We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nothing fancy, but clean and the best for the budget traveler. I have stayed here many times. No complaints.

Room Tip: For hot shower and more privacy, spring for the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    50
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
36
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here several nights. Originally stayed in the hostel for two days, which is exactly as described from other reviewers. Not bad at all, but decided to upgrade to the hotel for a bit more to get some A/C and a bit more room and a warm shower. Overall, Pedro's is the cheapest place on the island, yet quality for the price. The office staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Also, the pool is a great place to hang out during the heat of the day when you have a few hours to kill and nothing planned for the day. Didn't spend much time in the bar, but did get pizza one night, which was quite good. Short walk to downtown, and even closer to the beach. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for an all around great place and great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

i am a chinese backpacker travel, i was very lucky to live here.Very professional service, very clean the rooms and sheets,very safe.I lost my credit card in reception, when i checked out. They helped me delivery my credit card to my next hotel in Caye Caulker. i lived in Dormitory, the white sheet look like snow, too many fans in the dormitory.You can enjoy sunshire and laying on the swiming pool.

Room Tip: dormitory is very clean with white sheets . high speed internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Advantages:
- really cheap price, as San Padro is a very expensive location
- very nice pool area to swim and hang out
- good pizzas
- wifi in some spots

Disadvantages:
- rooms are very narrow for two people (two beds are exactly fitting in a room with a space in between, as wide as the door so you can enter)
- one of our beds was very bad (the base upon which the mattress lay had big "holes" causing the mattress to form bumps and dents)
- the untreated wooden floor can´t really be cleaned and thus is always dusty as well as the only place to put your stuff if not into the bed.
- in such an expensive location a kitchen would be very helpful for backpackers travelling on budget
- it´s quite a long walk to the center of town (approx. 15 min) and still not a quiet part because of the airport nearby
- there are no power sockets in the rooms, but you can charge your devices in the bathroom or the bar (where they are watched over)

Room Tip: have a look at the bed, they vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Only stayed here for three nights, and originaly booked the hostel, which was basically a tiny room with two beds and nothing else, not exactly what we were expecting...... We were lucky enough to get a room over the road in their b and b, which was a million times better and very cheap for caye ambergris. Room adequate with comfy bed and tv, and the first hot shower in three weeks around central america. The two british owners are extremely friendly and couldnt help enough, even though they also run a vet surgery, i dunno how they manage to run both. Looked at staying at a few other hotels while we were there, and standards are not very good for double or treble the price, so if you are coming here i would advise to book this place, i dont think you will find better. Location wise, its ten mins walk from the tiny town centre. Five mins from the beach.... If you could call it a beach..... And ten mins from a fantastic little jamaican pub....food is great, i forget the name..... But you cant miss it. Be careful when leaving your luggage for boat transportation, as had a few things stolen. Try and lock it if you can.

Room Tip: Be sure which you book as the hostel is basic, b and b far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very cheap, Cindy and Peter were extremly helpfull, friendly and funny. My only complaint was that I wasn't staying there for long enough!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Overall this hostal was good value. The rooms were a little small but they are only for sleeping in anyways. The bathrooms were a little dirty at times but not to bad, and everything is made up for with the pool. Around the pool is plenty of chairs and tables to hang out at, although this hostal is quite a distance from the main town centre so it is probably best to rent a bike to go to and fro.
Lastly the owner Peter was awesome he is super friendly an helpful, but do take some of the things he says with a pinch of salt as he has very strong opinions about certain places in Belize which I in turn found wonderful.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.0 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 26 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.