We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, sand, and relaxation in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sun, sand, and relaxation in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

From the moment we arrived, the staff took careful interest in our comfort and every need. Our two bedroom/2 bath condo over looked the Gulf from every room and we enjoyed the wrap-around balcony. The rooms were spacious and fresh hibiscus on the towels were very nice. The Red Ginger restaurnat on the property is fabulous and the service superb. The staff was very knowledgeable; recommending tours, restaurants, tours and guides.
The Resort is located in the town of San Pedro which allows you to walk to many restaurants, shops and bars. The condo had a kitchen, so we were able to enjoy coffee and a light breakfast several mornings at our leisure.
The view from our condo was our favorite memory of The Phoenix Resort. Every request was answered and every expectation was exceeded. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
239
296
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We are on our last day of vacation here at The Phoenix. The hotel( really more a condo hotel) is extremely quiet,relaxing and well appointed. D4 has a wonderful balcony ocean view and very nice furnishings. The ladies in the front office are very very helpful and will help you book anything you want. The pool is very very nice. The spa treatments I did were great, too.I did a pedicure and a sugar body scrub- very very nice! The Phoenix is literally smack dab in town more or less but you cant see or hear anything from town. The town is quaint and very authentic - dont come here expecting some sort of artificial Disney World atmosphere.. this is a real town with a mix of people native to the island or Belize and transplanted residents from USA,Europe etc. There are only a few main streets.There are neat little restaurants and ice cream stores etc A golf cart is a necessity.There is no beach to speak of so dont come here if you are expecting powdery white sands that you walk into the ocean from. Right offshore it is all seagrass so you use the dock next door to swim off and to be picked up for the snorkeling,diving or fishing trips. If fishing,snorkeling or diving is what you want, while staying at a very nice place, this is the place to come. Book Oliver & Alex for snorkeling/ fishing expeditions . Also Alphonse is great for shark ray alley- he knows EVERYTHING about the sea life.All 3 of these men do a great job helping you experience what the ocean has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

This was our first trip to Belize. Had no Idea where to go or where to stay. Went to TripAdvisor and this hotel was the highest rated hotel on Ambergris Caye. Not one bad review. Usually there is someone who doesn't like something about a place, but everybody liked it.
I e-mailed the resort and got a quick reply from Stacey telling me that they could accomodate our travel time period. She set up the air transfer from Belize City International and provided detailed instructions on the complete transfer process.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Stacey and the staff. We were upgraded to a two bedroom two bath condo. Wonderful unit of about 1400 square feet with a huge patio and French doors opening on to it from each room. Full kitchen with granite counters, master bath has a whirlpool tub and separate shower. Two flat screen TVs with about 80 channels available. Great view of the sea from the unit. By the way,the resort pays for the taxi from the San Pedro Airport to the hotel and back.
The staff couldn't be more helpful. They are eager to assist you in any way they can. The resort provides you with a cell phone with $10 of time on it so you don't have to use your minutes if you want to make local calls. It came in quite handy.
Because we had not been to Ambergris Caye or Belize before, we were not sure what to expect. We knew it was a diving/snorkling hotspot. We were disappointed to find that the hotel did not have sandy beach that one could walk into the ocean. However, we soon found out that hardley any places have that. After being there for two days, we realized that one couldn't find a better place to stay. It is convienent to all of the bars and resturants and shops in San Pedro which is a real plus. Some of the other resorts are quite aways away from town and you would either stay at the resort or have to have a golf cart to get around (and except for in town, the roads aren't that good). We had a great time and would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Wow. WOW! I'll try to use words besides "wow", but seriously, The Phoenix is, well...WOW! I went the week of 16 May with my girlfriends for our annual trip to Belize. The place we usually stayed was no longer available and we had become spoilt there and The Phoenix continued that tradition. We were given something cool and tropical to drink while checking in which was such a treat and so needed.
The condo we stayed in, D-5, was on the third floor and the view was gorgeous. The condo itself is just perfect. I recommend going to the supermarket for groceries and taking advantage of the wonderful kitchen. The beds were so comfy that I had trouble getting out of them in the morning.

The pool area was so nice. What a view of the sea and the pools are clean and refreshing. The bar makes wonderful drinks and we had lunch brought to us poolside. Yum!

Red Ginger on site has great food but venture out. There are so many wonderful restaurants. Caliente, Wild Mangos, and Blue Water Grill are awesome.
Fido's food is so-so, but it is a fun place to hang out.

If you're wanting to go fishing or snorkeling, book with Uprising Tours. Eric and Clifford are two locals who are so proud of their island and the sea. They'll take very good care of you and will definately spoil you as well. They said we had a 10% chance of seeing Manatees on our snorkeling trip, and we did. They said the same about seahorses, and we were successful there as well. They know the best places to go.

Big thank yous to Mark, Efrain, Stacy and everyone at The Phoenix. Cannot wait to visit you all again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Phoenix is AMAZING! From outside, you don't realize how beautiful, new, and arichtecturally interesting it will be, but inside, it is an oasis of serernity from the rest of San Pedro. The location is ideal, walking distance from everything and the rooms are gorgeous. We had a one bedroom/one bathroom with a California King bed and Jacuzzi tub. Everything is so new and fresh. It truly blows the mind! The staff are wonderful. The food is good. The value is out of this world!! I could not think of one thing to improve upon. They even have washer/dryer and full kitchen in the units, so you could cook and stay for a long time if you so chose!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

we just returned from the phoenix and it was as nice as we heard on the reviews.my wife and i renewed our wedding vows at a private rooftop dinner ceremony.stacey and pam handled all the details and it was incredible.the spacious condo on the beach was the nicest place i saw in san pedro.the red ginger was also the nicest restuarant we ate at in san pedro and we ate at many.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Just returned from a week at The Phoenix and we are already dying to go back! Not only were we in awe of the beautiful hotel grounds, views, and suite, we were blown away at how amazing and friendly the staff were. As this was our first trip to Belize, we weren't quite sure how we wanted to spend our days. The front desk staff gave us great recommendations, booked our excursions and made all the necessary arrangements. It could not have been easier! Our suite was absolutely gorgeous. The kitchen was fully equipped and the veranda...OMG, the veranda! AMAZING!

After reading all the reviews on tripadvisor beforehand, my expectations were pretty high. I can tell you that this place exceeded my expectations by far! Can't wait to return and share this place with family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.