We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Louisville
1 review
“Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The Phoenix provides a great place to stay while on vacation. We were welcomed with drinks at check-in. We were taken to our condo by a guide that explained all the amenties the condo had. The condo was huge and provided more than enough space for my family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
221
274
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We ran around all over the island and were in or near almost all the other high end resorts. If I went back tomorrow I would stay at the Phoenix. It is close to town and shopping. Very clean, very secure. The staff is to good to be true. The beds are fabulous. I can't say enough about this place. Also if you want to fish or snorkel with a great local guide go to the Pier a Fido's and ask for Dilson. We spent 3 days with him and he is a blast. He knows the reef and waters around the island like no other.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Our family stayed at the Phoenix for 9 days in March. It was our first trip to Belize, and we're glad we choose San Pedro, and The Phoenix Resort.
The Phoenix definitely surpassed our expectations. From the time we booked our trip, to the day we left any communication with the front desk staff was great.
We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront. The unit was large, very clean, new,and well equiped. The view was amazing!
We had condidered other resorts in a similar price range, but all are a few km's away from the town of San Pedro. This would mean having to drive a golf cart anytime you want something from town.. The Phoenix is a wonderful oasis right in town. You're very close to stores and restaurants.
We travel frequently, and I'm in the travel industry. It gets harder(unfortuntately) to get a "wow" from us. This resort did just that. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spent our honeymoon here and it was fantastic! The room was top quality - brand new appliances, bed, and linens. You could cook if you wanted (we often made a light breakfast in the room) and there were laundry facilities in the room too, which was very useful.

The staff was fantastic, especially the front desk, which helped us arrange all of our excursions - snorkeling, fishing, and sightseeing at Mayan ruins. They'll charge these to your room and you can pay for it all at the end of your stay.

The location is awesome - on the north part of San Pedro town, a short walk to all the restaurants, bars, and piers. Just far enough away from the center of town too to feel relaxed and a bit isolated while sipping a beer next to the pool - perfection.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Amazing ocean views.
Gorgeous condos.
Luxurious bedrooms.
Outstanding service.

What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annabrim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Phoenix is amazing. The staff are wonderful, they take great care to plan all your adventures. The location in town is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our trip to Belize was fantastic and the Phoenix was a big part of that. When we arrived we were immediately shown up to our room and I could not believe how modern, clean, spacious, comfortable, (insert more adjectives here) that it was. I thought the pictures I saw on the web did not do justice to the rooms. The bed was inviting and soooo comfortable. The master bathroom was HUGE with complementary Aveda products. We had a great kitchen (that we barely used) with purified water on tap. The balcony was large. It is true that the wireless internet was a bit spotty in our unit but we always had decent access on the balcony and 100% connectivity in the small, business office (open 7am to 7pm). Extras included: alarm clock with iPod dock, flatscreens, DVD player, hair dryer, cell phone provided at check in.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We loved talking to the bartender by the pool everyday and the office staff on our way in and out. I would let the Phoenix organize all of your day trips, air transfers, and golf cart rentals. I did a lot of research before we left and when we got there the prices they quoted were comparable to what I had seen AND you can't pay for the convenience they offer. I never once felt they were tacking on a noticeable service charge for arranging these trips. They have personal relationships with most of the guides and they only book with people they trust - and it shows. We had a medical issue arise on the day of our much anticipated private trip to the mainland for the zoo and cavetubing and I was distraught that not only would we miss out on the trip but that we would be out all of our money. The front desk was very sympathetic and in 5 minutes everything was reorganized. We didn't lose a penny. I truly feel that booking through the hotel won't cost you any more than anywhere else and is almost like buying insurance. Renting a golf cart couldn't have been easier and was the same price as elsewhere. Air transfers were a breeze and they take care of ordering the taxi without even being asked.

I highly recommend the private mainland trip to the zoo and cavetubing (recommend water shoes, water proof camera). If you have a special interest in birding, ask for Ivar and you won't forget your day (rec: binoculars)! The snorkel trip to Hol Chan and Shark Alley was amazing and Alfonzo was insanely passionate about the reef. Tips for eating: Mangos, Caliente, Estel's (breakfast), Blue Water grill (breakfast and dinner), and Red Ginger (more upscale) are all within walking distance and are fantastic! Renting a golf cart to go to the Palapa bar is also a must do. There is a great movie store (Transylvania video) just a 100 yards from the back entrance of the Phoenix that has a great selection of very current movies.

I highly recommend the Phoenix! We definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.