We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, staff, and accomodations...you won't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, staff, and accomodations...you won't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I travelled to Belize the last week of January and really enjoyed our stay at the Phoenix. Having heard so much about the great water sports and people in Belize, we wanted to find a place that was close to it all instead of isolated from the local folks. We had travelled in Mexico and Jamaica earlier and felt somewhat trapped by these types of accomodations.

Several all-inclusive resorts later, we realized that being walled off in a luxurious resort isn't necessarily the most enjoyable way to immerse yourself in what this beautiful part of the earth has to offer. Don't get me wrong, the Phoenix is as nice as any Ritz or Four Seasons, but doesn't operate with the same stuffy formality that many American or European owned hotel chains do!

The location is incredible, right in the middle of San Pedro, just steps from many dive shops, restaurants, bars, and pretty much everything you'd need for your trip. The construction of the condos is quite different from anything in Ambergris...very modern and utilitarian looking. The grounds are immaculate, well manicured with interesting landscaping. There's no beach in front of the hotel, but if you're craving sand it's just a few blocks either north or south. The pools are cool but very refreshing after a long day's excursion.

The room was very nice...we were in a one bedroom in the "B" building. The "A" and "C" building seem to have a better location and view, as they are closer to the sea wall in front of the property. All the modern amenities were available and it was great to have a washer/dryer and full kitchen. As another reviewer mentioned, you probably won't have many meals in the condo, but it's nice to know you can keep snacks and drinks there and to have the occasional breakfast at home.

Service was excellent throughout the stay, from the front desk to the pool bar to the security staff. Everyone made you feel at ease and welcome in the home! The on site gym is adequately stocked with equipment, but make sure they turn the AC on...it was about 90 degrees one day until the room cooled down. Didn't get a chance to use the spa, but it looks beautiful.

Red Ginger was excellent and we at dinner once and two lunches were delivered poolside to us by the bartender! They have a great 5 course tasting menu that was great, but don't go for the wine pairings...you'd be better off picking up a wine by the glass yourself.

For those of you who dive, we HIGHLY RECOMMEND Chuck and Robbie's! It is 100 yards from the resort and doesn't look like the biggest or baddest dive operation on the island....but trust me, it's first class all the way. Robbie Gonzalez, Big Sexy, Little Sexy, and the rest of their crew are great. Robbie booked a great excursion to the mainland with Raoul "Wolf" Avila for cave-tubing and Mayan Ruins and we had a fantastic time.

Great number of quality restaurants within walking distance...we'd recommend Wild Mango's, Blue Water Grill, Caliente, and Red Ginger for dinner. For breakfast or lunch, Estel's is just past the community playground and you'll sink you toes in sand as you eat! They've got great white wine sangrias at lunchtime and Fry Jacks (think huge beignet or funnel cake with honey) for breakfast. Lilly's Treasure Chest was also great for lunch...honestly, we didn't have a bad meal on this trip and we eat out quite a bit at home in some very nice restaurants. I think I had Ceviche of some type every lunch and dinner and was in heaven. If you're a seafood lover, prepare to be blown away.

Management and service at the hotel is awesome and they'll go out of their way to make sure things are satisfactory...we had one little snafu where the private water taxi to take us to the Rojo Lounge didn't see us at the dock and left! The hotel provides you a local cell phone so they called and apologized profusely for the mix-up...they genuinely want your stay to be without a hitch and were willing to hire a water taxi for us to make up for the error. We politely declined and ended up having a great final night out locally with the Chuck and Robbie folks! Some things, as they say, happen for a reason :)

Overall, you can't go wrong staying at this resort. Great staff, great location, it's pretty apparent that the US economy has devastated tourism in the area, so there weren't a lot of people at the resort (maybe 30% to 40% occupancy?) and therefore the deals they were advertising recently for a January stay for more than 1/2 off are very enticing. We'll be coming back to Ambergris Caye and staying at the Phoenix again for sure...do yourself a favor and check for airfare and hotel specials to this resort. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
239
296
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This place was great start to finish. They were wonderful on the reservation end and when our departure flight cancelled they helped us rebook and were generous about letting us stay as late as we needed. The condo was fantastic - two bedrooms, sea view. The place was lovely to look at, fully furnished and stocked with everything you needed to cook (though the food in Belize is too good to eat in!). Loved the wrap around balcony and the jacuzzi in bathroom. Hotel restaurant was probably the 2nd best on island...and we tried all of the top recommendations. And above all, everyone who worked at the Phoenix was totally accomodating and friendly. I would go back in a nanosecond.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We recently had stayed at the Phoenix and had our wedding there! It was an absolutely amazing venue for our wedding, and we just keep saying that there is not a single thing that we would have changed. Mark and Stacey helped organize our stay, booked rooms for all of our guests (about 24 people), booked multiple activities for our entire group, and were more than happy to accommodate any requests we had! They also helped me put together everything for our wedding ceremony, dinner, and reception, and they referred me to a fantastic wedding planner who gave us a beautiful ceremony complete with all of the flowers and details that I had requested! The lawn at the Phoenix was perfect for a wedding ceremony, and the weather could not have been better. We had our dinner and reception at Red Ginger, and the food was phenomenal. Also, the staff at Red Ginger was great, and we had a lot of fun with them hosting our dinner and reception! The Phoenix was definitely one of the nicest resorts I have ever stayed at, and the service you get is truly the best service I have ever had. I would recommend this not only for a vacation, but also for the wedding of a lifetime!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Not sure I can add much to the other stellar reviews, but want to make sure we're counted among the Phoenix fans. We were with our two-year old and even though it rained more than it was sunny, we had a great time! Being in town meant we could get out and about in between the showers, and the condo was so comfortable and spacious that we never ever felt trapped inside (and did not turn the TVs on once the whole trip, even with all the rain). And even though we were right in town (our condo was directly across the street from the fire station in fact), we never even heard street noise. Not once -- OK, once, when the whole entire elementary school had a xmas parade complete with honking cars and exuberant drummers!

The staff was so lovely-- the front desk folks and the managers, the waiters at Red Ginger, the housekeepers, and especially the security guards, who were constantly going above and beyond (getting pool toys for the kids, cutting coconuts open for my husband and me one night when we came home from dinner).

And the food at Red Ginger really was the best we had. Not cheap, for sure, but unlike a lot of the other restaurants in town, where I felt that the price was not justified by the quality of the food, the food at Red Ginger was really delicious. I would have loved for it to be on the beach instead of at the front of the hotel, but you can't have everything!

My 4 stars for location are just because we had to hunt around a bit to find beach spots where we could really relax and let our son play. At a couple of spots near the hotel, the beach just wasn't super-conducive for that. The last day, we went down to Ramon's where they have a big beach area and spent several hours (couldn't use the chairs but that was no problem). We'd have probably spent more time at the pool if the weather had been nicer (2 great shallow areas for kids to play) but b/c of all the rain, the ocean was actually much warmer than the pool. On the other hand, we loved being in town, and being able to take walking outings several times a day!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Just returned from a week's stay at the Phoenix and couldn't be more pleased. The facilities -- which we knew would be great -- exceeded our expectations for beauty, quality, and added amenities; the staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming; and the Red Ginger restaurant and food service were top-notch. Loved the beachfront location on the north end of downtown San Pedro and the on-site spa. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We lucked into finding the Phoenix after our arrival in San Pedro. We weren't quite happy with the place we orginally booked and, by all of the good karma in the world, we found this place two properties from where we, unhappily, were staying. Due to a late cancellation we got a two bedroom, oceanfront condo. We were centrally located (some of the nicer places are too remote so you would be stuck on their property only) so walking to restaurants was convenient but if we wanted room service from the onsite restaurant we could have it. The food is delicious.

Everything you read in all of the reviews is correct so I won't repeat how wonderful it is. Trust me. You want to stay here is you can afford it.--they know how to make your holiday a great one!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Were do I start -The Phoenix is amazing as you can see by all of the great reviews but I would like to tell about our experience. From the time you enter the front door you know it is going to great! The welcome you get from the staff is warm and personal. Pamela, and Stacy were the ones to greet us upon arrival that night, they made us feel like we had known them forever. We were served a drink while filling out paper work and our luggage was taken to our room. We were given a great suprise when Stacy( Who is a wealth of information) took us to our room- we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom beach front at no extra cost! The rooms are very large and spotless. The cleaning ladies came everyday and did an awesome job. They have very comfortable beds, large tub and shower, double vanity in the master, flat screen tv's in the Master and in the living Room. The kitchen was very nice,everything you would need to prepare a meal and had filtered water on the sink and fridge. They have wireless internet which was great. The view from our room was absolutely breath taking. They have very nice comfortable furniture on the decks of each room and around the pool. The pools-two of them, one lap pool one regular are very well maintained as well as the ground around the hotel. Someone is always cleaning. The pool bar was great to have. The bartender ( sorry can't remember his name) was so friendly and made sure you were taken care of. I liked that he was very personable like the rest of the staff. They have a really nice restrauant on site( The Red Ginger) which makes it nice if you do not want to go out. The food at the Red Ginger was really good. If you go you have to try the macroni and cheese strip steak dinner. Fabulous! Aaron was our waiter everytime we went and he was great! Mark ( the manager) got the job done-and was always available for questions- one night we ask for an ironing board and iron we did not know that several people in the hotel had ask for one to so they were out. Mark sent someone to BUY one and had him take it to us!!! Thanks Mark! Pamela was so helpful with all our needs and recommended an awesome snorkeling trip through alfonzo's that we will never forget! She also came to our room the night before we were leaving to make sure all our flight arrangments were right. I can't say enough about Pamela! Everyone there goes over and beyond. The owners of the hotel are very fortunate to have people like this working for them I hope they realize it. The location on the hotel is perfect- close to everything - the only reason to get a golf cart is to go to Palapa Bar and Grill- and have the slow cooked pulled pork sandwich with baked beans- we went there twice- it is worth the trip. You can also take a water taxi. There is full time security on the grounds-even though we did not feel the need for it . The room did not have a safe, but we left money out for the cleaning ladies and came back each day and it was still there- so we finally went to the office to tell them to take it. We never worried about leaving any valuables out- felt very safe. I did a lot of research before deciding on this hotel and at the time there were not a lot of reviews. We travel a lot and have stayed in some not so nice places and some really nice places and the phoenix will now be in the some really nice places column.As you can guess we already have another trip booked in March and can't wait! You are not going to get any better treatment than what you get at the phoenix- I like to describe it as "Off The Chart"

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.