We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Pedro's for 4 nights. The staff and owner, Peter, were great. They were happy to help and set us up on tours and give us a lift to the boat at the end of our stay. The bar is great and good food too...especially the spag bol! The shared bathroom facilities were great and good, speedy wifi too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    50
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
36
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The equipment of the rooms is very...basic. Beds, a fan, a couple of nails - that´s it! Not even sockets! Not to have a socket in the room is kind of fail. But to be fair - the staff was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Walk, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night in the hostel, it was perfectly nice, nothing fancy, jut vest simple. Not very soundproof walls and right by the airstrip so not great for light sleepers. The pool was very refreshing if not the cleanest. The bar had a great atmosphere and the pizza was great! Pedro himself was so nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Didn't know what to expect as i was staying during lobsterfest.. But was impressed overall! They threw the biggest party of the week, band with a lots of people, had a few free jagers with pedro, good people, good vibe.. I dont think there is too much to do in San Pedro so I think it would be hard to find somewhere better to stay i

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pedro's Inn was one of our favourite hostels as there are two swimming pools and a great communal atmosphere. You can book snorkelling, diving and all sorts through the hostel and the staff are amazing, really friendly and helpful. The only problem was that I stayed in a four bed dorm which was very hot and quite dark. However, this is the only real hostel on the island so it is worth staying there and booking in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were similar to port-a-cabins with no natural light into them, while the walls between the rooms were paper thin. The location was about 10 minutes walk outside the town.The hostel was relatively clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

So, the rooms are fine. Very basic, shame about the lack of power sockets, I see the owner has replied to a previous response regarding it being a wooden building and there being some safety concerns but I have stayed in countless others made of the same stuff where this didn't appear to be a problem).

Pros are a good price, nice staff, facilities are fairly good and the pools were really welcome and provide a great forum to meet people.

Few of downsides.. Laundry service was quite price at 25 Belize dollars, the food served at the bar was frankly atrocious (passable pizza, appalling chicken wings) and took way too long to come.

My main gripe with the place however is the owner. While he was not directly rude to us he was quite condescending and every question we asked had a sarcastic answer. He was however loudly and openly very rude and at time vulgar to a number of people on the telephone in hearing range of any of his guests, he comes across as someone who just wants to make money rather than indulge in the island life and has made quite a reputation for himself as such.
Sadly this is enough to sour what would have been a quite pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.0 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 26 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.