We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and Over-priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rojo Beach Bar

Rojo Beach Bar
North Beach, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011-501-226-4012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 124 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Los angeles
1 review
“Over-rated and Over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Based on positive reviews, was expecting a fun night...found the bartenders had attitude serving the worst drinks by far I've had on Ambergris. Don't even get me started on the crazy manhattan prices at a beach bar!!! Come on!

Spent over $150 and want my money and time back...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    30
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“always a blast at Rojo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at a wedding in Ambergris caye and frequented Rojo Beach Bar...it was walking distance from our resort. I HIGHLY suggest their lobster artichoke dip and the lobster bacon pizza is to die for! The atmosphere is fun and relaxed. you could stay all day drinking, eating and chatting with the owners. Its the BEST!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“we loved spending time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we visited rojo more than once during our stay in san pedro as it was just a short walk from our resort. we loved it here - the beach bar and the bartenders are fun and was a much more casual vibe from our more formal and quiet resort. the drinks (frozen lime pie!) and food (anything we tried) were delicious. yes, it is extremely expensive, but the prices weren't any different from what we were paying at our resort for every other meal. we loved hanging out here talking to the bartenders and petting all of their dogs. we would definitely come back if we ever visit san pedro again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just want to add another top rating for Rojo. Fin and Danny are the best! Very creative menu of both food and drinks, along with a beautiful setting and great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks, great atmosphere on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We basically stumbled upon this place walking south along the beach from where we were staying. It looked so inviting we had to stop for a drink, which led to another, and then we discovered the amazing food and that's what got us to keep coming back! Rojo is the bar attached to the Azul Resort, and is a sort of Belizean/Asian fusion, with lobster poppers to die for, pork bao (steam buns), and incredibly good pizzas to boot. I say this as a huge foodie snob, and the prices are reasonable for the island as well. We ended up there half of our nights on San Pedro, also because we enjoyed talking to the various guests and locals who hung out there, and the fantastic bartenders Finn and Danny, plus met one of the owners, Viv. They also have a menagerie of parrots, dogs and cats!

Anyway, definitely make sure to go here if you're on San Pedro, I wish we could be there right now! Keep up the great work and vibe!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rojo Beach Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Rojo Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rojo Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.