We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Treasure Restaurant

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
2715 Flambouyant Drive | Escalante Area South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0000, Belize
011501-226-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 124 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
Grove, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is sort of hidden but well worth the search. Great atmosphere and delicious food. Service was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    148
    53
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

They picked us up in a golf cart (that seems to be the major way to get around the island altho the taxis are real cars and vans). Its in a residential area. The place is open air under a roof with mahogony beams but they use curtains to block the side views of houses. Husband started with the seafood chowder and I had coconut shrimp with a fruity dipping sauce. We both had their ribs with Garifuna spices (local people from the South of Belize) and BBQ sauce. Husband's also came with bacon wrapped shrimp, sort of a surf & turf. We were both happy and too full for dessert.
They had a decent wine list. Husband had Belikin beer with dinner.
They had a birthday couple while we were there; their table had been decorated with balloons and when they brought out a piece of cake with a candle, they dimmed the lights and everyone joined in singing Happy Birthday which I thought was a nice thing!
Other than the food at Victoria House (where we were staying) this was the best meal of the trip

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the better dinners we had this trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have eaten here in years past and found it to be just okay. Boy has that changed!! The food, service and atmosphere are lovely. My husband had a pasta dish with shrimp and was excellent (he is a super-taster and can be very picky). The portion was very generous. I had the ceviche for an appetizer and ordered another as my main meal -- it was that good. If it is not spicy enough for you, they will gladly bring you a side of habeneros.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good flavour but small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant had nice ambiance . Good selection of meals. Had the curry chicken. Taste was superb but portion small. Wife ordered a spinach salad as a main dish and some chicken on top as an extra. Good thing she ordered the chicken because the salad consisted of about 8 spinach leaves and maybe some garnish. The price of the salad alone was about $18.00 BLZ.. Curry chicken about $30BLZ.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, il
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful warm service, atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Beautiful restaurant, friendly servers, just a happy low buzz of conversation and music. Husband had Caesar with anchovies, fish with creamy sauce, I had curry chicken with a good flavor and heat, plus we shared a dreamy chocolate rum cake and coconut ice cream. A definite hit, highly recommend. They do pick up and drop off too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Treasure Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.