We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Restaurant

Caliente Restaurant
Barrier Reef Drive (Front Street) | Beachfront - At Spindrift Hotel, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye C.A., Belize
+501 226-2170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Caliente is located on the beach in the center of San Pedro. Our restaurant has been serving a delicious combination of Mexican and Caribbean cuisine in San Pedro since 2001. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. 1/2 Price margaritas on Fridays. Closed Monday.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

As I've said before, we never found ANY restaurant worth going back to. I can say they gave us good chips and some salsa:-) I ordered the coconut chiicken and my Mom in law said it was awesome. i didn't like it so much, but she loved it! lol GOOD VIEW and wood deck. Nice to get off the sand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    143
    45
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went there with a large group (13) without reservations - I would not recommend doing this as it is a small restaurant, but they were able to fit us in with no wait. The food was excellent. I ordered the ginger shrimp but they gave me the ginger chicken instead (honest mistake), and I was happy with that choice, although I tasted the shrimp and it was the better choice in my mind. My daughter had the ginger shrimp, and she preferred my son's dish (breaded shrimp). I think that everyone in our group had a great dish and there were lots of good choices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mexican and Belizean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fridays they have Taco night and have good Mexican food on the menu. Nice atmosphere. Sometimes have a live band.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Belize with the girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Burrito grande is very grand more than fills the plate, grilled onions and peppers along with lettuce, beans and chicken. Burrito gringo were smaller in size though 2 on the plate, still nice and tastey. Prices reasonable for San Pedro and good service

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The food is delicious! We ate here twice on our vacation! Go on Friday night for taco night and margaritas! The Hawaiian tacos and guacamole are delicious! Also had the fajitas and loved them!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliente Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caliente Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.