We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Pros: The sea house was impressive. 3 bedrooms. (1 w/ king, 1 with queen, 1 with two twins)...2 level with an upstairs patio off "master" ... tub for 2 as well as shower ... 3 bathrooms ... kitchen with microwave ... front porch to view the ocean in the shade ... large TV with "American channels" ... internet connection in living room (complimentary) ... very nice and accommodating staff ... cool A/C + fans in each room ... kayaks and Hobie craft for your use ... incredible POOL ... 2nd largest Barrier Reef w/in kayak distance
Staff is multi-lingual - English, Spanish, Creole
Staff is VERY friendly !

Challenges:

1 restaurant on property which is a little pricey (but VERY nice...and great wait staff)

Nearest "grocery" requires a 15-20 minute walk (difficult to carry back all groceries) - but you can rent a golf cart by the hour instead, or borrow bicycles from the hotel which have baskets...however, when you get there it is a "shot in the dark" if they will have what you need (like chicken or milk)... prices are NOT cheap, but affordable...

Seaweed up to the shore...so snorkel opportunities are not easy and require some effort (we tried first night at end of dock - saw some awesome stuff to include string ray and large crab) but we were not real safe from passing boats due to limited visibility.

Water heater broke - but they "rigged it" quickly, and we had no problems. A/C broke, but again, immediate response and they fixed it before it got too hot.

When there is no wind - mosquitos are everywhere - take Mosquito repellent. We took OFF and the OFF clip on fans. Worked wonders in the jungle...:) When you have the great breeze - not so much of a worry.

Tipping: Some places it is included, others not, but it is not well defined. Take a lot of small bills for this purpose! *Don't forget fees that are here and there and must be cash!

Tax = 12.5% -- eek !

Must see the Barrier Reef, Shark Ray Alley and Hol Chan (40 per person + tax). Our guide, Carlos, actually caught a shark for us to "pet" ... priceless! The first thing we saw was a sea turtle - awesome! Mayan Ruins were really cool too. (145 per person fee + tax)

*We bought snorkeling gear at Costco and took with, but they have it for rent too.*

Not sure what following this web site gets...but would be happy to TRY and answer any questions you may have. You can email our family at : [---] placing BELIZE in the subject line.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    76
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
126
208
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We've traveled to Belize several times and now have found the perfect place to stay. Las Terrazas is located north of town and the location makes you feel like you are on a private island. A driver meets you at the airport in San Pedro and takes you to the resort's boat for a quick ride to the resort. The water is beautiful and the ride is short, about 10 min and this is a great introduction toLas Terrazas. As all of our activities revolved around the water, there was no reason to go in to San Pedro. The local water taxi stops at the resort, but we enjoyed staying at the resort and did not miss going in to town. Curl and Manuel at the front desk arranged for our adventures and had great suggestions for us. We snorkled Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley with the resort's dive shop, White Sands Dive Shop. Our guide caught a shark and let each of us pet it. We spent a half day fishing and 5 minutes into the trip, my son and I both caught our first of about 10 fish. After a couple of hours, the guide took us to a private location and grilled the fish, which was the best we ever had. I definitely recommend both of these trips as they are "family friendly" and everyone enjoyed them. Back to Las Terrazas. The resort is actually town homes, which provide more room than anyone needs on vacation, but it was nice to have seperate bedrooms for everyone, a full size kitchen and full sizing living / dining room AND air conditioning. Everything looks and feels new and is very clean. We bought groceries through the on line grocery store and had breakfast items delivered to the resort so we could fix breakfast in our room each morning. O Restaurant has a menu that is both kid friendly and sophisticated. Stephanie or Noreen waited on us each day and always with a smile and an interest in our day. We used the pool each afternoon after returning from our excursions. It is located in the center of the resort with the beach only steps away from the pool and looks the same as on their website. The location of the resort, the staff that was always willing to help, and the great accommodations are why we think Las Terrazas is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We spent a week in Southern Belize (Belizean Dreams, Hopkins Village) and thought we needed to check out famous Ambergris Caye. Our travel agent recommended this beautiful resort. Our condo was extremely spacious and very modern & clean. Loved it!!!
The staff is very friendly and tried to make our stay as enjoyable & comfortable as possible. Manuel at the reception is very helpful and knowledgeable. Thanks Manuel!
The resort has one restaurant "O" which has very good delicious food & drinks. Staff is extremely friendly. I also liked that the menu changed every day for dinner. Loved the Belizean food. You have to try it.
With the watertaxi you can take a fairly quick ride into San Pedro to go to all the diff. restaurants overthere. I highly recommend to go also to "Portofino" which is more north. They pick you up for free in their watertaxi. The reception made a reservation for us.
The beach is ok. We never really layed out at the beach. The sand seems almost scraped away. It looks fanstastic though. You can not really go and jump in the water right off the beach because the seagrass grows very close to the beach. It is nice though to watch all the fish, crabs and even stingrays up close or off the pier. The hotel has Kajaks, Hobie Cats for free etc... Just a few yards off the beach starts the chrystal clear and turquoise water we were seeking. The reef is super close and you can kajak there in a few minutes. Tie your kajak to the buoy and snorkel. You can even stand out there. Fascinating waters to snorkel in!!!
Do a snorkeltrip with the guys next door. We did HOL CHAN MARINE RESERVE. Awesome. Luis is a perfect guide and even if you have never snorkeled in your life before you will enjoy this very much!!!
I loved to rent the golf cart from the hotel and drive into SAN PEDRO. It takes a good 30 minutes. You will see a way different side of Ambergris Caye driving on a sandy road into town. (partially this road is a little polluted with trash etc. I hope somebody from Ambergris Caye will read this and tries to do something against the pollution) It would be too bad if this beautiful island would be destroyed by trash. It might be that this trash happened due to construction of hotels.
But back to Las Terrazas ....I really liked it..it was very good. Request a room closer to the pool.They are building Phase 2 next door. We stayed in room 237. Awesome. Nice view to the pool, lobby by the beach and you can see part of the pier and beach.
All in all we truly enjoyed our 5 days at LAS TERRAZAS and we would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Las Terrazas was awesome. The staff are very friendly and helpful! They make your stay unbelievable! The resort is in a remote location which is great to escape the hustle and bustle in town. You have to take a water taxi to get into town or rent a golf cart, but either way, you should definitely go into town. Take your camera everywhere you go, because you will find many beautiful picture opportunites. Would definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our stay at Las Terrazas was amazing. The resort offered free use of their kayaks which we were able to paddle out to the reef, which was rich with aquatic life, and do some snorkelling during our down time. I don't think I have ever been able to be as relaxed and stress free as I was during this vacation. This was our first time in Belize, so we were a little apprehensive about what to expect, but everyone was so friendly and helpful and the staff at the Las Terrazas was no different. They told us which activities they recommended and Manuel, at the front desk, did everything for us. He made our activty, dinner, and flight reservations. We didn't need to do a thing other than show up at the time he told us. He was the icing on the cake. This was the perfect vacation and I highly recommend Las Terrazas for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Arriving at th resort was like we were royalty. Greeted by a host and ice cold drinks. The condo was very roomy clean and spacious.All the amenities.
The staff were some of the nicest people We have ever encountered. Very knowledgable about not only the Island but the surrounding areas as well..The ocean and the Mainland. Very willing to share any info they could about their country.
The staff did everything they could to make things to easy .Such as all the excursions and all the transportation that was needed was done through the front desk.
Everything was so accommadated.
Wonderful staff.... Without them it would have been just another vacation . Instead it is a memory we will never forget. THANK YOU TO ALL !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I don't know where even to begin, but that planning my wedding at Las Terrazas Resort was the best decision I ever made and the easiest process I could have ever have hoped for. Carolyn and Lorraine helped me plan the most perfect wedding and helped my 40 guests every step of the way from booking accommodations to the transfer flight to booking excursions. Not only was the flight there easy but we were met by a taxi and then a boat and then a staff member from Las Terrazas greeted us with a cool face towel and drinks. NOW that is service. They knew all our names the entire trip and all of the staff were accommodating. I like to mention Maurice and Mario at the front desk were the best concierge staff I have ever met on all my travels. The townhomes were beautiful, spacious, clean, and wonderfully equipped with a full kitchen (which we used all week long) and a washer and dryer which is soooo awesome to have on a long vacation. Not to mention the amazingly beautiful pool!

Come my wedding day, everything was taken care of for me and every detail was perfectly executed! The cocktail hour food and dinner were amazing. Definitely some of the best food I have ever had at a wedding or on vacation for that matter! Even when the cake flavor turned out to be not what we had ordered, the staff quickly made it up to us and made sure me and husband were happy in the end. The only vendor I had to set up for myself was Kay Scott, the photographer and she was amazing. I highly recommend her to any bride who is thinking of having a wedding in Belize. She is the BEST on the Island.

Thank you Las Terrazas Resort and Staff for making my wedding perfect and my guests happy! We will definitely be returning for future anniversaries!

Love,
S&J

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.