We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palapa Bar and Grill

Palapa Bar and Grill
1 1/2 miles north of San Pedro | Tres Cocos, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501 226-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a fun spot, atmosphere and employees both rock. The Palapa is a palapa, over the water. Staff is friendly and efficient. Once when we were there the fishermen were just bringing their catch to shore. We watched it get cleaned and then ordered it for lunch a few minutes later!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    426
    138
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, West Indies
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“what you always imagined a beach bar would be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

except there's no beach. Well, there is, but the bar isn't on it... it's out a pier on stilts. We watched local fishermen delivering the freshly caught fish for that day's lunch barbeque, floated in inner tubes tied up beneath (they'll lower your beer in a bucket), and enjoyed reading the many "inscriptions" written on every surface. You can spend a long long time looking at the sea. It did get crowded later, with boatloads of Gen Xers and younger, who were delivered by water taxi and clearly had not spent a lot of time hanging out... but by then we were ready to leave. Food was good fresh fish tacos and good freshly grilled burgers, we did not look to see what else they might have. One drawback--- the sound system incessantly played Buffett, and we would have preferred reggae or soca, but the boatloads were pleased.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved the Palapa bar. Owners are very gracious. Food is pretty good reasonably priced. We watched rays swim by along with a nurse shark or two. Very laid back atmosphere. Stinky the dog (pitbull) was around pretty lazy and harmless, slept alot and then got part of our huge meal. All in all a very nice local hang out to have a great BBQ sandwich. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The breeze coming off of the carribean sea and a cold rum punch or Belizian beer in your hand as you listen to raggae songs. Hmmmm, take me back, please. We didn't eat here. But I did see a few people with plastic trays of fried foods.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun bar, good food, and friendly faces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What can I say that has not been said already about the Palapa bar, it's owners, & staff? Just a fun place with good food and outstanding bartenders. It's a happy place in a beautiful setting. You definitely get your money's worth as far as drinks & food. If you're in San Pedro Town you definitely should check out the Palapa Bar & Grill. The dirt road from town is a little bumpy, but well worth the drive. Kick back on Island time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palapa Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.