We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a Romantic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
The Phoenix Resort | Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011-501-226-4623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 115 restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Red Ginger is located at The Phoenix Resort on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We serve fresh tropical cuisine in an elegant air conditioned indoor setting and in our garden patio. We would love to have you eat with us.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for a Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Even though it doesn't have an ocean view, this was one of our favorite meals on the island. It was very nice, the service was spectacular, the setting was elegant, and the food was amazing! I had lobster, which was fresh and delicious, for $30 U.S. Don't pass this up if you are looking for a memorable meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    133
    34
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not your typical San Pedro restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Red Ginger is a great idea and hopefully is a work in progress. Most of San Pedro's dinning options are your typical casual, beach atmosphere restaurants with laid back approaches to everything. Red Ginger attempts to have a more upscale environment and attitude. In some areas they succeed and others need improvement.

The menu throughout the day provides plenty of options. Some of the food is truly great but other selections were very disappointing. Red Ginger is one of the more expensive restaurants on the island and with that comes higher expectations. A little more consistency from the kitchen is definitely needed.

The service at Red Ginger is hit and miss. Some of the staff is professional and a pleasure to be around. There were a few others who have no business attempting to serve others and clearly had no interest in doing there jobs. When inquiring about ingredients in a dish due to severe allergies we expect truthful answers. One "server" blatantly lied because he was too lazy to ask the chef. Thankfully a few of his coworkers had more integrity and saved us a trip to the hospital.

We have a lot of hope for Red Ginger. The Phoenix is a wonderful place to stay and this on site restaurant is certainly convenient. There are a lot of things to like about Red Ginger and if they work a little harder it could turn into an excellent choice for any meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ropesville, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“better than average hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Phoenix, so we ate breakfast here several times. The fruit plates are very generous, and as far a hotel breakfasts go, this one is better than average. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night, and the steak was surprisingly good for Belize, where a good steak is hard to come by. There are more scenic places to eat, and that would be preferred, but when tired, or for breakfast it was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Popped into The Phoenix for a spa treatment - decided to have breakfast at Red Ginger. Ordered traditional eggs, black beans, fry jack, fruit - very delicious! For me the interior is very modern - more like Miami than wonderful down to earth San Pedro - very "resort" for the less adventurous.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ideal for a romantic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wednesdays and Sundays there is live music played at the restaurant till 9pm. We dined here on a Sunday evening and for the entrees we had the cashew crusted snook fillet and the blackened snapper fillet. The fish was cooked well and was moist for both dishes. Fish was fresh, delicious, flavorful and just the right portion sizes. Service was prompt and friendly, we did not wait for our meal for more than 20 minutes and as soon as we were seated, the waiter took our drink orders and his timing was perfect for refills. The song choices that the DJ picked were easy listening, romantic and soulful, which was a plus for the ambience!!! Just a perfect, perfect evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.