We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estel's Dine by the Sea

Estel's Dine by the Sea
On beach, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
226-2019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 127 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a great place for breakfast. I typically get the huevos rancheros which are excellent. I've also tried the french toast which was great. Don't forget to order fry jacks - you won't be disappointed. They also have a great selection of fresh juices. The atmosphere is great including outdoor dining with a sand floor and an awesome view. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    228
    46
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good home breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You can get everything from island stye breakfast to grits here!!! you eat in or outside right on the beach! Service is great and friendly and the food is exactly what you wanted and needed....good hangover remedy spot!!!! Opens super early so you can get your days adventures started with a full and content belly!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Below average experience. Try elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

People kept telling us "you've got to Estel's Dine By The Sea" cafe/restaurant. Some of our fellow guests had visited repeatedly after suggestions of locals/taxi drivers/etc.

So we tried it...what a disappointment.

Either we are too fussy or just have experienced better food/service at the smaller establishments in the vicinity.

We dropped in for brunch. Great view (on par with other venues along the beach). Sat waiting to be served, we were ignored for 5 minutes then asked if we wanted a drink and told to go inside to view the menu.

We ordered coffee. It arrived nearly 10 minutes later. Having waited so long I expected a fresh brew. But it wasn't. When I say coffee, it was more like a weak brown liquid with a hint of coffee flavouring. The second cup was as bad, so it was left undrunk in favour of bottled water. I like to have a few good cups of coffee with my breakfast, so ended up buying from elsewhere afterwards.

The menu is extensive. Trouble is you need to go to a chalk board inside to view it. Order taken at your table.

We ordered various main breakfasts with side orders. We'd been sat for 30 minutes before the food arrived. (By the way the food is cooked on an outdoor grill in the side street, we found out later)

Our order wasn't quite what we'd requested. We let it go as we're on vacation.

Having eaten at Latitudes Cafe and Licks Cafe (next door to one another opposite the water taxi jetty, 5 minutes walk South from Estel's) where we had superb food and service, with great coffee, we really expected something on par.

Estel's food was inferior to both Latitudes and Licks. It is more expensive (probably by 20-30%). The service slow and unhelpful (would hate to visit when it's busy). Coffee beyond awful, shocking that it was an extra too ($5 charge).

Ignore anyone's advice. Try it if you must. If it's your first meal out in Belize then it's OK.

There is much better food, drink and service at venues around, many are better value too. Walk down the beach and try Licks or Latitudes. Both are excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food , Location, and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would give this restaurant a well deserved 10 out 10 score! They treat you as a treasured guest! Their food is fresh, reasonably priced and delicious! They have outstanding Bloody Mary's too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Fresh squeezed OJ and Burrito, or what you want. It's all good at Estel's. Right on the beach in town. Don't try to smoke the butts from the toilet. They look soggy. :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estel's Dine by the Sea also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Estel's Dine by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estel's Dine by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.