We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
#2 Trigger Fish Street | Just North of Tropic Air Terminal, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 206-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Fogon meaning the "firehearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire.Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly dessert.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the airport. Just one street off main road. I had shrimp ceviche and salbutes to start. Everyone in my party enjoyed both. Our mains were just as good. Best to go around 6:30 before the crowd arrives as there is limited seating.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    147
    36
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Conch Fritters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We always are on a search for good conch fritters and they make the best! We loved the conch fritters so much we just kept ordering them. Great service and a fun atmosphere. Right across from the airport, we were able to have them right before we left! We will be back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here because or dive boat captain's family owned it and we wanted to check it out. We went as a group of 16 people, we had reservations and they were all set up and ready for us when we arrived. The conch fritters were a huge hit with the group and we just had to order more!! Each person raved about their food choices, the fish was all very fresh and well prepared and no one was disappointed with what they had ordered!! We even got extra orders of coconut rice because it was just sooooo good!!! There was no vegetarian options on the menu but they were very accommodating and made a delicious cream pasta!! All in all a great find!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local and yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had dinner there on our last night of the trip. The service was great, the food, delicious and simply prepared. The atmosphere felt very local which is to say super friendly. The people in
San Pedro are very friendly and welcoming!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We went by a local's recommendation for a traditional Belizean style dinner. The fire pit is where they cook the food, but since it was raining we missed it. The food was good, the cocktails were ok (stick to beer). It's off the beaten path, but the servers were pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.