We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free!
Ranked #17 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is my 4th trip to Ambergris Caye, Belize and we always love staying here. Perfectly located just far away from town, but not too far, only a short 10 min. water taxi ride. The service here has always been great, from the greeters to the wait staff. Never once an altercation that they could or would not fix promptly and with pleasure. As anyone can see the rooms online from the photos, they are what they advertise, excellent! We alway stay in one of the Seahouse Villa's located right on the beach, so we walk out of the front door straight into the sand. Exit the rear door and walk right into the pool. You just can't get any better place. The food is alway great and It's never overpriced as many resorts overcharge for average food. No disappointments here. Although not advertised as an all adult resort, it is nice for us that this place really doesn't have too many family's stay here. So the peace and quiet we come here for, is what we get.

On this trip we decided to extend our stay, and the management staff reduced our rate almost in half, for us to stay a few extra days to enjoy the tranquility. So were staying!

Room Tip: As my review mentioned, stay in one of the Seahouses! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    74
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
195
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm already looking forward to going back to Belize. This hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean, all have multiple bedrooms, a kitchen and a lounge area outside. The pool is great, the food is excellent ( lots of healthy choices) and the serve was top notch.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

PROS:
- new modern townhouse style
- the cleanliness

CONS:
- the WiFi is horrible and did not work- AT ALL (Before the staff comments with their condescending reply about guests wanting to get away from work..and working on the issue with the cable provider.. at $350 a night, WIfi should be working properly. No excuses)
- Cable TV was an issue.. it was not working at all. Horrible.. especially when you advertise certain amenities.
- No complimentary rum punch (not just juice) upon arrival. (your competitors are offering it.. you should probably do the same)
- You have to pay for bikes??? (Really? At such a high end hotel, it comes off very tacky to charge guests for bike use.. We stayed at 2 other hotels in Belize who offered this as complimentary)
- The 'O' Restaurant is truly overrated (we witnessed guests ordering and sending their food back). The food is horrible. And to charge US prices is a crime. Word of Advice: Do not order the 'Spicy Chicken' Sandwich.. you'll regret it..
- No complimentary airport transfers??.. I struggle to understand why this hotel is a such a high price point.. It is very tacky to charge $25 per person for an airport transfer.. especially when the hotel owns and operates their own taxi/boat.
- Check your bill before you check out.. We were overcharged and luckily had them investigate a restaurant charge we did not incur.

Overall, I would not recommend anyone staying here. We ended up checking out and staying at a wonderful luxury hotel in town and it WAS AMAZING, It is acutally the 2nd rated hotel on here.. read those reviews! We wish we took them serious before coming here. IT is actually a hassle to be this far away from town. Trust me.. there is nothing in the surrounding area.. you need to be closer to town.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a pool entrance and view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinions of Las Terrazas Resort. While the stay with us was not to your satisfaction, we are glad you were able to enjoy beautiful Ambergris Caye at another resort. TripAdvisor provides a great venue for guests and owners to learn from one another and we value this forum. I would like to use this forum to address your points.


- In regards to WiFi; we wish you would have addressed this with the Front Desk team as we are not aware of WiFi challenges. We upgraded our routers late May and have not had any complaints since then.



- We did learn after you checked out that one of the TV cables was disconnected from the input inside the room. If that was brought to our attention while you were with us, it would have been immediately fixed.



- We appreciate your comments regarding the bicycles. We charge a rental fee to help offset the costs due to the heavy wear and tear the bicycles receive from our guests. However, your comments are allowing us to re-address this and we hope to announce soon that bicycles will be complimentary for our guests along with the hobie cats, paddle boards and kayaks.



- Your comment regarding the Spicy Chicken Sandwich is of course based on personal preference as it is one of the most popular dishes on our menu. We reviewed Guest Checks from the night of your dinner and noticed that only one dish was returned and not because the guest was unhappy with it, but due to a mix up in the order. In regards to our quoting in US Dollars, the restaurant at the resort you located to, is one of few that cater to US clientele who quote in Belize Dollars. As quoted from Frommer's Guide: "Many hotels, restaurants, and tour operators actually quote in U.S. dollars"



- The $25 one way transfer fee per person is not uncommon; especially for resorts north of town. While we do own our boat, the fee helps offset the costs associated. As you may not be aware, fuel on the island is currently $6.25US per gallon.



Lastly, in regards to Las Terrazas being a hassle due to our location; our guests actually enjoy the privacy and exclusivity that our location provides. The majority of our guests book with us directly and we spend a large amount of time with them on the phone explaining our location and what we offer. This helps us both ensure that the resort is a great fit for their vacation.



For your future travels, we would like to strongly encourage you or other guests to discuss any concerns with the Front Desk team and / or on site manager. As noted above, most issues; especially the small ones, can easily be remedied. Hoteliers definitely want the guest to walk away with a good experience and knowing they received value for their stay.

If there is anything further I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me personally via our US Reservations & Sales Office.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spacious accommodations. Fine dining... you will not need to dine anywhere else. Terrific amenities. A wonderful spa. But it is the staff's personal attention to each guest's needs that makes this resort a must for the traveller that insists on being pampered.

Room Tip: All rooms are new, spacious and beautiful, so unless you really need that sea view... don't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As someone who has traveled quite a bit to different parts of the world, I have had the chance to stay at different types of hotels, condos, apartments, etc. This resort is best described as a a very nice luxury townhome/condo complex with room service and some amenities. It offers large size clean, air conditioned rooms (ours had three bedrooms and two bathrooms along with a living room, full kitchen, balconies, etc) as well as room service, pool and concierge.

As several people noted the beaches in Belize are sometimes a surprise to people so you should not arrive expecting to swim and wade in the water at the beach. This seems to be the case at all the resorts so you have to evaluate based on other factors. The ocean views from the resort are beautiful and the hotel does have a private beach to lounge at and look out onto the water. Other hotels and a few restaurants are accessible by walking along the beach, Bicycles are available as well. Great French/Thai fusion place next door called Rendezvous which I highly recommend. The restaurant at the hotel has good food but in multiple cases they were out of items on the menu which was already limited so it was nice to find another good place nearby. We did very much enjoy the lobster bake on the beach that the resort held one of the nights we were there. Kudos to the chef and staff for putting that together.

The service was excellent during our entire stay. My husband and I had chosen this resort for our elopement. The resort did an excellent job making all of the arrangements and putting together the wedding ceremony and private dinner on the beach for my husband and I. We are both very thankful for the care that went into taking care of everything we needed to make this a special trip for both of us. Ovell, Nigel, Carolyn, Lorraine and Raul (dive shop) were all great and very thorough.

Some things to note and the main reason for the 4 star rating vs the 5 star rating. This is more about the services/amenities and options available as compared to other 5 star properties I have stayed at in the Caribbean such as the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, etc. If these services/options are not important to you then you should consider this a 5 star resort. 1) Wireless- Needs improvement. For some reason it does not like Apple products. Although we were able to connect about 75% of the time we tried, the signal was very weak and it created some frustration with uploading, editing or sending information. No wire/ethernet option available either. Luckily we only needed to take care of a few urgent issues while on our trip but something to be aware of if you need to be more connected during your vacation. Bring DVDs as streaming videos/movies is not realistic. The resort very nicely offered use of their computers but some of the work we had to take care of came up late at night so not the most convenient situation. 2) Fitness Center Missing - There is no fitness center so if you need to get a workout in you have some limited options such as jogging along the beach (early in the morning before the heat), paddleboarding or kayaking. 3) No ATM. There isn't one on the property and hotel does not provide cash services. Luckily we brought lots of $1's and $5's based on a tip by someone who had just visited Belize. Finding a bank and ATM in San Pedro is not easy. They close early, don't operate on some days of the week and US dollars are not an option. 4) No real snack or gift shop. The gift shop advertised consists of a few boxes of items at the front desk/office and that's it. Be aware of this up front so you can bring water, snacks, any OTC meds you might need, etc with you to Belize or at least make sure to stop by a market in San Pedro before taking the shuttle to the resort. If we had been told this up front during the reservation process we would have done the same. Although you can get a water taxi or golf cart fairly easily and get to town it is an expense each way (cash only) and takes time. We had to make a number of trips into town to get what we needed since it wasn't readily available and we weren't aware of the resort not having this type of stuff on the property. As long as you know this you can come prepared.

Bring bug spray! Mosquitoes are definitely an issue and unfortunately the restaurant keeps all the doors and windows open until dinner time so if you are planning on eating outside of your room you will need to spray yourself from top to bottom. Mosquitoes are part of visiting a tropical climate of course especially this time of year.

As far as swimming goes, the resort has created a very nice swimming area off of the pier that allows you to swim in the ocean if you don't want to deal with the seagrass along the beach. The water is very warm both in the pool and the ocean this time of year so we were able to swim at all times of day. Service at the pool was excellent with the exception of having to walk over to the front desk and ask for towels when needed (no one brings you any or replaces the wet ones on your lounge chair even if you are at the pool for hours.

My husband got his diving certification and went on quite a few dives. One diving excursion offered by the dive shop is a diving/snorkeling trip. Definitely recommend this one since you see some really amazing things at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley.

I definitely recommend Las Terrazas. Based on what I saw on our travels around the island they seem to be the best resort on Ambergis Caye. If you are planning a wedding, this is definitely a beautiful place to do it. Our photos came out amazing!

Trips are always made better when you come prepared so hopefully this information is helpful to anyone heading out to Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at both Las Terrazas and Matachica. Had we only stayed at Las Terrazas, I think we would have been echoing the praises like the other reviewers, however, to be completely honest, Las Terrazas pales in comparison. The service was mediocre at best. At Las Terrazas, they took "Island Time" to another level of slow. Instead of going beyond, like Matachica did, to make sure everything was convenient, Las Terrazas did the bare minimum. When we needed a ride to the main island, they gave us a water taxi schedule. Matachica had one of their staff members take us. When we tipped extra at Las Terrazas, nobody said anything. The Matachica staff will chase you down to make sure you know that a 15% tip is already included. The staff at Matachica will overhear a conversation between my friends and I and are already one step ahead of me, before I need to ask them to help me. Las Terrazas wouldn't even give me a call back when I tried to schedule a spa appointment. Don't get me wrong, Las Terrazas's staff is friendly, but like I said, in comparison to Matachica, it's mediocre at best. The establishment is more modern, but feels generic. I think we got spoiled from our wonderful staff at Matachica, which is strange since Matachica is cheaper of the two hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can't say enough about Jaime, Nigel, Noreen, and the rest of the staff here. Having tried to stay at other resorts on Ambergris Caye,
I can honestly say that I will never venture from Las Terrazas again. After staying last year on our honeymoon, we returned this year with our parents and family members. We started our trip at Coco Beach resort (because nothing beats a deal, right?), which ended up being a disaster worthy of an even lower price tag. With one phone call, Las Terrazas rescued us by boat and welcomed us to the perfection I had experienced in the past.


The rooms are not just hotel rooms. They are condo units... the kind in which one would aspire to live. The pool grounds, beach, and garden areas are the stuff of paradise commercials and the seclusion lends itself to complete relaxation, while still not being far from San Pedro. The restaurant is amazing, but don't forget to experience the local flavors in town. Also, if you plan to dive, they have their own dive shop and master divers at the hotel. My wife and I learned to scuba dive here on our honeymoon. Amazing. Period.

We'll be back soon.

-Roberto Hernandez

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.