We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix for our honeymoon in September of 2012 and can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful resort! When we arrived we were exhausted from our trip and were greeted with ice cold minty cooling towels and a ginger rum punch...what a way to start our vacation! From that moment on we had an incredible experience! The food was fantastic (you MUST try the black bean soup from Red Ginger!) and the service was impeccable. Our room was very large and kept very clean by the staff. We really could not have had a better honeymoon...we plan to return for our 5th anniversary!

We highly recommend Geo's next to the hotel for breakfast and coffee...the people in there are so fun and the food was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
242
299
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night May 26th. We were greeted with punch, a shot of rum, and a wet towel. The room was beautiful and spacious. The welcome and room amenities were outstanding. The location although great for experiencing the town was wonderful, it could get loud as it was near a very public street.

Yes, there is no beach, but a nice pool with some bar service. Not too impressed with Red Ginger's tapas, but service was great.

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel looks modest as you arrive, and you might wonder why everyone raves about it... Essentially, it's modern for San Pedro without looking ritzy. Upon entering, you are greeted by fantastic, friendly staff.. they are all too willing to help; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully appointed and BIG, very spacious. They are the size of large one bedroom apartments. Ahava bathroom products. Fully equipped kitchen. Rum and coke waiting in the room upon arrival (perhaps because it was our honeymoon, I'm unsure?)
The pool is very relaxing. A perfect place to read a book, particularly because the beach is pretty much non existent in San Pedro.
The Phoenix's location is brilliant. Close to everything. If not, you're after something afar, hire a golf cart and explore. Lots of fun.
All recommendations such as scuba, restaurants whether lunch or dinner were spot on. We would 100% stay at the Phoenix again should we visit San Pedro. Thanks for a perfect 5 nights.

Room Tip: I had two rooms. B1 was a beautiful one bedroom suite. Then we moved to A2 due to hotel vacancy, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix resort from may21-28 and it was great. we got married last year in San Pedro and wanted to come back. I am Belizean now loving in the States, but I try to visit home as often as possible. The Phoenix is very beautiful, we have been at many hotels here in the states and in Belize, but the Phoenix is everything you read about in tripAdvisor and much more. The rooms were big and beautiful and fully furnished with everything including a washer and dryer, which was as you can imagine, very helpful. The staff was very helpful with everything, especially housekeeping, they came twice per day to see if you needed anything. we will be staying at the Phoenix on our next trip to Belize..

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but I think rooms on the third floor has a little better view. one thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Phoenix is one of the best resorts we have experienced! The service was the best, super organized! We never had to wait for transportation to and from the airport or for our Lamanai Jungle River tour. We were very appreciative of NOT having to wait for hours unnecessarily at the airport. Location was perfect for walking to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the staff and food at all three restaurants in the Phoenix 'family', especiallly the Red Ginger which is on site. We were pleasantly surprised how peaceful and quiet the entire resort was, especially since it is downtown. Beautiful resort inside and out!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Returned last weekend from a week of perfection. Doing your research here does pay off. I'm self employed so my rare vacation getaways really need to count and The Phoenix delivered - thank-you. We toured sown south on the golf-cart and while we could not go north with the current bridge works we did get up there by water taxi - so I can say The Phoenix is ideally situated. To the north of the more touristy strip you feel you have some privacy while at the same time the town is conveniently close.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Oceanfront with friends. The condo units are modern and have everything you need. The deck was amazing. Nice bathrooms and great bed - makes for a great stay,

Front desk staff arrange anything you need - big asset to this property.

Red Ginger restaurant is very good - they did a superb meal for our wedding anniversary, perhaps topped only by the day we went fishing and came back with a bunch of Barracuda which they cooked up for us that evening - feasting on fish you caught that day was amazing.

I totally recommend The Phoenix - thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Go for the sea-front rooms - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The service and quality of the Phoenix is impeccable! The staff goes out of their way to make sure your every need is met. Also, the entire resort is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious with amazing views. The pool is like a little slice of paradise and the pool bar is the icing on the cake. Another great quality of the Phoenix is how close you are to everything. You can walk to all restaurants, dive shops and shops, but if you want to rent a bike or golf cart, you can easily head up the island. You will not be disappointed if you choose the Phoenix as your destination!!

Room Tip: I recommend the room facing the ocean... huge balconies and unbelievable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
7.0 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.