We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
#2 Trigger Fish Street | Just North of Tropic Air Terminal, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 206-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Fogon meaning the "firehearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire.Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly dessert.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great dinner and drinks in this unique and quaint restaurant! The conch fritters were the best that we had of all the restaurants we went to in Ambergris Caye. Henry our waiter was so kind and helpful. He is very knowledgeable about Belize and Ambergris Caye's traditions and about the food that was prepared for us. We truly enjoyed visiting with him!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    147
    36
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This place tries to mimic local village kitchen but is far from being authentic .Our grouper file was about 3oz ,definetly frozen .we ordered lemonade(did not feel like beer) that was made from concentrate.after spending 50 US dollars we left in satisfied.i will not recommend this place to anybody.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis D, Owner at El Fogon, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate every person who walks into our humble restaurant. We really wish we would have known you were unhappy, we would have addressed it right away. We never use lime concentrate for our limeades or serve frozen fish so we are shocked about that complaint. Our little restaurant was established by my mother who was born and raised on the island of San Pedro as were her descendants. She designed the restaurant to look like an Old fashioned kitchen like to good old days. Our lunch menu consists of traditional Belizean cuisine cooked in our fire hearth and our dinner menu specifically states that we specialize in grilled seafoods only. We have small menu with the intention of keeping our food fresh. We apologize for not satisfying you and we are very sad you do not recommend us to anybody. We understand that our family restaurant does not cater to everybody. Many thanks to everyone who has taken the time to post about their great experience at our place! We are always looking forward to having you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was an amazing place to visit, recommended by many, and we found out why. All 6 of us had an amazing last night at this place. Loved the food, drinks, and well its not north america, the service was amazing for Island time :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Belize Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We drove our golf cart through town to find this very cute restaurant. The staff was nice and friendly, Good food and Fresh fruit juices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We come to Belize almost every year and go to El Fogon at least twice for a meal. The food is from family recipes and truly authentic Belizean - unusual affair such as gibnut, venison and pig tail stew are offered, slowly cooked over a wood burning fire. The service is excellent and has a full bar. Small, quaint and definitely worth a visit. They will also accommodate your diet needs if possible. It is a bit difficult to find, near the airport and just ask anyone local and they will guide you. Open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.