We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters birthday dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Mango's

Wild Mango's
42 Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501-226-2859
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Causual, good food right on the beach in the heart of town. Stop by, let the wind whisk away your cares, have a couple of Mojitos and a really good lunch or dinner!
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Daughters birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We celebrated our daughters 38th birthday here and totally enjoyed our meal. I have dietary allergies and the chef prepared my meal to the T and everyone elses was delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    484
    225
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Cerviches of any kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful food. Restaurant is right on the beach with a great atmosphere. Their specialty was all kinds of cerviche combinations. We tried them all. Great service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a very relaxed restaurant. We liked sitting on the porch. We liked the wide variety of smoothies. We tried 6 and loved them all. The quinoa burger was delicious and a welcome vegetarian alternative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Felt that I had to try them out after reading all the great reviews on TA and I am so glad I did. The food was delicious and I enjoyed sitting along the beach. As I looked around at what others were eating everything looked delicious. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Absolute BEST restaurant in downtown San Pedro, hands down!....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were so impressed with the food at Wild Mango's, we enjoyed dinner here twice while staying at a nearby resort. It doesn't have a lot of tables, so if you're having dinner, best to make reservations in advance. Each time we ate here, all tables were full. Chef Amy Knox has brought a standard that no other beachside restaurant can come close to matching. My husband & I usually order different dishes so we can sample each other's food, and we were glad we did. The food is phenomenal! Our 1st dinner: appetizers were black bean stuffed gordas for me & southwestern egg rolls with creamy cilantro sauce for hubbie. Next, I had mixed green salad with chili-raisin vinaigrette, my husband had roasted chili Caesar salad with romaine lettuce, tortilla strips, tomatoes & quest blanco + roasted poblano Caesar dressing topped with pepita (pumpkin seed) salsa. For main entrees, husband had grilled Jerk chicken with habanero-mint glaze & pineapple-papaya salsa while I had a special of the night: Mayan pork Pibil. It's slow-roasted pork marinated in achiote + sour orange marinade, then roasted in a plantain leaf. It's topped with a Yucatan curtida which is marinated pickled red onion. The table next to ours ordered a specialty of the house, Tequila-flamed shrimp, that they swore was the best thing on the menu, so I ordered it for my appetizer at our 2nd dinner here. Hubbie had the shrimp-stuffed jalapenos which are ultimately fried, then I enjoyed pork loin for my 2nd dinner while my husband had the orange snapper. The sides with each dish are wonderful & the desserts to die for! My husband being the chocoholic he is ordered the Rainforest brownie while I had spiced carrot cake, most of which I had to take home to enjoy for 2 days at our resort. Their signature margaritas are fabulous, and their wine selections superb. Never expected this kind of food or service in Belize, much less on a small island such as Ambergris Caye. The photos I'm posting don't do the food justice, but if just one makes your mouth water, it's worth it to seek out this restaurant for lunch or dinner. We will definitely return to Ambergris because it was much better than we anticipated, and Wild Mango's will warrant at least 3 or more visits from us next time. You can wear beach attire since it's right on the beach, but resort casual is probably more appropriate to match the high quality of service & foods. Thank you, Chef Amy, for 2 memorable experiences that still make my mouth water!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Mango's also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Wild Mango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Mango's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.