We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a romantic evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
The Phoenix Resort | Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-4623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 127 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Red Ginger is located at The Phoenix Resort on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We serve fresh tropical cuisine in an elegant air conditioned indoor setting and in our garden patio. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. We would love to have you eat with us.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for a romantic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wednesdays and Sundays there is live music played at the restaurant till 9pm. We dined here on a Sunday evening and for the entrees we had the cashew crusted snook fillet and the blackened snapper fillet. The fish was cooked well and was moist for both dishes. Fish was fresh, delicious, flavorful and just the right portion sizes. Service was prompt and friendly, we did not wait for our meal for more than 20 minutes and as soon as we were seated, the waiter took our drink orders and his timing was perfect for refills. The song choices that the DJ picked were easy listening, romantic and soulful, which was a plus for the ambience!!! Just a perfect, perfect evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    44
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique Fusion Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Red Ginger is one of the best restaurants on San Pedro, if you don't mind paying a little extra for a special meal. The menu is a combination Asian fusion with a touch of Caribean thrown in. Unique entrees and good drinks too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the resort where Red Ginger is located, The Phoenix. We loved the food and our ocean front room so much that we had room service from Red Ginger 3 nights while we were there. Terrific seafood...highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went to Red Ginger twice while in SP. First was to celebrate my 50th bday and our meal was fantastic. Elias was our server and he was excellent. I had the conch chowder which was rich and delicious and my husband had the Black bean soup which also was delicious. For my entree I had the Red Ginger combo - grilled shrimp skewer and grouper fillet in a citrus beurre blanc with mashed potatoes - the dish was heavenly - nice char on the shrimp and the grouper was so flavorful and tender and the mashed potatoes were so smooth and creamy My husband had the Imported New York strip with bacon mac and cheese, gingered broccoli - the steak was cooked perfectly and very very good flavor. All our food arrived piping hot and perfectly seasoned. For desert we had the molten chocolate cake which was smooth silky yumminess!!!
The second time we went for dinner we brought a friend along that we had met at our hotel. We had been bragging about what a fantastic meal we had there in the past so we were very excited to try this restaurant again.. We decided to try the tasting menu and none of us were impressed with the items..except the conch chowder and the deserts. Some of the items seemed to be pre-made and really lacking in flavor. It also would have been helpful if our server would had reviewed each item as he bought it out(we did not have Elias serving us this time). We did let them know that we were not impressed with the second course and they refilled our wine glasses on the house however the food was just not up to par.
The restaurant is lovely..beautiful decor and amazing flower arrangements. All said, I would return Red Ginger but would not order the tasting menu again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“they know what they are doing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

These are the same people that own the Blue Water Grill, and it is just as good!!! Great service, drinks, and food!! My first time to this restaurant....i will be going back again on my next visit. Its no cheap, not overly priced either....you def get what you pay for!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.