We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pupusas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Pescador (Middle) Street between | Buccaneer and Black Coral Streets, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
206-2893
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good pupusas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We found this little restaurant one evening as we were walking and had their pupusas which were good. They are prepared fresh (made to order) just outside the store and served with crisp shredded cabbage and a light sauce. The pork and cheese was good but my friend enjoyed the chicken more. When the place is busy, outdoor tables fill up fast and you need to sit inside which can be very hot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    229
    54
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best pupusa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It feels like mom is making your dinner! We have gone back 3 times during this trip! Best street food and hearty snack! The pupusas are made right in front of you and they travel extremely well. The ladies wrap them up and include slaw and sauce in little bags and they are smoking hot when you arrive home!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philiadelphia, Pa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cheap but apparently hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stopped in on the recommendation of our hotel staff. Wanted to try the "famous" pupusas, but the waiter couldn't really tell us what they were, except that only two of the 12 varieties on the menu are available at lunch. Also no lobster. Also no conch. We saw fish burritos and some rice & sauce dishes around us, which looked good but I can't vouch for them because ordering was pretty difficult. So we got one each of the 2 types of pupusas that were available, which were indeed cheap but not particularly filling. Should have tried the burritos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The papusas were freshly made before your eyes. They came in many different variations of seafood, spinach, pumpkin, and etc. The seafood burritos were AMAZING. And their ceviches were the freshest on the island!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We popped in here for lunch to try their pupusas (given all the great reviews) and found it to be lacking. Simple restaurant with a few options, but fewer still at lunch. Out of all the pupusas listed, only 2 were actually available. Ordered both, and it wasn't anything special. Cheap meal though, so at least I didn't overspend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waruguma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.