We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palapa Bar and Grill

Palapa Bar and Grill
1 1/2 miles north of San Pedro | Tres Cocos, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501 226-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Springfield, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We sat on the upper deck facing the ocean. Live music that afternoon - and lots of drinks. Everyone having a wonderful time in the Tropic air. I saw 2 stickers from dive shops in my home town, Springfield Mo.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    316
    106
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We drove our golf cart to the palapa bar not really knowing what to expect. The food and ambiance was wonderful. Servers were great. Just sorry it was too cold to watch people floating in tubes and getting drinks delivered!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favorite spot during the entire trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We came back to the Palapa bar over and over again. We watched football, enjoyed drinks, floated on the inner tubes, and the ceviche was very good. We even brought home the Palapa Bar tervis tumblers. The staff and owners were amazing and we loved it. We can't wait to come back. The breeze is great sitting out on the water like that. Very relaxing and friendly environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, il
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ultimate ocean bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wow, this has the views. The bar is out 300 feet over the ocean and we sat two times on the second story stools looking out to sea with the breeze in our faces and drinks in our hands. The place could serve anything and we'd still love it, but the drinks were actually decent- liked the limeade with blue curacao in the bottom, beautiful like the ocean and nice refreshing tang to it. Only 1.5 miles north of bridge, bikes make it there just fine.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everyone should experience at least once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very fun and quirky - A must do in Ambergris Caye.
Float in the tubes, pet the dog and be sure to sign your name on the wall, railing, floor…really anywhere. Great low key fun!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palapa Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.