We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...not great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Pescador (Middle) Street between | Angel Coral street,Back Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
5012062893
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Salvadoran, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food...not great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was not at all impressed with the service here....I more felt like I was being ignored, though, as opposed to the service being bad (if that makes sense)...anyway, that being said - might be some of the best ceviche I've ever had. Shrimp ceviche in the biggest serving of ceviche I've by far ever had filled with huge shrimp. I could barely move when I left here b/c I didn't want to leave any. Also, tried a pupusa...cheap and good.

Was bummed I didn't go back here again on my last night, decided to try something new and regretted the decision of not going back for the ceviche. Next time...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    281
    66
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good pupusas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good pupusas! A must try in San Pedro. Affordable. Friendly staff. You can watch the lady make the pupusas yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food is wonderful. We weren't looking forward to the local food as some of us are vegetarian, but there were very good choices for everyone. Service is a little slow, but consistent with island pace.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GREAT MEXICAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the burrito, chips and salsa. Fresh salsa! and burrito big enough for 2! Place was packed on Fridays...plan on a wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skip lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Skeleton crew at lunch with lazy attitude. Didn't tip, and we never do that! Lunch has its choice of 3 different papusas. I didn't care for any of them. The beer was good...that's a plus, but the waiter asked if we wanted change for our $17 Belize lunch when we paid with a $20 US bill. Um...yes! See...the rate is 2B to $1 US. Not going back. I would advise the same.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waruguma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.