We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the right choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Save
You added The Phoenix Resort to your Saves list
Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Definitely the right choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We waffled when booking our trip to Ambergis Caye between The Phoenix, Las Terazzas, and Victoria House. Boy, are we glad we chose The Phoenix! We were concerned about being "in town" but it was such a blessing. The town is really quaint and adorable and it's great to be steps away from all the dining and shopping. Las Terazzas and Victoria House are considerably far from town and would require a boat/golf cart to get there.

As others have said, once you're inside the resort you don't even realize that you're anywhere near town. It's quiet, clean, and well-landscaped. The outside is beautiful and everyone we ran into said "Oh! You're at the resort with the gorgeous pool!" Yep, that's right. The pool is lovely, the pool bar is convenient (have Ricardo make you a dirty banana, he makes them best), and there are plenty of lounge areas.

The condo itself was clean and very spacious. They tv's worked well, the bathroom had lots of space for me to store our scuba gear when we were cleaning it, and the views....oh the views....the best I've ever had. The pictures on their website are spot on. Everything looked just as it did in the pictures.

The staff here is super friendly, always trying to go out of their way to help you. I was impressed when they set us up on a private tour on the mainland and called our guide twice during the day to make sure we were having a good time. That right there is great customer service. They also had a cab waiting for us at the small airport after our tour, even though we arrived back an hour early. How did they know? I have no idea but it's the little things like that that really made our stay special.

The only warning I have for you is that if you stay in a 3rd floor condo like we did....there is quite a wall of stairs in your future. (See my picture) You get used to it quickly but if you're not a fan of stairs you might want a ground floor condo. There are no elevators.

I can't recommend this place enough. There's a reason it's currently the #1 place to stay on Ambergis Caye. If I find myself back here in the future I won't bother looking for a place to stay, I'll be back here in a heartbeat.

Thanks to everyone at The Phoenix for making our stay so great!

Room Tip: Room B5 has an amazing straight-on view of the resorts pool and then the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
221
274
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Don't need to spell out the same things that everyone else has said, just know that it's all true. I've never had such fast email interactions with any resort both booking the room and activities. The same level of service continued during our stay. Short walk to all of the restaurants/bars as promised and even shorter walk to the dock where we were picked up for our fishing/diving excursions. Gorgeous rooms, amazing view, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Will definitely be returning soon!
Brian Kopec
Stayed Labor Day 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a ten-day trip to Belize. Based on reviews in Trip Advisor, we stayed at the Phoenix Hotel and had an amazing vacation. We absolutely loved the Phoenix and here’s why…

Booking the Accommodation
The Phoenix Hotel worked with us to book the perfect room and coordinate our transportation to San Pedro and the Phoenix. They were incredibly efficient and sent us an extensive document outlining the services of the hotel, describing trips and other activities, what we may need to pack, and providing us with the menu for the hotel restaurant, Red Ginger.


Arrival
When we arrived, the Phoenix staff warmly welcomed us with a delicious local drink and quickly checked us into our rooms. Our suite was incredible. In addition to our bedroom, we had a full kitchen, dining area, two full bathrooms, and washer and dryer. We had a beautiful terrace that looked out over the ocean. The room was extremely clean. (I bring disinfectant cleanser wipes to all hotels so that I can clean them to my standard. I did not need to clean anything at the Phoenix. This was a first for me.)

The Phoenix also has a business center with three computers and printer. You can also borrow iPads, Wiis, Kindles, etc. It has a selection of books and DVDs for you to view in your room.

Throughout our stay, the Phoenix staff went above and beyond the call of duty to provide us with the perfect vacation experience. They scheduled all of our trips, recommended restaurants and other activities, and always greeted us with smiles. We spent a good deal of time at the pool and had delicious cocktails. We highly recommend the dirty banana and the frozen mojito.

We ate all of our breakfasts and several meals at the Phoenix’s Red Ginger restaurant. The food and service were very good. (If you go, bring a sweater because it has high air conditioning.) The Red Ginger makes its own hot sauce – unlike most restaurants on the island – and it is both tasty and extremely spicy. Yum! Red Ginger has a great indoor ambience. However, if you want to go outside, you can visit its sister restaurant Blue Water Grill. It is an outdoor restaurant on the beach with a very similar menu. If you want to try another restaurant outside of the Phoenix sister restaurants, I highly recommend Hidden Treasure (see my review under restaurants).

Note, when you eat at one of the sister restaurants – you get 10% off!



Activities
The Phoenix helped us schedule and organize our various activities outside of the hotel.

We went snorkeling with Lil Alphonse – who is an incredible guide. We went to Mexico Rocks, to Hol Chan, and night snorkeling with Alphonse. Alphonse went over all snorkel safety procedures, swam with us, and pointed out and named every possible fish on our tour. (We noticed that many guides stayed on their boats while their clients tried to figure out what was in the water. Many of these clients would get frustrated and try to crash our tour.) Alphonse also gave us time to snorkel alone in each area so that could move at our own pace. We swam with sharks and stingrays in Hol Chan. Alphonse helped us hold and touch the sea life so that we really felt like we were a part of our environment. Like many captains, Alphonse is full of tales and is a great deal of fun. He also is incredibly patient. If you are nervous at all, he makes sure that you are comfortable. We had a range of people on our tours. I was really impressed by how he helped the more adventurous find and touch the different fish while also making sure that more nervous people had fun and did not get overwhelmed.

We went to the mainland to go cave tubing and tour the Mayan ruin, Altun Ha. (The mainland had quite a bit of ran so a number of the Mayan ruins were closed.) We had a wonderful guide who often works with the Phoenix Hotel. If you have the time, the cave tubing was incredible and we highly recommend it. As the name suggests, you tour underground caves while tubing and it’s a really unique experience. The river water is also an incredible relief from the Belizean heat.

We rented a golf cart and drove around San Pedro. Though a bit costly, we enjoyed the experience. It gives you a chance to see the island on your own and at your own pace.


Tips
Up the road from the Phoenix is the local “Caye Mart” – no relation to K-Mart – and it has practically everything you need. You can buy many brands available in the US – Tide, Goya, Always, Off, Banana Boat, McCormick (spices)), Pampers, etc. You can also buy underwater film cameras – at the Caye Mart or other shops around town. There is also a neighboring “Belizean owned” store. Unfortunately, we did not find much on the shelves when we visited.

We rented our cart from the Phoenix because it was a bit more convenient. However, if you will need a cart for long periods, you may want to shop around in town.

We recommend bringing your own snorkel and mask – at the very least. Otherwise, you will have to pay to rent them and that can add up. This way, you will only have to rent fins and, if you go on a night tour, the underwater flashlight.

Unlike some hotels, the Phoenix provides you with swim towels and you can take them on all of your adventures. So, no need to pack a towel!

The Phoenix also provides you with Aveda products – bath bar soap, bath liquid soap, rosemary mint shampoo and conditioner, and lotion.

The Red Ginger is closed on Tuesdays. So, even if you decide to eat all of your meals there, you have to break away. If you don’t want to go to a sister restaurant, we highly recommend the Hidden Treasure restaurant (see my separate review). Also, we had some really good food at Elvi’s Restaurant.

Since we were in Belize during the low season, many shops were closed. However, for those who want to do a bit of shopping, I liked Ambar for jewelry. Elisabeth – the owner – makes some really lovely jewelry. The quality was much better than other shops on the island. Look for a range of jewelry including Mayan jade, amber, turquoise, amazonite, cornelian, and silver. Ambar is located in the restaurant Fido’s on the Front Street (or from the beach). The phone number is 226-2824. Fido’s also has two other shops – a clothing shop that sells more than the traditional tourist wear and an art gallery called the Belizean Art Gallery. The gallery has paintings, carvings, jewelry, etc. The Orange Gallery was closed during our trip so I cannot comment on it. If you want the traditional tourist items – rum cakes, t-shirts, etc., you will see them throughout town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husand and I were looking for a get away where the vire was beautiful, the atmoshphere was casual and the dining was good. We found the perfect spot! Ambergris Caye was very easy to get to from Dallas - a 2 and a half hour flight to Belize City and a 15 minute puddle jumper to Ambergris Caye and we were there. The hotels are only 5-10 mins from the airport.
The Phoenix Resort is absolutely stunning but what makes this resort extra special is the exceptional and friendly staff there. They make you feel so welcome and they bend over backwards to make certain that your stay is just what you want it to be. The rooms are condos and are very spacious with every amenity you can think of. The hotel is right in the middle of the island so it is easy to talk to most places.

We will go back and we cannot wait!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Phoenix delivered on everything promised. My wife and I spent a week here and left very relaxed and content. Everyone at the hotel from the bar tenders to the receptionists were extremely attentive to our needs. Stacey was very helpful in organizing our trip before we landed. The hotel property is beautiful and the rooms uber comfortable and luxurious. Its a great place to spend a fantastic holiday.
Restaurant recs: Wild Mango, Blue Water Grill, Red Ginger, Admiral Grilll at Victoria House and Palapas (the most amazing views in the island).
Best ice cream ( and great conversation): Dandees.
If you like marine life, sharks and rays, you must go snorkelling wih Lil Alfonse. The experience will change your life.

Room Tip: For 1 bedrooms, get the 3rd floor -it has the best views. Ask Stacey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. And I really cannot forget how that honeymoon was wonderful staying there. The room is clean and comfortable and I really appreciated the kindness of the stuff. I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The property is beautiful and extremely well maintained. The staft is super friendly and helpful! As soon as I walked into the lobby, I felt immediately welcomed and at home. The suite was exceptional with beautiful wood throughout. The beds were super clean and cushy. We would wake up in the morning and call the front desk. Within a few minutes, the Phoenix had an entire day scheduled for us with whatever we wanted to do: diving, snorkling, etc. If you a diver, there are several great dive operators right next to the resort: Ecologic Divers, Amigos Del Mar and Ambergis Divers will pick you up at the resort's pier. Again, the Phoenix's staff is the true highlight of the Phoenix. They were just amazing in every way. You should definitely stay at the Phoenix as soon as you can!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.