We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant

Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant
2.5 Miles North San Pedro Town | Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 00000, Belize
+501 226-4047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mediterranean, Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A one of a kind 5 Star Tapas Lounge and Restaurant situated on the enchanting island of Ambergris Caye, Belize. Come visit us for an exotic cocktail under our Palapa bar, or bring the family to dine in our outdoor beachfront restaurant. Enjoy the myriad of flavors our tapas menu has to offer and relax in the moonlight inside the tropical Tapas lounge . Looking to celebrate? Our beautiful property is perfect to house your wedding, or specialized private event, alongside our event coordinators. .If you plan on visiting Ambergris be sure to visit Aji, where you will be captivated by the tropical, romantic atmosphere, fine food and fun friends you will make while visiting.
Kingsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Okay, Belize islands restaurants have good food. This is one of the nicest experiences we've ever had. You are on the beach. The food is good breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is so casual but doesn't feel yicky. You can wear shorts, and have a great meal. Coconut french toast is great, and so rich. We went 8 times. Great staff. Thank you Mr. Tua.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    88
    31
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our first trip to Belize. Staying at Grand Caribe on Ambergris Caye. Walked about 500 feet up the beach and tried a beach front restaurant called Aji"s for dinner. Oh my gosh! The red snapper was the best I have ever tasted and the service was impeccable. The owner came by and chatted briefly. We learned the fish were fresh that day.

GOING BACK AGAIN!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ahh. a nice relaxed dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

this was all good. the staff were attentive, the food was the best we found on the island, the wine selection was good, the ambiance was relaxed with lighting and and lack of flies.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, fun surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very fun location, outdoor dining with sand as your floor, really nice at night. We had 4 different dinner items, excellent fish and paella. We stayed at Grand Caribe, about 500 yards on the dark beach path, bring a flash light (or cell phone). Can also get here via taxi on the "road" and via water taxi.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to eat here one night on our honeymoon. There is much to be said for this restaurant.

The food: Unfortunately, we had only one meal at this restaurant, so I can only speak for a limited amount of items on this menu. I had the paella mixta, which I understand is one of the more popular items, but my wife's meal, the grouper caribena with parmesan sauce, was literally out of this world. As I said, the food was amazing (and the drinks weren't bad either).

The atmosphere: The restaurant is outdoors on the beach. Unlike the beach-side restaurants in town, there are not a million people walking by per second, which makes the site more relaxing. Obviously, it overlooks the water, and the trees with the lights in them really set a romantic room for a date night.

The service: The servers were not only attentive and friendly, but they make sure that all aspects of our meal were perfect. When my wife said she was cold (the restaurant is outside after all), the server got her a blanket, when we noticed there were a couple of mosquitos (again, its an outdoor restaurant in the tropics), they brought us some Off. It was obvious that the servers actually wanted to be there, and they made us feel very welcome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.