We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Burrito” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Pescador (Middle) Street between | Buccaneer and Black Coral Streets, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
206-2893
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lobster Burrito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

OK, this was really good. The place is a hole in the wall. However, they have an incredible Lobster Burrito. The thing is huge. Typically they recommend sharing it. It has a split lobster tail on top of the burrito with chunks of lobster on top and inside. The price is only $13.50 US. Everywhere else on the island charges $25 US for lobster. The service is so so. If you love lobster you really want to get this. Who cares about the service or ambiance. Went here 3 times in 6 days. What does that tell you. The other burritos are good too, but I prefer the lobster one. This was as of 12/2013.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    230
    54
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Big Food, Small Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

HUGE portions!
The papoosa's are $1.25 US dollars.
Their burritos are enough for two people at $8.00. Stuffed with chicken, covered with cheese, bell peppers and even more chicken!
This is a popular place for the locals.
There are about 6 tables outside, but NO ambiance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best shrimp in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My friend and I stumbled on Waraguma while searching for a lunch spot. It's a simply decorated restaurant, but who cares, the food was fantastic! Their shrimp was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The lobster was delicious and I personally are more than my fill of pupus.

I can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visited on our last night on Ambergris mainly because we wanted to end our trip on some local cuisine.

The food and drinks were not bad but lacked something. The service was also slow and disorganized.

Nowhere near the quality of Papuseria which is located directly across the street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING lobster burrito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The atmosphere isn't great, but the food makes up for that. The lobster burrito was the best dinner we had in San Pedro and the papusas were amazing. They make them right out front in the evening - served fresh. It was excellent - highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waruguma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.