We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place is FIRST CLASS!! The great staff will take care of everything including your excursions. Very friendly staff and a great location in town, but feels like your on a secluded island. #1 for a reason...well deserved.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
239
296
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
In sunny Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix in October for our honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time! We chose the resort based on the reviews, knowing we wanted to dive and stay on Amergris Caye. We did early research on trips, but due to wedding planning, work, and other obligations, never booked any trips before our arrival. Stacy did e-mail us lots of helpful information to help us decide what we wanted to do prior to our trip. Our suite was, as they say, "unbelizable!" From our arrival in Belize City with the pre-arranged flight to Ambergris Caye to every activity we wanted to do, the Phoenix staff was amazing! We would stop at the desk, tell them what we wanted to do, and our meal, activity or day would be arranged. The service was wonderful. We said to ourselves, "We don't have to think, just be where the front desk tells us to be when they tell us to be there." Upon our arrival, there were flowers on the bed with a heart and our initials for our honeymoon, During the stay, it was my husband's birthday and when we returned from our fun day, there were flowers on the bed wishing him a happy birthday. I don't even remember mentioning that it was his birthday! The hotel and grounds were immaculate and every staff member was so nice. The restaurant at the hotel was very nice and had good breakfast, dinner, and evening entertainment. We stopped at other hotels on the beach for a drink and there were always people trying to sell their wares or have you book trips with them, etc., but at the Phoenix, only guests were allowed in. The premises are gated and security is there monitoring the area 24/7. The location can't be beat, it's close to everything. I really could go on and on, but...
As for adventures, wow! We packed a whole lot of fun into a few days. Our flight to Belize was delayed a day due to weather - big bummer - so we had to try to do as many things as we wanted, plus some relaxing. We went diving at the Blue Hole - AWESOME! Even though the water was a little rough, the trip with Amigos del Mar, was so great! The boat was large enough to make it not so bad in the rough water. We saw sharks, eagle rays, a sea turtle, Goliath grouper, and beautiful coral and fish. The staff was there to make sure we were safe and had the best experience possible. We also enjoyed the rum and pineapple drinks on the return ride.
We went to the mainland to go zip lining and cave tubing. What a blast! We had the most amazing tour guide - arranged through the Phoenix, of course - Ed Allen, from Eco Tours. The other people on our flight to Belize City got on a bus and had a group tour, not us! Ed picked us up and drove just the 2 of us to the zip lining and cave tubing area. Along the way, he stopped and showed us birds, animals and plants that we definitely would not have spotted on our own. He is an ornithologist, horticoligist, and according to the other guides we met at the site, King Edward! We had a spectacular time zipping through the forest and floating through the caves with Ed's knowledgable stories.
We also went fishing, snorkeling and boating - fun. We rented bikes and rode them around the island. It's nice that you can ride all over on the beach.
And oh, on every trip we went, our fantastic Phoenix family called the tour operator to check on us and makje sure we were enjoynig ourselves. UNBELIZEABLE!
The restaurants were very good too. Wild Mango's was recommended by the Phoenix staff and was fantastic! The Blue Water Grill was very delicious! We watched the "Chicken Drop" - you have to experience that! We called the Portofino and took a boat to their restaurant. It was a very nice starlit boat ride for free to their restaurant on the north end of the island.
Overall, what a great time! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at the Phoenix. With all of the great reviews it was hard to meet expectations let alone exceed them but this place did. Stacey and Mark and the whole staff were awesome. All of their recommendations were spot on. Our one bedroom condo was huge with a wraparound balcony and a fantastic view. The unit had cable tv and free wifi. It was is a very short walk to lots of great restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Hurricane Bar for great ceviche.

Snorkeling (or diving) is obviously a must. We rented bikes one day from Joe's (golf carts aren't necessary) and road on the beach from pretty much one end of the island to the other, One day we walked up to the Palapas Bar and took a water taxi back (which cost $10 US for the 2 of us one way and are very unreliable) which gives you an idea of what it costs when you are at one of the resorts away from the town. We did one mainland excursion in which we went ziplining, cabe tubing and visited the zoo. The zoo was particularly cool with mostly (if not all) rescue animals in their own habitat. People that went to the Mayan ruins said that was great as well.

All in all we had no complaints and have already made our reservations for next year. We are already looking forward to it. The only other thing I would add in general is that you must be patient because everything is done on "Belizean time".

Room Tip: It is a good idea to buy duty free in Belize upon arrival. Liquor and wine prices a great. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family and I just spent Thanksgiving at the Phoenix Hotel in the heart of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye. The hotel is two years old and the property and accommodations are attractive and immaculate. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, from booking diving, a golf cart, travel transfers, fishing, and dinner reservations. Beautiful view from the property. Only negative is that the hotel doesn't have a beach but a beautiful pool with great views. The hotel is in San Pedro, which is fun to access for restaurants and shops. When inside the hotel it is quiet and private from the outside action of the town.

Room Tip: Hotel will reimburse you for your taxi from the San Pedro airport to the hotel. Make sure to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We loved everything about this hotel. The suites were awesome -- the were fitted with every amenity, everything was new and nice, the beds were huge, the size was enormous, and the wraparound deck was a big plus. Everyone at the resort went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant -- both when we were at the hotel and in town. Their recommendations for activities were spot on. We rarely travel to the same place twice, but I would really consider it with the Phoenix. We can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix for the second part of our honeymoon and it was amazing. The location is perfect, you can walk to restaurants, bars, etc. Rooms are beautiful, and the staff is outstanding. They even upgraded us to a 2 bedroom condo. They take care of everything for you. Just tell the front desk what you want to do and they'll arrange all of your tours and excursions. We especially loved snorkeling with Alfonse and the BBQ/fishing/snorkeling trip with Oliver. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect! It did rain the first day we got their, so we headed to the spa at the phoenix for massages, and they were incredible - great way to relax.I would stay at the phoenix again without hesitation - amazing resort!

Room Tip: ask for a beachfront or pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel was amazing, great staff, food, location. The room was also amazing, we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. In my opinion the best room on the resort. Anything you want to do the staff is ready to help, book, advise, and make reservations for you. The pool was private and relaxing, definitely get the drink Dirty Banana I had at least one every morning after breakfast, they were delicious! The spa is clean and friendly and normally priced. My husband and I got massages, while we got a couples massage we were both in different rooms which I thought was strange but it was fine. Yoga was very nice and refreshing. We went snorkeling, swam with sharks, went to the Mayan ruins and relaxed. It was a great balance. We booked this hotel and trip based off of other TA reviews and they all were spot on!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good there, however I would request a room in a upper floor overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#5 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.