We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool and welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
The Phoenix Resort | Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011-501-226-4623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 122 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Red Ginger is located at The Phoenix Resort on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We serve fresh tropical cuisine in an elegant air conditioned indoor setting and in our garden patio. We would love to have you eat with us.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So cool and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My family and I kept going back to this hidden gem while we were in San Pedro. It became our place to relax and eat great, reasonably priced lunches after coming off a diving adventure or shopping in town. Tucked away inside the Phoenix hotel, we enjoyed watermelon juice, cocktails and delicious sandwiches several times. The wait staff were always courteous and welcoming no matter what we looked like after our adventures. Next time we are there, we will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    34
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the resort where Red Ginger is located. We ate
breakfast there on 2 different occasions, and both times were
WONDERFUL!! The Cinnamon Toast was the best I've ever had.
It is made with "Texas Toast" (and made from scratch ---- homemade)
--something we can't get even in
our state of Texas!! The traditional breakfast was great and cooked
per our request. The service both days were was unmatched by
Elias. He is very courteous, friendly, and is an asset to
The Phoenix and Red Ginger.
If your looking for a good breakfast, I suggest Red Ginger,
if in the area or staying at The Phoenix. And, the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

For the higher end restaurants, this by far is the best that I have tried. Everything from the wine selection, to the applies, entrees and dessert were perfect. The service was excellent as well. Will go back this week actually as we have friends visiting. More higher end restaurants should strive to be like Red Ginger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This restaurant was awesome. We had a large group dinner here and everybody raved about the food. We shared numerous appetizers as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot for a Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Even though it doesn't have an ocean view, this was one of our favorite meals on the island. It was very nice, the service was spectacular, the setting was elegant, and the food was amazing! I had lobster, which was fresh and delicious, for $30 U.S. Don't pass this up if you are looking for a memorable meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.