We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuddos to the chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill - CLOSED

Sunset Grill
10 Black Coral Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501-226-2601
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sunset Grill Restaurant, Bar & Marina a "must visit" Located over the Lagoon in San Pedro town at the end of Black Coral Street,a short 3 minute walk from downtown.We are touted to have "The best food on the Island" featuring both local and international cuisine.The only place to Dine as you enjoy the amazing Belizian Sunset.Participate in Feeding the tarpon, an exciting experience you will always remember.Our friendly staff and talented chef await your arrival 11am to 9pm daily. The restuarant is under new ownership as of August 15, 2011, Mark and Linda Moore have turned it back to Mr Feger
Isla de Tibás, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kuddos to the chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went for our anniversary, and the cheff sent us an extra plate of appetizer and dessert!!!!! Nice.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband had dinner here. The service was good, it is beautiful if you get to see the sunset, the Tarpons were swimming in the water but the food was not good. My shrimp and lobster were both overcooked. For the price we were charged, I expect a much better dish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Poor quality for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went for dinner here last night and were not impressed at all. We ordered the "special" and honestly it was nothing special. It was a snapper dinner and just downright boring. When eating out I like to eat food better than what I could prepare at home and this was over cooked and just not worth the price at all. We've also been eating ceviche at every place we go and this was the worst, again over cooked. I was rather surprised when I read the rave reviews, because we did not have the experience that so many others did. With so many other places to choose from why not go somewhere else?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great food and fun time on the dock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

As the other reviews suggest the food is very good. Go with the daily specials. For me personally, the outdoor seating on the dock watching the rays and tarpon cruise by was very relaxing and enjoyable. Wasn't too busy, as went later in the evening more toward closing time.

Food was great, service was on mark, atmosphere is just fine. Only glitch, just make sure their credit card machine is working before you sit for dinner. All that aside, great time for a night out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good, but pricey, experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were a group of ten people. Several of the diners ate here before it was sold and were since told the food had gone downhill after the sale. This was not the case. The food was very good.

The down size was price. For the area it rather was pricey. Also, there was only one waiter and a water boy. However they did a good job. Kept the beer coming.

I probably would not go there again due to the high price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.