We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Phoenix resort is a little oasis, right smack bang in the quaint ramshack town of San Pedro. We stayed for 8 nights with our Son and Daughter and their respective significant others in one of the 3 bedroom condo's in the resort, and I must confess to being a little concerned that we might be a little crowded. However, my concerns turned out to be totally unjustified. Each large double bedroom had a huge kingsized bed and the 2 enormous bathrooms and large living area were more than big enough. The gorgeous suite was fully kitted out with everything you could possibly need, including brand new full sized fridge feezer, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee machine etc etc, and a full in-suite laundry meant that I didn't come home to piles of dirty washing. The resort itself is small enough to be intimate and personal, yet large enough to be fully serviced. The Reg Ginger Restaurant is arguably the best on the island, but a little too pricey for a large group (who happen to all be poor students you're paying for) to eat there regularly. However, don't do what we did and leave it until near the end of your stay to sample the chocolate lava cake dessert - My husband would sell his first born for another one of those. The mutitude of staff, from front desk to the groundsmen who keep the place immaculate are genuinely friendly and happy and dealt with our very few requests within minutes of us making them.

We love the town of San Pedro, love the diving (we used Amigo's del Mar which is a 2 minute walk down the beach), love the climate, which is always warm and breezy and never oppressive and have been to the Island twice before, staying in other hotels just down the beach, but now, I would sooner not go back than stay anywhere else - I'd just feel cheated!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
222
274
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Good:
I LOVE this hotel! It is absolutely gorgeous and my stay here was my favorite thing about my trip to Belize. The pictures don't do the property justice. It definitely surpasses any of the other options on the island of San Pedro. Stacey, one of the owners, is super nice and very friendly. All of the staff that I encountered were nice and extremely helpful. The grounds are meticulously maintained every day. In comparison to the surrounding area (more in my Belize specific review), this hotel is like an oasis that you will not want to leave! I wish that the hotel could be picked up and moved to another island. Maybe Stacey will consider opening new properties in other areas.

The Bad:
The pool bar and restaurant closes early. No room service.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The Phoenix Belize is a very romantic condo resort! It is located within walking distance from the main strip of San Pedro. Our two bedrooms, sea view accommodation were exquisite and quaint. Stacey, Mark, Pam and staff treated us like family. The Red Ginger is one of the best restaurants on the island. Thanks for making our celebration memorable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This resort is first class, you will not find better in San Pedro. Try and get one of the beachfront condos with wrap-around balcony. I didn't want to leave!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Four of us stayed at the Phoenix for 7 nights in a very private and spacious two-bedroom. Everything from top to bottom was clean and spotless. The views of the ocean, sunsets & sunrises from our condo were some of the most beautiful things we've ever seen. It was a very romantic resort! The resort was located within walking distance to everything. Their restaurant, Red Ginger, is a MUST TRY. We felt like we stayed in a penthouse because not only was our accommodation immaculate, the staff members of the resort provided outstanding service. If you needed anything, one quick phone call to the front desk would send someone to your front door immediately. We highly recommend the Phoenix to our families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

To begin a big thank you to The Phoenix for a fantastic stay but also for all the help in planning our daughters wedding. Mark was ever so helpful always e-mailing in a quick and timely manner. Stacey also. Helped us plan the perfect wedding. What a gorgeous site for a wedding and we can't wait for the photo's If we needed anything the staff would jump thru hoops to get us what we needed or requested. Rooms are fantastic, CLEAN and very comfy. We had a large group and they all only had good things to say about the resort. As you can see by other reviews this resort is top of the line.It is in town which makes it even more attractive and yet you feel secluded as it is quiet and cozy with a beautiful view from all the condo's. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will return, just not soon enough. Thank you again to the friends we found in Belize you all are
UNBELIZEABLE !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I travelled to Belize the last week of January and really enjoyed our stay at the Phoenix. Having heard so much about the great water sports and people in Belize, we wanted to find a place that was close to it all instead of isolated from the local folks. We had travelled in Mexico and Jamaica earlier and felt somewhat trapped by these types of accomodations.

Several all-inclusive resorts later, we realized that being walled off in a luxurious resort isn't necessarily the most enjoyable way to immerse yourself in what this beautiful part of the earth has to offer. Don't get me wrong, the Phoenix is as nice as any Ritz or Four Seasons, but doesn't operate with the same stuffy formality that many American or European owned hotel chains do!

The location is incredible, right in the middle of San Pedro, just steps from many dive shops, restaurants, bars, and pretty much everything you'd need for your trip. The construction of the condos is quite different from anything in Ambergris...very modern and utilitarian looking. The grounds are immaculate, well manicured with interesting landscaping. There's no beach in front of the hotel, but if you're craving sand it's just a few blocks either north or south. The pools are cool but very refreshing after a long day's excursion.

The room was very nice...we were in a one bedroom in the "B" building. The "A" and "C" building seem to have a better location and view, as they are closer to the sea wall in front of the property. All the modern amenities were available and it was great to have a washer/dryer and full kitchen. As another reviewer mentioned, you probably won't have many meals in the condo, but it's nice to know you can keep snacks and drinks there and to have the occasional breakfast at home.

Service was excellent throughout the stay, from the front desk to the pool bar to the security staff. Everyone made you feel at ease and welcome in the home! The on site gym is adequately stocked with equipment, but make sure they turn the AC on...it was about 90 degrees one day until the room cooled down. Didn't get a chance to use the spa, but it looks beautiful.

Red Ginger was excellent and we at dinner once and two lunches were delivered poolside to us by the bartender! They have a great 5 course tasting menu that was great, but don't go for the wine pairings...you'd be better off picking up a wine by the glass yourself.

For those of you who dive, we HIGHLY RECOMMEND Chuck and Robbie's! It is 100 yards from the resort and doesn't look like the biggest or baddest dive operation on the island....but trust me, it's first class all the way. Robbie Gonzalez, Big Sexy, Little Sexy, and the rest of their crew are great. Robbie booked a great excursion to the mainland with Raoul "Wolf" Avila for cave-tubing and Mayan Ruins and we had a fantastic time.

Great number of quality restaurants within walking distance...we'd recommend Wild Mango's, Blue Water Grill, Caliente, and Red Ginger for dinner. For breakfast or lunch, Estel's is just past the community playground and you'll sink you toes in sand as you eat! They've got great white wine sangrias at lunchtime and Fry Jacks (think huge beignet or funnel cake with honey) for breakfast. Lilly's Treasure Chest was also great for lunch...honestly, we didn't have a bad meal on this trip and we eat out quite a bit at home in some very nice restaurants. I think I had Ceviche of some type every lunch and dinner and was in heaven. If you're a seafood lover, prepare to be blown away.

Management and service at the hotel is awesome and they'll go out of their way to make sure things are satisfactory...we had one little snafu where the private water taxi to take us to the Rojo Lounge didn't see us at the dock and left! The hotel provides you a local cell phone so they called and apologized profusely for the mix-up...they genuinely want your stay to be without a hitch and were willing to hire a water taxi for us to make up for the error. We politely declined and ended up having a great final night out locally with the Chuck and Robbie folks! Some things, as they say, happen for a reason :)

Overall, you can't go wrong staying at this resort. Great staff, great location, it's pretty apparent that the US economy has devastated tourism in the area, so there weren't a lot of people at the resort (maybe 30% to 40% occupancy?) and therefore the deals they were advertising recently for a January stay for more than 1/2 off are very enticing. We'll be coming back to Ambergris Caye and staying at the Phoenix again for sure...do yourself a favor and check for airfare and hotel specials to this resort. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.