We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spa was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We didn't stay at this resort, but heard the spa was the best on the island. We had massages here, and loved them. Vey clean, and updated atmosphere, staff was super friendly. Looking for a relaxing spa day, this place offers it all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
222
274
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kc
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Phoenix is one of the most well run, well maintained, comfortable and relaxing resorts I have frequented in the Caribbean. The booking process was easy and the property was exactly as it was represented on website photos. For example, the beachfront description described the seawall and emphasized that the property does not have beach exactly in front of the hotel. This was no problem as the pool area was so perfect, including pool bartender Rolando (happy hour starts at 4 and included some yummy mojitos and watermelon martinis). If you are in Belize to dive, the Ecologic divers dive shop and dock is about 1 minute walk away-so convenient! The condominiums were well appointed for cooking, laundry and lounging with tons of room for our family of 4. Maid service was provided daily, even for helping with kitchen clean up. The washer/dryer (soap provided) were also a plus. The location is in the heart of a relatively poor but safe town with plenty of restaurants with in walking distance. We even took in the Sunday afternoon BBQ chicken which is from a street vender right across from the Phoenix- a half chicken with beans and tortillas for $4.50. The staff were also great which is a reflection on the family that owns the resort. They work hard to make sure their guests are being well taken care of and satisfied. The Phoenix is definitely the place to stay in Belize. Other advice: rent a golf cart for a few hours to explore the island, bring some groceries from the US if you have kids, eat at Caliente on Friday night, skip Bluewater Grill, don't miss Wild Mangos, and write to the minister of tourism to get some better beer in Belize! All in all, a great trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit a-3 which was a bit close to the reception are. We loved our ground floor (A) uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at The Phoenix in late March 2013. Overall, we had a great time and would highly recommend The Phoenix and Ambergris Caye in general.

The staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was taken care of. We didn't go through the hotel for any of our excursions (snorkeling, Mayan ruins, etc) as we wanted to go with different tour companies than what they offered, but they made the options very easy. They were very helpful in getting restaurant reservations. The resort provided a local cell phone with a small amount of prepaid credit loaded - which was super helpful and made meeting up with some friends we made on the island much easier.

The condo's are extremely nice. The 1-bedroom suite we had was quite large, had two large flat screen TVs with US cable channels, washer/dryer, and a full kitchen. We went to the market down the street and picked up some breakfast and snack food so that we wouldn't have to eat out for every meal (and a case of beer for drinking out by the pool). The king sized bed was a quality mattress, but too firm for my taste. Overall, the quality of the condo was probably the best part of the phoenix.

The location in town is great. It's a short walk to most of the island's major restaurants. We rented a golf cart one day to go up to the Palapa Bar (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED), but we would have been better off getting bikes. We walked everywhere else.

The pools were very nice, although a little on the cold side (we also has some cooler weather, so your mileage may very). The pool bar was excellent and their drinks and food were very affordable by standard US hotel prices (Mojito - $6 USD, Spicy Fish Wrap - $12 USD). There were generally chairs available by the pool and never had to wait long for drinks (although food sometimes took longer than our hungry stomachs would have liked).

We didn't use the Spa's services, but my wife did work out in the gym. The gym was good sized and had a few machines and free weights. The Yoga classes were fantastic.

One major annoyance for my wife and I were the other guest's smoking habits. The Phoenix permits smoking in outdoor public areas so be aware you will likely get assaulted with second hand smoke when you're sitting on your patio or by the pool. This is really unfortunate considering how great the property is otherwise.

Overall, this was a fantastic place to stay and I'd recommended it. I can't, however, give it 5-stars. Perhaps my expectations were too high based off of the reviews and Trip Adviser rankings, but I was not WOW-d by The Phoenix the way I wanted to be.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view of the pool/ocean and better privacy, but the ground floor has much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am just echoing what others have said but we had a wonderful time and would back in a heartbeat. Our unit was beautiful, well maintained and cleaned every day. Used the washer and dryer to keep our ocean/tour clothes clean and loved that. Service is what pushes it over the top - the front desk staff cheerfully takes care of everything. We travel a lot and I would put this as a four+ star hotel in Europe or the US - you are in a condo complex which is not comparable to a hotel tower for all the best reasons. Pool was lovely. Frozen mojito even lovelier. Need to win lotto so we can buy a unit there!

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor. Bigger covered patio and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great weeks stay! The resort complex is very well maintained and well laid out. Our room was C1 which was ground floor overlooking the pool and ocean. The room was nicely furnished and had modern appliances. Our room was quiet, pristine and we had enjoyed it.
The location was excellent as we were on a common beach, in the town of San Pedro and surrounded by many eating places and grocery stores.
The staff is what makes the resort shine. From check-in to check-out we were very well taking care of. They were glad to help us make our trip the best it could be. A special touch was when they got my daughter a birthday cake and all signed a card.
If we come back to Belize the Phoenix is top of the list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Phoenix Resort! Not that I am surprised. From the unparalleled assistance that I received from Stacey, Mark, Pam, and the rest of the front desk team prior to the trip, I knew we would be well taken care of. We do a lot of travelling, and I have never, ever had this level of service! Some of the arrangements that were made for our trip were really beyond what I would consider to be reasonable requests, but at Pam’s suggestion, and with her able organizational skills and knowledge, the Phoenix team organized an incredible vacation for us! Honestly, they arranged parts of our holiday before we even got to San Pedro!
We arrived at the Phoenix on the busiest day of the year…the resort was completely booked…yet “all hands were on deck”, and our greeting and orientation was quick, efficient and thorough. The facility truly is lovely…beyond what I expected. We loved that it was close to town, and easy walking distance to a myriad of stores, restaurants, etc. (although the food at the Phoenix is excellent!) We rented a golf cart on our one cloudy day and toured the island. When I saw how far away the other resorts I had been researching were, I was very glad we chose the Phoenix. We actually went into one of the more exclusive resorts that supposedly had a “beach” out front…let’s just say it wasn’t worth booking for!
Having a full kitchen was very handy for grabbing a quick breakfast before heading out on an early morning tour. There are several fruit stands and grocery stores a block or two away (and they sell very tiny bottles of jam, ketchup, etc. so we didn’t end up wasting anything).
I was delighted to find the washer and dryer, since we had a suitcase full of dirty (and I mean dirty!) clothes from our earlier adventures in the rainforests, caves, and rivers. There was even a drying rack for bathing suits and more “delicate” items…don’t bother trying to dry things outside…even the steady breeze is no match for the humidity in Belize!
With a full resort, I was somewhat concerned that there wouldn’t be enough lounge chairs by the pool for everyone, but it didn’t seem to be a problem. I guess many people were touring during the day, like we often were. I do get irritated at people who drop pool towels and a book down to reserve a chair, and then walk away for a couple of hours. I am certain that the pool staff would assist however, if those seats were needed. The nice thing is that every room has lounge chairs on the verandah (they all overlook the sea and the pool), and sometimes they provided the shady spot we were looking for if there were no umbrellas available.
I would highly encourage you to book your tours with the front desk. The ones they offer have been thoroughly researched, and I can assure you that the guides they recommend are top notch! We had several unforgettable days spent with capable, knowledgeable people, who went above and beyond to make sure our experience was exactly what we were hoping for. If you get the chance…book Oliver for a day on his motorboat. He is a skilled boatman, fisherman, cook, and all around great guy!
Hopefully we will be able to return to Belize in the near future, and if we do, we will most certainly stay at the Phoenix!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the resort face the sea and the pool so you really can't go wrong with location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is the best looking and most modern for Belizian standards. If you are looking for a hotel that is 4-5 stars by American standards, you will be disappointed. The rooms are clean and well serviced. The front desk is welcoming and polite. Amongst the hustle and bustle of city life, and other really old hotels, this is truly an oasis.

Bring your ear plugs everyone, because this hotel is very noisy. Our room is facing the city street and the restaurant. People frequently are sitting outside eating dinner with loud music in the back ground causing people to talk louder over the music. We spoke with Mark, one of the managers to please move us to another room. Even though he was very nice, the hotel was fully booked and we are stuck in this room. It is 10:50pm and the music is still playing at the restaurant. Most people that come here are tired and need a good night. We need a vacation after this vacation.

My advise would be to ask for a room off the street and far from the restaurant if you are looking for a restful vacation.

If you are looking for a beach, this hotel is also not for you. No beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.