We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palapa Bar and Grill

Palapa Bar and Grill
1 1/2 miles north of San Pedro | Tres Cocos, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501 226-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 127 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seaside bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Right on the water. Far enough from downtown to allow you to swim & actually see fish, stingrays, etc. the prices were fair & the food/drinks excellent for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    430
    138
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Def. one of our favorite places to go on the island. If it's a nice day, or just a decent day, plop out on those tubes. If it's raining, inside is fun too

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the hut bar you generally see pictures of when looking at Belize tourist pictures. It's a must because you just have to say you went. This is mostly a bar, but the food was good and reasonably priced. Two sets of complete strangers needed me to be their "fourth" to take a round of shots from a log. LOL. The red devil shots are NOT for the uninitiated. Trust me.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is a ton of fun! You can lounge in inner tubes on the water & they will bring you beer! Can't have better service than that! They make great Pina Coladas and mojitos & if you are really feeling frisky you can take a shot from the shot stick. They have pretty good bar food as well. My husband and I got the fish tacos twice because they were so good. I also had the pulled pork sandwich which was pretty good as well (though I would recommen the fish tacos over the pork). My husband and I spent a good deal of time hunkered down in the bar staying dry from Tropical Storm Berry & enjoying great food, drinks, & company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome bar for grabbing a drink at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful open water views, you can float in a tube and they will lower your drink down to you in the ocean - such a cool bar! They also let you sign your name or a message on the walls/floors as well....so it's got that rustic bar feel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palapa Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.