We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach barbque and snorkle day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suya Tours

Suya Tours
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011-501-226-3219
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beach barbque and snorkle day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

For $90.00 US each we were picked up at the end of our wharf, taken snorkling while our knowledgable guides when hunting for fresh seafood to cook up on the beach and serve us lunch. The price included alcohol and non alcohol beverages, food, boat etc.

Our guide Gavino was great and very entertaining. The value for what we got was amazing. The day we were to go it was raining so Suya moved it to the next day which we really appreciated.

Kim and Hugh Love

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    14
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Snorkeling and Fishing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Suya Tours created a package that worked for us - a snorkeling adventure, spear-fishing for lobster, diving for conch, and deep sea fishing for barracuda and other fish. After a morning of fun, our guide Gavino created a beach bbq that rates as one of the best seafood meals we've ever had. I never expected a snorkeling trip to be filled with so much adventure and fun, not to mention our new found knowledge of the country of Belize, Ambergris Caye, and a love and respect for the people. An Amazing Experience and worth every penny!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mostly great, but a negative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from our 1 week trip to Ambergris Caye. Suya Tours was very pleasant to work with and offered decently priced tours. We did tours with Suya: 1) Beach BBQ and Snorkeling and 2) Cave Tubing and Snorkeling.

1) Beach BBQ and Snorkeling: THIS TRIP WAS AMAZING! It was our favorite excursion we did the entire time we were down there. While we went snorkeling, our guide went off to spearfish our lunch. He caught 2 lobsters, 2 stone crabs, 4 fish and 6 conch. He cleaned all of the items there on the boat and we went and had lunch on the beach. This was our best meal on the whole trip!

2) Cave Tubing and Zipling: This trip was great. Pretty much what you'd expect--cave tubing was incredible and ziplining was fun, but quick. The only real negative was that they took another trip with us that was doing a 2 hour longer tour. As a result, we were just sitting there waiting for 2 hours while they finished their tour. Wish we would have taken 2 separate boats.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pay for everything with the person quoting you a price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just got back from a week trip to San Pedro with 4 girlfriends. We were recommended Suya by the house rental agnecy. We had such a great snorkeling trip to Hol Chan Marine and Shark Ray Alley we thought we would follow it up with a great night snorkel to Hol chan. Carlos quoted us a price and said we needed 4 people to go, we had 3 and Carlos said he would do it for the same price. We stopped by to pay and his wife charged all 3 of us an additional 20 USD per person becuase she couldn't "clarify" with Carlos. They said that would email us with Carlos's response but we never heard from them and my card was charged the extra 20 USD.

Also, we took the Mayan Ruins and cave tubing day trip. We felt we didn't get enough information prior (ie. cave tubing requires footwear that can be strapped to your foot etc) In addtion, we were not told to wear long sleeves while night snorkeling and two of us were attacked by bugs the entire time and not everyone was given a flashlight which made of a scary swim.

My advice is to always pay the person quoting you the price and ask questions about attire prior to excursion.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Just returned from amergris caye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from Ambergris Caye. Suya Tours is the best. Carlos,is awesome , Jodi couldn't be nicer! The excursions were the best! We will definitely use their tour company again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suya Tours also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Suya Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suya Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.