We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat the Heat Over the Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palapa Bar and Grill

Palapa Bar and Grill
1 1/2 miles north of San Pedro | Tres Cocos, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501 226-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Beat the Heat Over the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice ocean breezes, cold beer and great food. Float on an inner tube while enjoying a ice cold bucket of beer. I dare you not to have fun at this place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    677
    295
    94
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sit in the tubes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Sit in the inner tunes and drink for hours. Have buckets of beer lowered to you. Sign your name on the wooden structure. It in the hammock. Food is just okay. A little ways up the beach from the main drag, which is nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STOP AND EAT YOU WON'T REGRET IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had food and drinks here. The fish tacos were wonderful and the drinks YUMMY. Great atmosphere looking out over the ocean. We will go back again soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We rented a golf cart and made Palapas our first stop northbound. We had chicken wings and fish tacos which were both really good. The staff are very friendly and fun. They don't skimp on the drum in their rum punches. Great start to our day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Descent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was just ok....but you go for the beer and the location...enough said. We had fun and at night there tend to be a lot of young people having a good time....fun!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palapa Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.