We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Frisco, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Phoenix is a wonderful place to stay in San Pedro. We considered several other resorts that are on the north end of the island. We chose The Phoenix because of its location in San Pedro. It is perfect for those who like to experience the culture, food, and atmosphere of their destination. We rented a golf cart and drove to the north end of the island to check out the other highly rated resorts and found them to be very isolated from San Pedro thus confirming our decision.

The staff and service at The Phoenix are top tier. Prior to our arrival they helped to arrange our snorkeling trip and a Mayan tour both of which were awesome. They gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. Our two bedroom condo was immaculate and exceeded our expectations. The grounds and pool are well kept as well. We will definitely be staying at The Phoenix on our next visit to Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
178
245
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The best hotel in town, modern, nice and great service, much better then anything else we have seen in our stay...The food at the small restaurant is great and service is excellent. the beach like most of the Island is so, so but this is Ambergris Caye, not Cancun 9How did this Island finished firt in 2013 in Tripadvisor? only god knows)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed recently at the Phoenix in an oceanfront suite for a week. Our first time to the island and the hotel, and we fell in love with it all. From the warm welcomes very day (Rose, Gabriela, Rolando, and Gini, among others) to the fantastic food, incredibly large, clean, well laid out condo suite and wonderful suggestions as to what to do and where to go, we felt right at home from the first moment. We highly recommend this ogle especially to couples who want to be within walking distance of fantastic restaurants and cute shops, but in a luxury setting. We can't wait to return! Thanks to everyone at the Phoenix for making our stay so incredible.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront suite and it was large, well stocked and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arrival at San Pedro's tiny airport, grab a taxi which The Phoenix will pay for upon arrival to the hotel. Note that this is NOT a resort, but more of a hotel of condos. The Phoenix can also book and handle your domestic flight needs and add it to your bill.

Grounds: For San Pedro, the grounds are top notch, but don't compare to some of the resorts I've visited around the world. I think they tend to be somewhat eco friendly here so there's no wasted water or chemicals to keep non-native plants alive. The grounds are clean and surrounded by local fauna. There are people always keeping it tidy throughout the day and you feel very secure (also located across the street from the police and fire station). Located in the heart of downtown (if you call that), everything is easily accessible by foot.

Room(s): Stayed in a B unit, 3rd floor 3BR (we had friends in A12, too). This was the central view of the resort with the balcony facing the pool and ocean directly head on. Spacious, modern, clean, and unique. While the furniture and tiles seem to be similar in other rooms, the artwork, paint scheme, and actual room layouts differed. Bathrooms were very nice, clean, and large plus stocked with Aveda goodies. If there was something you needed that wasn't in the bathroom, ask the front desk and they'll probably have it (aloe, shaving kit, qtips...etc). Kitchen was well equipped and was an open space with the LR. The 5gal of spring water and welcome drink(s)/bottles were a nice touch. The balcony was large and could accomodate plenty of people. It had a teak table w/6 chairs, and 4 chaises.

BR(s): Master was beautiful, well lit, and shared the balcony. Comfy bed and soft linens. Plenty of storage and beautiful teak closets. Ipod dock in each room was also a nice touch. Other rooms were also a good size, and were like full-size apartment bedrooms.

Service: Impeccable service was expected based on previous reviews and my expectations were pretty much met. While I must say, the service was not as opulent as my two stays at "Four Seasons" resorts, it was better than any other place I've stayed at. The workers are friendly, helpful, and will do anything they can to make your stay worthwhile. For example, I lost my wedding ring in the pool on the 1st day and had no idea I even lost it. Lo and behold, the next morning, a pool/groundskeeper found it and somehow knew it was mine. While tipping is not expected at the resort, a little tip here and there can always get you even better service. Rolando at the pool bar was great. The ladies at the front desk were also extremely accommodating.

Activities: The activities list at the front desk is top notch. They use the best operators on the island and have good prices. While you may find cheaper excursions, they will not be of the same quality. We did the private fishing/bbq/snorkeling speedboat (5*), Hol Chan/Shark alley tour (4.5* due to crowds), and played a round of golf at Caye Chapel (5*). The gym was adequate for basic workouts and the free tue/thurs yoga was worthwhile. The free drinks on Fri for happy hour was also nice.

Food: We never ordered room service since there are so many good restaurants in the area just a few steps away from the hotel where they don't charge resort prices. The pool food was above average, and the dinner at Red Ginger I'd give 3.5*. Blue Water Grille, which is at the other side of the town (10min walk) was much better, but also much more crowded (4.5*). I will provide separate reviews of the various places we dined at outside of the resort if you're interested.

Overall, this was one of the best places I've had the pleasure of staying at in my vast travel portfolio. Our 8 day vacation was amazing thanks to the wonderful service, beautiful accommodations, and lovely/friendly people.

Room Tip: 3rd floor B unit has a great view of both the street and the ocean/pool. Be forewarned that there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Phoenix is absolutely the best place to stay in Belize! The apartments are enormous, beautifully decorated and have a stunning view! And for all of this, the price was very reasonable. The staff is all top notch and very willing to help in any way they can. Belize is different from other island vacations we have been on, in that there are no sandy beaches, but the pool area at the Phoenix is more than adequate. The diving and snorkeling more than make up for the lack of beach, too. We would love to go back to Belize, and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms have a lovely view - as good or better than the ocean front rooms because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix for our honeymoon in September of 2012 and can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful resort! When we arrived we were exhausted from our trip and were greeted with ice cold minty cooling towels and a ginger rum punch...what a way to start our vacation! From that moment on we had an incredible experience! The food was fantastic (you MUST try the black bean soup from Red Ginger!) and the service was impeccable. Our room was very large and kept very clean by the staff. We really could not have had a better honeymoon...we plan to return for our 5th anniversary!

We highly recommend Geo's next to the hotel for breakfast and coffee...the people in there are so fun and the food was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night May 26th. We were greeted with punch, a shot of rum, and a wet towel. The room was beautiful and spacious. The welcome and room amenities were outstanding. The location although great for experiencing the town was wonderful, it could get loud as it was near a very public street.

Yes, there is no beach, but a nice pool with some bar service. Not too impressed with Red Ginger's tapas, but service was great.

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize. The Phoenix features 25 beautifully-finished and spacious suites, gourmet food served on-site at Red Ginger, the services of Sol Spa, San Pedro’s most popular day spa, a beautiful main pool & separate lap pool, a pool bar, on-site fitness center, & the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list