We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon excursion....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon excursion....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have to start out by saying the grounds and resort accommodations, along with staff hospitality are great! If you are looking to secluded and away from most things, this is the prime place to be. You have cable and internet to keep you connected to the world, but locations such as this are setup for scuba and snorkeling, which are great, but not something that needs to be done everyday unless that is the reason you came to Belize. As far as rest and relaxation, this resort did not dissappoint. Being away from the world and still being able to reach out to the world was just what we needed. The pricing on food is a little expensive at the restaurants, although the food great, it just leaves a bit to be desired with those prices. Also, be prepared to be limited by mostly water taxis. This is almost the only way to get up and down the island, and can get to be expensive after a few rides. Oh, if you didnt know this is not in Belize City, you will need to catch an additional flight from Belize City to San Pedro on the local airline. Other than the meals being somewhat pricey and the seclusion, it is the perfect place to be. Clean, spacious and quiet, which was all we needed on our honeymoon, we found in this place. Thank you to the staff for their hospitality and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    96
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
176
248
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Ambergris Caye, and to Belize in general, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. The resort is BEAUTIFUL - probably the nicest one we saw. It is immaculately maintained, the pool is incredible, and the rooms spacious and comfortable - we had a 2 bedroom resort view, which was right by the pool, had a full kitchen, living room, dining room and bathroom downstairs and 2 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs. It also had a washer/dryer, which was a helpful plus. All the staff was very friendly, though some more helpful than others.

So why the 'but'? First, the location is a bit secluded (as are many of the other resorts), which makes eating options limited. We were surprised that the hotel did not offer some free boat rides to San Pedro - the water taxi can get costly with a family of 4 (not to mention the very limited times), and while there are bicycles available, they can not be reserved, so our plan to cycle for town for lunch had to be aborted since all the bikes were out.

Second, and also not unique to Las Terrazas, the area is really designed for snorkeling and diving - it is not really a swimming beach and there are limited 'land' activities - for instance, no gym. It was nice having the kayaks and catamaran available, but there is really no place to go for a run, etc. While there is a 'spa' (and we had 2 very nice massages), it is small by resort standards.

While the restaurant was good, it is a little pricey (as are all the others in the area) and can feel a bit limiting if you are at the resort for several days.

We loved the resort, but wish we had been better informed in advance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 217 - it was a terrific 2 bedroom resort view. It had 3 terraces, including a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It's hard to know where to begin with this resort! We were very excited to spend half of our honeymoon here, but left very disappointed. To start with, there was no one there to pick us up off the plane. They were about 30 minutes late. When we got there, the service was horrible. The people working in the restaurant there can't even tell you about what they are serving and during their "slow" season it took 30 minutes to get a drink. We paid for a room upgrade and it was a joke! Our shower didn't work the first night and it took 2 hours for the jacuzzi to fill up. By the time it was full you didn't feel like using it anymore. We also had a few tours booked as part of our package. We were told that our one tours was cancelled an hour before we were supposed to leave! If you pre-book and pre-pay for a tour it should happen no matter what. When we did go on tours, the guides were rude and not knowledgeable. To top it all off, when we got our bill on our last night they had charged us for many things that were included in our pre-paid package. The fact that we had to go to the front desk and fix this huge issue on the last night of our honeymoon is ridiculous! Our stay was not even close to being worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are disheartened to hear that your stay with us was disappointing, especially on such a special occasion as your honeymoon. We wish that resort management would have been informed so that they could have attended to the issues while you were at the resort. As we did not have the opportunity to discuss your stay while you were with us, we would like to take the time to address them here.

The possible reason for our driver being late for your arrival escapes us as this is not a comment we typically receive. Without being advised of it at check in, in looking back, the driver may not have been at the airstrip due to your change in flight time from the mainland. Your folio indicates you tipped the wait staff well (thank you) so we are unable to determine which server we may need to provide additional training. As you indicated, you upgraded to an Ocean View Penthouse at check in. These premium residences feature a private plunge pool on the balcony. We do not maintain water in the plunge pools at all times and therefore with a last minute check in, we do have to fill these pools. The time takes approximately 45 minutes (however, it must seem 2 hours). Unlike the resort on the mainland where you stayed prior to Las Terrazas, we do not use employees for local tours and utilize an off site tour company. All of the island vendors require a minimum number of participants. Unfortunately, this particular company received a last minute cancellation; which was out of their control as well as ours. This resulted in their minimum not being met and the tour cancelled. Your prepayment was applied as resort credit.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings. We only hope that you were able to take away at least some positive memories of your honeymoon stay with us. We wish you both a lifetime of happiness together and many more fabulous trips in the future.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My opinions on Las Terrazas are extremely mixed. It is a beautiful property, but the service we received was subpar. There are so many other good reviews here, so we may have just hit them on a bad few days.

When we first got there, they told us that we were going to be paying more for the room than we had expected. We were going to pay, of course, but had some questions about the charges. They made us feel stupid and ignorant from the get-go. They also never brought a new coffee machine to our room when they said they would (the one in the room was rusted over) or an extra robe for one of the guests in our party.

One night, I also ordered the fried snapper on the menu and was very disappointed. It tasted like I had just taken a bite out of the ocean (so very fishy). I asked politely if I could get something else, and the server practically rolled her eyes and was very short with us from then on.

There are, however, people there that WERE very nice to us, although I didn't get any names. This resort is very commercial and beautiful, so if you are looking for a place to be close to the culture and natives, don't stay here. However, it WOULD be a great place for someone looking for that more commercialized experience. It is beautiful and right by the water. They also had free bikes available for us to take into town for the day. The bike ride along the beach to the city was fun and beautiful! it took about 45 minutes or an hour to get to the city.

Along the beach bike ride we encountered a place called Ak'bol. We were going to do yoga there that morning but for some reason they weren't having class that day. However, we went out and did yoga on the pier and ate some meals there. If we had known about it before, we probably would have stayed there. They had great food, were right on the beach, and there are many more lush, island plants around it. They also had some delicious coconut french toast there! YUM!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Las Terrazas. As you pointed out, we have so many other excellent reviews we can only assume the mix up at check in is what swayed your experience. While we value all of our third party booking sites; one of which you utilized for your reservation, communication with our resort Reservations Office prior to arrival is essential to ensure your details are correct and your stay will be to your satisfaction. Third party sites as well as our website indicate that a One Bedroom Residence is for a maximum of two guests. You booked a One Bedroom and arrived at the resort with 4 persons. This resulted in the extra charges for the upgrade to a Two Bedroom Residence.

While we totally understand that the guest perception is their reality we are confused on the comment regarding the female server. Noreen is a veteran employee and our only female server. She repeatedly and routinely receives excellent guest comments on Trip Advisor and other review sites. However, please know that we will use your comments and research further with the kitchen team. Your additional comments will also be used by our management as a tool to further enhance our future guests' experience.

Warm Wishes
Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was more of a family-oriented hotel than we are used to staying in, so perhaps not the best choice if you're looking for a romantic couple's retreat.
Having said that, the rooms/suites are extremely well-equipped. I'm not sure if we received an upgrade, but we were given a large 2-bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, kitchen, large living area. This made for a very comfortable stay. The hotel is well positioned on the beach, and the only real way of getting here from the hotel is by speedboat - either provided by the hotel, or one of the frequent water-taxis running up and down the coast. If you do want to to go into the small town in Ambergris Caye, you can cheaply rent a golf cart from the hotel and drive down a bumpy dirt road.
The service and the staff in the hotel was of a high standard.
A couple of small complaints:
- there is only one restaurant in the hotel and it struggles to cope with the number of residents; if you want to eat in-house each night, be sure to book ahead.
- Also, despite the waters of Belize being the stunning blue you see in every travel guide, the water right off the beach contains a large amount of sea grass. This means that it's not easy/pleasant to swim right off the beach; you have to use a smallish cordoned off area at the end of one of the jettys. Also, given that access to most parts of the island are by boat, there is a constant stream of speedboats running up and down the coast. This is not true just of Las Terrazas, but of all coastal hotels in this part of Belize. Since we like to spend a lots of time in the sea, it was a bit disappointing.
- Lastly, there's no gym, if that's important to you.

Having said all of that, the diving and snorkelling, easily arranged through the hotel's own dive shop, was the best I have ever experienced anywhere else in the world. The clarity and warmth of the water and the richness of the sea life was simply spectacular!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Girlfriend & I stayed at Las Terrazas June 15-22, 2014 during the San Pedro lobster-fest. We stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse with the plunge pool on the 3rd floor. I'd highly recommend if you are taking "Your SIGNIFICANT other"!! Would definitely return if we make it back to Belize. Staff bent over backwards, Manuel & Jamal were super attentive. The staff gets it. You get the warm welcoming genuine hospitality only your grandma could extend, and its rolled out 24/7/365.

Las Terrazas is 3 miles north of San Pedro. If you decide to visit the small waterfront village, rent the golf cart. A bicycle ride is murder. The unpaved pot-hole stricken road that connects San Pedro and the Ambergris Caye resorts is like the Iraqi highway without the IED's.... But you get the idea. Biking is 3 miles too long! Rent the modified redneck golf cart! Coastal Express runs a "water shuttle/taxi" kind of service to & from Amigos del Mar dive shop/dock in the middle of San Pedro for $5Belize each way. Last run is at like 10:30pm. Cab back to Las Terrazas is about $46Belize and they can be found at any hour.

The food was superb. Portion size couldn't have been better. Breakfast is available early, and the staff at O restaurant is lights out. Chef Pappi is legit. Super strong background originating from Napa.

Local dive shop White-Sands dive shop was money! 200 yard walk to the dock from our hotel room. Chino, Carlos and Sam are Diving rock stars! Chino guided us for our Monday, Tuesday and Thursday dives. Carlos took us for our Wednesday night dive.

We flew American into Belize city (BZE), then took a prop jet from TropicAir to San Pedro regional airstrip (SPR). Cab to the Amigos del Mar dock, and Las Terrazas sent their motorboat to pick us up. Travel time was about 30mins to the resort once we hopped on TropicAir in Belize City.

The feel amid the other guests we met poolside around the end of the day discussed their dives and what other adventures were explored. The poolside staff was prompt with water and cocktail service. Obviously chosen for their timing!

Las Terrazzos is the place. Competitively priced, superb staff and conveniently located. This resort should be a top candidate for your consideration.

Room Tip: We never got a chance to hit the Spa. The only knock against this place, and this is realy digging d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I have been to Ambergris Cay multiple times, however this was our first time to stay at Las Terrazas.(We have stayed at Victoria House and Caya Costa, I say that only so you can have something to compare the property to) I can assure you this is now our favorite property due to the "All Around" First Class Service, Staff, Food and beautiful property. The resort staff was very attentive to anything we needed however we still had our privacy. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the rooms are extremely clean and beautifully decorated. The front desk and concierge service is top notch. They can help you with boat tours, snorkeling, diving trips and just about anything you need. Please don't miss eating at the "O" Bar and Restaurant. The new chefs menu is incredible. The Grouper is over the top!! And the bar and pool staff is definitely the best on the Island. From the first phone call to book Las Terrazas Resort and thru out our stay, this resort showed us 5 star -- First class service. We cant wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
4.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
3.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.