We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property with excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great property with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just came back from our stay here and we had an amazing time. We were celebrating our anniversary, and they were so kind that they upgraded our room and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine:) The property is beautiful and the condos are very well furnished and pretty. They have a lot of activities including the kayaks and hobie cat that we used while there. Their staff member that helped us with the Hobie Cat, Leron, was very helpful and kind. He showed us how to use the Hobie Cat and even guided us where to go since he was on our boat over while we headed into town! Thank you Leron! He even informed us of all the tours that the hotel has to offer, so we can't wait to head back here on our next trip to Belize!! Even all the bar/restaurant staff were so kind and caring! We had a wonderful dinner there our first night, and our waiter was so helpful (sorry we can't remember your name, Ibrahim I think!). Thank you to everyone for the amazing service!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    92
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
161
229
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Came here for a wedding, and shared a 3 bedroomed condo with family,and although getting to the resort was a bit of a faff, the resort itself was worth it. Great accommodation, lovely staff, great scenery. The staff are attentive without being pushy, and the place feels very relaxed. Use of the kayaks is free is you don't fancy just lazing under a palm tree! Our evening meal in the restaurant was gorgeous though a bit pricey, lunch and breakfast was good value though.
My only slight criticism would be the lack of a mirror in the 2 bedrooms, and for a resort of this calibre I would have expected bath robes. The master suite did have a mirror, robes and a hairdryer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our fifth trip to Belize, fourth to Ambergris Caye. We had previously stayed at Captain Morgan's (twice, once for our wedding), Portofino (honeymoon), and Capricorn. Las Terrazas was the best place we have stayed in Belize, and one of the best places we've ever stayed, period. The resort itself is beautiful, with a fabulous pool that is maintained to perfection daily. We had the "best room in the house" according to the staff, room 217. We had three balconies in the two bedroom apartment-type accommodation, including a "rooftop" style balcony overlooking the ocean. The room had all of the luxuries of home, while still maintaining its Belizean style.
The staff was extremely accommodating. Whenever we asked for something, it was delivered to us either in our room or at the pool within minutes.
The food at "O" was very good. Yes, the prices are not cheap, but for the convenience and quality, I think they were in line with the rest of the places north of town.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I took a group of 26 people to the Las Terrazas in February of 2014. It was a sales incentive trip so it was a varied group of employees all with different interests and backgrounds. Las Terrazas met everyone's expectations and then some! The rooms were unbelievably big, clean and comfortable. The resort is not that big so all of the rooms felt like they were basically beachfront. The food was great, the atmosphere was wonderful and the staff was incredible. I have to say the best feature of the hotel was working with their management and staff to plan and execute the trip. They helped me to think of all sorts of details that I wouldn't have otherwise thought of and were extremely helpful. Once we were there they helped us with everything we needed ahead of time and anticipated what I needed help with. They kept our hospitality suite stocked perfectly. Because it's not a huge resort, it doesn't have the "big resort" feel so if you want to be anonymous on a work trip this is probably not the best place to go. We are a group that is all pretty friendly so it was perfect for us. It is not the closest to town but we did have fun renting a golf cart and taking a bumpy ride into town one afternoon. There is also a dive shop right there at the end of the dock so that was great for the divers in our group. Would highly recommend the resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited Belize and decided to stay at Las Terrazas after hearing from numerous friends how nice the property was. It did not disappoint! From the moment we booked to the time we checked out, they made every detail easy and non-stressful. The location was ideal for us as we wanted to be beachfront in a less touristy area, close to dive sites yet easy to get into "town" if we wanted a little night life. It was all that and more. The staff was relaxed, helpful, friendly and catered to our every need. We were impressed with the room (we received an upgrade), we had a fabulous dining experience and we loved the access to all of the water and beach activities we desired!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you don't want to pay the extra $$ for beachfront. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family stayed at LT for a wedding. The facilities are nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice, clean and well decorated. The facilities are very clean. The O restaurant is very good and food can be served poolside which is nice. The food is expensive as are drinks. LT is far away from everything which is nice but also inconvenient. There are bikes to use and the bike ride into the small store is not a hard one and is a fun adventure. The beach just a short walk down from LT is disgusting and smelly. There is also construction on the other side of the resort that takes away front eh beauty of the island and location. Overall LT is a good place to stay. Its secluded and nice. It has a pool and restaurant with pool service. It is very expensive and you do not really gain anything from the price. I don't think it is above and beyond better than other resorts on the island. I have previously stayed at Coco Beach and loved it there. It's definitely worth staying at and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just returned from Belize, Ambergris Caye and although our trip was a wee bit too long on this remote little island, Las Terrazas made it a delight to relax in.
The services provided were top notch from the beginning. However, NOTE THIS: there offices are located in Houston, TX. We booked our reservation on Fri evening and arrived Sunday evening and they did not have the reservation on file due to their 'closed offices'. It was a bit of a cluster **** getting our room but it all came together beautifully as they greet you with rum punch and hot towels. Granted, our method of planning for this trip was extremely last minute and spontaneous; this is likely not the norm for everyone.
Alex our server on almost a daily basis, was filled with knowledge of the island and Belize in general. He had some fun stories of being a private butler on another remote island that is home to many celebrities (think, Leo, Johnny, Madge).
Whenever we needed something either Curl, or Tephany at the front were there to accommodate our needs. Private boats were available to take us snorkeling, fishing and sight seeing on the northern part of the island.
Ask for Gasper if you want to fish, collect conch and have a BBQ on the beach with fresh made ceviche. It was amazing!
Golf carts are the method of transportation and then only way to really get around if you want to go into town and LT has many to provide; it is a daily cost so be sure to return your key if you don't need to use it the next day...it will add up!
The spa was delightful as well, the girls were strong in their massages and super accommodating. However, the prices run congruent to those in the states. Although the conversion is 2 to 1 from US to Belizean, the prices at the hotel are in US.
Lastly, Ak'Bol Yoga retreat is up the road about a mile for the best yoga experience ever, and I'm a yoga instructor. Maybe it was the setting, maybe it was Kirsten the owner, either way it is a must! The food is amazing as well as Claudia the sweet little thing that will make you the best Papaya smoothy ever!
Bravo for Las Terrazas and all the offerings on Ambergris Caye. However, if you are not a diver & have no intention of traveling back to the mainland for Cave Tubing or Zip Lining, 4 days would really be enough; we were there for 8.

Room Tip: It was really helpful to have our room face the pool since that is where we went every morning, afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.