We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here for seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Pescador (Middle) Street between | Buccaneer and Black Coral Streets, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
206-2893
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Newcastle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eat here for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The seafood at Waruguma was out of this world. The seafood soup was the most impressive seafood soup I have ever had. That is saying a lot. There was a little clear broth in the bottom of the bowl. Sitting in the broth were a number of shrimp and muscles. The real joy came from what was sticking out of the broth, lobster tail, stone crab claws, grouper filet and octopus. All fresh and tender. Most being caught hours before. We also ordered the steamed stone crab claws without butter and the ceviche. Both incredible. Waruguma was my favorite dinner spot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    418
    200
    50
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The fish tacos and tostadas are excellent. The lobster burger is good also.

Service leaves something to be desired.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best pupusas in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nothing fancy about the decor of the restaurant. Portions are huge, food is excellent and the pupusas to die for! A must to dine here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sadly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really wanted to like this place because I love the empanadas they have in LA, but fail!

Pork, bean and cheese empanada lacked flavor. Shrimp was slightly better, but still not mind blowing. Mostly because they serve it with a tomato based sauce that tastes like canned tomatoes instead of the brothy goodness that it's usually served with, and the cabbage slaw was very sub-par. Lacked flavor and freshness that it usually offers.

Will still to my $1 empanadas back home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fish tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

They had the best fish tacos. This was one of the places we went to twice. Which I usually do not do!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waruguma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.