We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Treasure Restaurant

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
2715 Flambouyant Drive | Escalante Area South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
011501-226-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The name says it...it is really hidden. The food is delicious and so are the drinks. The service was impeccable and the place is really pretty. We went on a Thursday night when they have live music, which I am normally not a big fan, but the singer was really good and the sound wasn't too loud. We could easily have a conversation

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    573
    136
    47
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I ate here 6-24 and everything about this place was amazing. The little oil lamps on the table and the fresh cut flowers set the mood for a nice, quiet dinner. We had everything from appetizer to dessert and nothing disappointed! The lobster chowder (soup of the day) was the best I've ever had. The salad was essentially a salad but the mango dressing was quite good. The main courses were outstanding and plentiful. I'm surprised we had any room left for dessert but we found room and had the caye lime pie!! That is NOT Cool Whip on top, it was REAL whipped cream and soooooo good. If ever in the neighborhood you owe it to yourself to check this place out. The atmosphere here is beautiful and open. Will be visiting again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

No joke the place is out of the way but it's a small caye so it doesn't take that long to find. Tucked away in a semi-residential area any cab driver knows the way and it's worth it. Romantic and lovely. Excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Should stay hidden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Restaurant looks lovely and started off nice with the cocktails tails cantaloupe Martinis were good for the girls. That's we're it ended shrimp cocktail came with ceviche, the shrimp were horribly small almost like mini salad shrimp and fishy. Ceviche was the worst we had during our trip to Belize. It had big chunks of the bad shrimp and too little lime and cilantro. We had already ordered our meals but you could tell the main were not going to be memorable. All four adults in our party had the seafood combo special with mashed potatoes. Potatoes were tasty, and came the same small shriveled shrimp drenched in seasoning,
The snapper was mushy and fishy some if the worst snapper I have eaten. The only saving grace was the 8oz lobster tail as it was good, almost no one screws up the lobster here during lobster season. Finished with chocolate rum cake which was dry and probably not fresh. Service was ok, never asked how our meals were and when I got the bill he reminded me that gratuity was not included....thanks buddy. So for 2 apps 4 seafood specials 2 kids meals and three Martinis the bill rang in at 300 US dollars with a 15% gratuity...ouch the most expensive by far and most average meal we had during our stay in Placencia and ambergyis. Seafood special was 57
US dollars, we had 1lb lobster tails at secret garden in Placencia for half that price...ouch...stay away from secret garden overpriced average food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“IT REALLY IS A HIDDEN TREASURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

WOW We really loved this place. We go to the island every year to stay about a week. We have our favorites and we like to go to different places to eat both. Now we have added Hidden Treasure to our rotation of can't miss restaurants there. Stuffed grouper --oh yeah!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Treasure Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.