We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a good time staying at Pedro's Inn. The room was clean, the staff was firendly. However, it is a little offset from the action and really close to the airstip! There is also a nice bar/restaurant located in the hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilippeP701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Plus:
- cheap
- nice pool
- clean restroom and shower
- cool pizza place and bar with a crazy (in a good way) bartender

Minus:
- tiny room
- airport runway just behind the corner (you have to get drunk to fall asleep - could be also listed above)

To sum up - you get what you pay for; great place just for an overnight stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great time staying at Pedro's. He made us feel very welcome from day one. Clean rooms, decent pools, good activities and tours and one of the best bars on the island. It's also a great place to meet people as we made friends here who we ended up travelling with for a time after San Pedro. Great stuff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PetetheEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pedro's Inn is unique. It is the cheapest place to stay on the island.

If you are used to hostels, you will find yourself in familiar surroundings, with a twist. Since Pedro's is also a hotel, and since the entire place can hold as many as 120 people, a hostel kitchen is impractical. You'll still save a lot of money compared to anywhere else on the island, but it isn't as cheap as a typical hostel. Almost nothing on this island is cheap! But if you ask, you can find relatively inexpensive groceries and places to eat.

If you are used to hotels on a budget, you will also find yourself right at home. But make no doubt, these are budget accommodations! As long-term budget travelers, we have come to value service, functionality and cleanliness over fanciness. In that sense, Pedro's is the best value on the island. Peter has managed to retain a staff of friendly and helpful housekeepers, bartenders and desk personnel.

Now let's look at the big picture for a second. We've stayed in plenty of expensive hotels. Even the fanciest had problems. Things wear out, things break. What is important in the hospitality is how staff and management respond when you report these things. Apologies and rapid responses make up for any sort of problem one might encounter. This is key. And we had a few things go wrong while we were at Pedro's for three weeks. But the response was always to immediately fix what was wrong, or to make it right by upgrading our room.

I would also like to address some items in other reviews here, some of which caused us a bit of concern when we were planning our trip here:

Peter is rude and hates Americans - Not true! We're Americans and we got along just fine. He is, however, a 'Type A' personality. He's lived all over the world, and he is running at least two businesses on the island. He's been here for 15 years. It could be said that he doesn't suffer fools, but then why should he?

Airport - yes, the runway is about 300 feet from Pedro's. Planes fly in and out mainly first thing in the morning and right before sunset. They are all prop planes, but I rarely noticed after the first day or two.

Final thoughts - we thoroughly enjoyed the hostel/hotel and met some very nice people there. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, the desk guys were very helpful and pretty good with the coffee maker. Gino and the Shackshakers cranked out some nice tunes, Maureen was a bright spot with her karaoke stylings and friendly, welcoming ways. And I would like to single out Alex behind the bar. Possibly the hardest working person in the entire place. She's a steal, and I hope Peter recognizes that he should be extra-nice to her!

Room Tip: Hostel is closest to runway, new hotel rooms are next-closest, older hotel rooms are across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the good points: the front desk clerk and the bartender were very helpful and friendly. The place was generally quite clean, and it was nice to have pool access. Drinks were pretty cheap.

Bad points: The airstrip is VERY close to the rooms (about 20 meters away), and when you're hungover, it sounds like a plane is landing in your room. Planes fly out about every 15 minutes which means no sleep after 6:30am. Also, across the street there seems to be a lot of construction going on (maybe a shop?). Doors have no handles, and there are no power plugs in the rooms. Staff knocked on our door at 8am and after we yelled "No" they burst in and asked if we were checking out (which we were not). "Pedro" is actually quite rude to some of his staff members, and tries a little too hard to make himself look like a kingpin. Also seems to hate Americans. The place itself is quite far from the main strip. Pizza isn't that great.

I guess if you're only looking for a place to crash between, say, 1am and 6am it might work. If you want sleep, forget it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. As we are the least expensive place to stay in San Pedro, by a huge margin the location is part of the reason.
We state the airstrip is close. If you had wanted to upgrade to one of our hotel rooms then you would not have had the noise issues with the airplanes starting at 7:00 am in the morning (the go on the half hour and finish by 6:00 pm in the evening). There is, as far as we can see, any construction going on across the street and hasn’t been in many years. The doors have no handles due to the fact that we have deadbolts installed, which is to be a security measure, and to remind people to lock their doors when they leave.
Pedro’s Inn Hostel is a wooden building and people started cooking in their rooms with electric plates – which was extremely dangerous, which is why we took the power outlets out. The housecleaning staff begins work at 8:00 am and the first thing they do is clean the bar. There is no chance of them being in the hostel before 9:00 am.
The owner’s girlfriend is American and most of his friends are also, so it’s a stretch to say that he hates Americans.
We are located a short 10 minute walk to the center of San Pedro town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed here in mid dec and peter was great i arrive without a booking and he did all he could to help and found me a space. bar area is great esp all the jager bottles on the walls memories of some crazy nights im sure! rooms are very good clean and roomy, swimming pools are great and beach access in only about 50m away! thanks peter for all your help and hospitality!! the kiwi

Room Tip: all are good esp the 2 bed dorms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiekiwibiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wanted and needed to experience the real Belize on a budget and we settled in to our very basic, clean, compfortable space and it felt like home in no time.Loved the laid back, easy going feel and really appreciated all the staff. Booked our snorkling trip through the hotel and so pleased with the very experienced, professional, helpful, well informed guide as my sister was somewhat apprehensive, it being her first experience. Rented their bikes and made our way easily both north and south of Pedros.Tasty food at the hotel and we cleaned our plates when we ate there! Am going back as soon as I am able and would not hesitate to happily stay again! Please note that one can swim off any of the docks within minutes walk, as the ocean belongs to the world and beautiful Ramone's even has a welcome sign to swim from 9-noon with safe steps down to the water at the end of the dock. Loved the very close accessibility to everything, yet quietly away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core. Many thanks to all the staff for their warmth, welcoming approach and helpfulness in all regards! S&S sisters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#25 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#23 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#43 of 55 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing