We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish tacos for lunch hit the spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Mango's

Wild Mango's
42 Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501-226-2859
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Causual, good food right on the beach in the heart of town. Stop by, let the wind whisk away your cares, have a couple of Mojitos and a really good lunch or dinner!
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fish tacos for lunch hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Came over a year ago and loved it. On the beach, open air concept = relaxed place to enjoy drinks and a meal. Started with some delicious ceviche and plantain chips and got some large frozen drinks. They had some kind of deal - something like ordering a large batch of the same kind and it was cheaper than ordering per drink. It was tasty perfect for two. I was craving fish tacos. A few dishes were repeatedly coming out the kitchen that looked good so I inquired. The one I had my eye on was, ironically, the baja fish taco wrap. We both got that and it hit the spot - crispy fish filet with fresh veges, queso blanco, and finger-lickin' sauce. Satisfied with the flavor and portion. Dessert was good too. Price is higher for beach food standards but so is what you're eating - fresh meats and lots of fruits and veges incorporated into the cooking so you don't feel like an oily blob afterward.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    262
    75
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland area
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It is a very nice place to relax along the water. The guacamole was bland. The pull pork needs a little more kick. The service was not memorable. There are better places along the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok food. You can do better on San Pedro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place has a nice view of the ocean, but the food could be better. My daughter ordered the Alfredo pasta which turned out to be glorified Mac and cheese. The server-side offer to take it off the bill as my daughter didn't like it, so kudos on the service. I had the two salad which was pretty good, but the shell was harder than I am used to. Overall, it's not bad, but you can do better on San Pedro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“innovative Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great lunch or dinner, but make reservations. Amy has done an excellent job bringing her mark on Ambergris Caye hospitality arena. Miss it already, but will be back. Freshest of ingredients makes it a favorite of both tourists and locals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious meal on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Seems like a casual place at first glance but truly amazing food! I had the mahi mahi special, which was wonderfully prepared. The chocolate/banana dessert was also to die for! This was in our top two restaurants in San Pedro (along with Aji). The prices were some of the higher ones we saw on the island but the food was worth it. Our only complaint was that the flies were pretty bad while we were eating. I had to use one hand to fan them away while I ate. I understand we're in a tropical environment with lots of bugs but it was probably one of the "buggier" meals we had. Once other people started getting served (we had an early dinner), it seemed to get better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Mango's also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Wild Mango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Mango's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.