We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeding the marlins!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill - CLOSED

Sunset Grill
10 Black Coral Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501-226-2601
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Barbecue, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sunset Grill Restaurant, Bar & Marina a "must visit" Located over the Lagoon in San Pedro town at the end of Black Coral Street,a short 3 minute walk from downtown.We are touted to have "The best food on the Island" featuring both local and international cuisine.The only place to Dine as you enjoy the amazing Belizian Sunset.Participate in Feeding the tarpon, an exciting experience you will always remember.Our friendly staff and talented chef await your arrival 11am to 9pm daily. The restuarant is under new ownership as of August 15, 2011, Mark and Linda Moore have turned it back to Mr Feger
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feeding the marlins!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The reason to go here is to feed the marlins. The reason to stay is good food and a beautiful setting.

We arrived just before sunset so we could film the boys feeding the marlins. Just after sunset the power went out (for the entire island!), but that didn't stop us! The kitchen cooked by flashlight, and we had a lovely meal in a great setting. The darkness actually added to the festivity and fun!

It's a fun evening, with good food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennedale, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for drinks and sunset, but eat elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Started with the daily rum punch special, which was delicious. Then had some chips and salsa, which were also good.
While waiting for dinner, the sunset was phenomenal and we were entertained by the feeding of the tarpon.
All the while service was great, but the main courses were a let down.
I ordered pork chops that were thin and dry and my husband had chicken stuffed with lobster that left him less than impressed.
It was our first evening and meal on the island and we were so excited to be there, but when we return it will only be for the view.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoulsboPoulsbo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place has changed..............”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Sunset Grill has been one of our favorites places to eat over the last 6 years. We went back expecting the great food, service and value. The food was nothing compared to what it has been in the past - it was not even average. The service was horrible and the place (and bathrooms) were not as clean as they used to be. We were so disappointed to see how far this has gone down hill. In December of 2011 we met the owners and they said that they were planning on selling so I am expecting that they did and the new owners don't set the same standard. I don't think I have ever walked out of an eatery without tipping, but I certainly did here - it was that bad. Too many fantastic places in San Pedro to have an amazing meal to settle for Sunset Grill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another "Best on the island!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Expensive, and deservedly so with the ambiance, view, and service, but for once on Ambergris Caye, the food matched the expectations.
We didn't bother with the star attraction, feeding the huge tarpon that gather here every evening, as we were so glad to have a decent meal at last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A place to watch the sun set”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On back street. We had different dishes, but we both had fish. I would say it was good, but not great. There was some construction so they may have been in a transition. With all of the restaurants on the island, we would choose a different one for lunch or dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.