, ordering food, and providing information.The trips are expensive when booked through "E" because of all the middlemen involved. We used TUFF E NUFF TOURS owned by RICO and were very satisfied especially because we had his brother WILLIAM as our guide for 2 of the 3 tours. Some points to consider are that the beach is full of seaweed and is not ideal for swimming or snorkeling. There is a good spot for both at the sister property Pelican Reef-just a short walk on the beach. San Pedro had the hottest sun I have ever experienced so bring plenty of sun block. The island is known for it's mosquitoes and sand flies. You will get bit. Basic spray will not help much-use baby oil for protection. Town is a short golf cart ride away with many plenty of restaurants, stores, and bars. the carts cost about $260 for a week. they are fun to drive and will be needed. The hotel has no restaurant on site nor any spa or gym. You can go across the street to Joe's, into town, or again to the Pelican to eat. there are spas in town. For 7 of the 9 nights we were the only people besides the owners who were sleeping at the property. Initially this was strange but then when people showed up we kind of liked being the only ones there. Which leads to my next point-I would hate to see this hotel at full capacity. there is just not enough room at the beach area, pool, or bar if there are alot of people. The island is very safe despite the downtown area being poor.Overall, it was a nice trip, but certainly not one of my favorite island destinations. Athens Gate is nice but the Phoenix Resort in town might be better option beacause it is more of a "resort". but then again it's what you like better.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice as we actually viewed the whole hotel being that it was empty and the owners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Athens Gate to your Saves list