We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, but we were food for the bugs :(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Treasure Restaurant

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
2715 Flambouyant Drive | Escalante Area South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
+501 226-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food, but we were food for the bugs :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The food was excellent, the service was good (albeit a bit awkward- we were the only people in the restaurant the entire time) but we were bitten by SO many mosquitoes!

It's outdoor seating, and very beautiful, but NOT near the ocean, so not a lot of breezes + because it's so inland, there were a LOT more mosquitoes. In fact, we got more bug bites sitting at this restaurant than on our excursion ziplining.... probably because we didn't think we'd need to put on DEET before going to a fancy restaurant.

The food was delicious, can't complain about that - but the bugs totally put a damper on everything.

There is a free pick up/drop off from their personal taxi, which we didn't figure out until after arriving on foot..... which was also a downer.

The food is a 5, the bugs + not knowing about the taxi knock it down to a 4.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Okyost,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice and candid review of our restaurant. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the ambiance and food but we were sad to hear about the problem with the bugs at our restaurant.

As you clearly pointed out, Hidden Treasure is an outdoor restaurant and it is in somewhat a rainforest setting. We have recently installed an automated mosquito misting system on the entire property to control these annoying little critters and it works great. A few of them would occasionally still find there way in our dining area and we always keep a bottle of insect repellant for our patrons just in case. It is unfortunate that our staff members were not aware of the problem that you were experiencing that evening as they would have suggested for you to use the repellant.

Yes, we do provide a complimentary shuttle service which we offer to all our customers when a reservation is made whether the reservation is by email or phone call. I am sorry that you were not aware of this service.

Upon your return to the Island, please give us a call or email us via our website and we will pick you up and take you back to your hotel.

Thanks once again for taking the time to write about your dining experience at our restaurant.

regards,

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    179
    69
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good first dinner on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went here on our first night. The fish was cooked perfectly with a nice sauce served with veggies. Its an open air restaurant off the beach so it was a little stuffy on a summer night. If it is breezy I am sure it would be fine. The service was wonderful and the ambiance was very romantic. It is off the beaten path so keep and eye out for the sign.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are happy to know that you had a fantastic dining experience at our restaurant. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to San Pedro.

regards,

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aptly named, this place is worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great restaurant, set apart from the hustle and bustle of busy San Pedro streets. This place is a true gem, with delicious food, great live music, and wonderful service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful dining experience at our restaurant. We look forward to serving you on your return to San Pedro. Thank you for this nice review.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This restaurant is really a hidden treasure on the south side of the island.
The venue is beautifully lit up at night, it feels like you are dining in a big tent.
The service and food was very good. I had the coconut chicken. My husband had a trio of fish, and our friends had the shrimp curry. Everybody was very satisfied.
There are dishes in everybody's price range.
Must visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went during slow season for a nice dinner. Liked the atmosphere, the fish was great, got the grouper and snapper both excellent and the margarita was smooth . Would like to go back for desserts, heard it is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Treasure Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.