We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, we had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
sausalito, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great resort, we had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 6 days here and had a wonderful time between 25 dec to 31 dec. the level of service was outstanding, the size and finishes of the apartment was very good. Kid friendly resort!! Food at restaurant is good but pricey but so are all other restaurants. Need to have a better gift shop to buy basics, especially an ATM as we had to go to town ($25 each way) to get cash. Overall it was a very nice holiday that we will remember.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    75
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
121
203
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at Las Terrazas was wonderful. The resort is set on a gorgeous beach. There are beach activities such as paddle boards and kayaks. Diving and snorkeling is available as well. The pool is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. The staff was exceptional, taking care of and anticipating any need. They were friendly and informative. The food at "O" restaurant was delicious and beautifully diplayed. Our unit was beautifully decorated and was stocked with everything we could need. The linens were high quality and the unit was clean and spacious. It was very convenient having a washer/dryer in the unit. We had an amazing view of the water and grounds. The soaking pool on the deck was a nice bonus. We will definitely return and recommend Las Terrazas to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonanza, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Las Terrazas; were loved it so much last year that we came back again this year. The rooms are actually 1, 2, or 3 bedroom condos with full kitchens, and a washer & dryer. The pool is amazing and sparkling clean, and if the pool bar is not open the wait staff from the restaurant comes around to offer you drinks. The staff here is so good; we were really pleased when we returned this year and some of our favorite staff was still here! They become friends, know you by name, etc. Last year we used the water taxi to get to "town", this year we rented a golf cart for the week and it was so much better. We could come and go on our own schedule, not the water taxi's every 2 hours schedule. We were able to explore so much of the island this way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Transportation from Belize City to resort was seamless. Fortunately, had great weather. All staff nice & friendly. Rooms with contemporary decor and well-kept. Looks same as photos on website. Stayed in a penthouse unit. Plunge pool was really nice. No issues with noise. Location of resort is isolated, so be prepared to take the ferry back and forth to San Pedro for more options regarding restaurants, shopping, etc. Costs $14 per person, round-trip. Could also rent a golf cart & drive 30 minutes, but we were warned against the bumpy ride. Food at "O" restaurant was good. Seemed monotonous after 3 or 4 nights, though. Took an excursion to Lamanai part of Mayan ruins. It was a nice experience, but it literally takes all day. We left the resort at 6:45am by boat, picked up passengers from other resorts along the island, then headed about an hour to mainland Belize via the boat (breakfast sandwich & fruit provided). From there, took an hour school bus ride to the river, then from there another almost hour via boat to the actual site. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages were provided throughout the day. Authentic food was provided upon arrival at the site, then we were led on a short tour, about 40 minutes. The photos were priceless, but it sure took an effort to get there and return. It was around 6pm once we arrived back at the resort. Needless to say, we were worn out. So, plan accordingly if you'd like to see the ruins. Overall, we had a great time and were pleased with our stay. It was truly the isolated island experience that we were hoping for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a nice property with a very good restaurant. the staff is cordial. The restaurant staff is excellent.. the restaurant itself is quite small. However, the quality of he food is excellent.

This is a luxury resort as compared to other resorts on this island. However, it does not have the amenities to be considered a true luxury resort. The "bar" is in the very small restaurant. The "gift shop" consists of a couple of shelves behind the front desk where one can purchase essentials. Transportation into San Pedro is a 30 minute drive in a self-driven golf cart down a very bumpy road. (This actually adds to the remote ambiance of this resort and is a fun trip if undertaken with the right attitude.) The easier route into San Pedro is a fairly quick water taxi that comes past the resort about once an hour.

After staying at Las Terrazas for six days, I wrote the following letter in response to a request to give them feedback. I was disappointed that this input was never answered.

1. There were roaches in the upstairs restroom. Each evening, I had to kill several.

2. A much larger issue arose when we were trying to find transportation back to Belize City for our flight home. We had dive equipment so we had two heavy bags. The individual at the front desk would not tell us how much the airline would charge from San Pedro to Belize City for excess weight. He stated that Mayan Island Air would not tell him how much excess weight would cost until they weighed the bags. We asked him several times to please call them and just request an amount PER POUND of excess. He claimed to call and still maintained that they could not tell us how much it would cost, even per pound, until they weighed the bags.

3. We asked numerous times if there were other options. He said the only other option was a ferry. (At no time did Las Terrazas personnel tell us there was another available airline.) So we did finally take a very slow, crowded, hot, sweaty ferry from San Pedro to Belize City, then a cab to the airport.
4. At the airport in Belize City, we learned that a carrier called Tropic Air has flights every hour to and from San Pedro. Moreover, Tropic Air does NOT charge for excess weight; only excess length. (Our bags were well within their acceptable size so we would have only had to purchase a $235 ticket.) We also spoke to Mayan Air. When we asked them ourselves, they immediately told us the excess fee was $.50 per pound. We would have happily accepted either option had your staff so informed us.

4. We had the same issue when we were traveling TO Las Terrazas. The agent for Las Terrazas in Houston never told us there was a Tropic Air option that would provide free baggage service. Instead, because our flight arrived late, we had to take a water taxi to the resort.

This level of incompetence is not acceptable. Your staff should be better informed or more honest. Even if you have forged some kind of agreement with Mayan Air, you should still allow your guests the information needed to make a good choice. As it happened, we were given only minimal information in which we based a poor and unnecessary travel decision.

The above issues are the only negatives I can say about this resort. The resort is very nice and the staff are otherwise quite accommodating. Despite the roaches in the bathroom, our rooms were immaculate, including the restrooms.

Room Tip: Three bedroom suites facing the ocean can be closed off to make them one bedroom and two bedroom sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Las Terrazas Resort. It is through such constructive criticism that we achieve the high level of customer service which we strive for. I do want you to know that neither our Houston Reservations Office nor anyone at the resort received the letter you referenced being sent after your August 2012 stay with us. Please contact me personally in the Houston office if you wish to have further discussion. I would also like to comment on your numbered points and hopefully offer some clarification.

Firstly, I certainly apologize that you discovered roaches in you unit. We take preventive measures to combat their intrusion with chemical spray on a regular basis. However, from time to time our efforts are in vain as they somehow find their way into a unit. In this rare occasion we unfortunately have to react to the problem after they are found. I trust that this was the case and they were eradicated on your reporting the incident. I believe that this is a problem that is not uncommon in the tropics but never the less something that you should not expect at Las Terrazas.



We also want to clarify that we do use both Tropic and Maya airlines as well as Tropic Ferry for Guest transfers from Belize to San Pedro. We understand your decision to arrive by Tropic Ferry was based on the fact that your luggage exceeded the airline allowance and excess baggage costs applied. While you told our Reservations Manager in Houston this was unacceptable, it is the policy of both airlines; of which we have no control. Airline policy on both airlines is that extra luggage is taken on a space available basis only and there is no guarantee that the luggage will be allowed if the plane is full. It will go free of charge on both airlines on another flight on a space availability basis only.



When dealing with our Front Desk on your departure transfer the same policy with regard to the airlines applies. Although both airlines are very lenient with regard to overweight and extra luggage should space be available on the plane, both also have cargo departments that can send extra items by freight for $0.33/ lb according to Maya Air and $.50/ lb with Tropic. This again is subject to space availability on the passenger planes so of course not a consideration for those trying to meet a connecting flight.



I do apologize for our shortcoming in communicating the facts clearly to you and I want to also thank you for pointing them out as well as the many favorable experiences that you describe during you visit with us.

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed 4 nights at Las Terrazas last week and enjoyed it very much.
We arrived at San Pedro after spending our first 4 nights at Ka'ana in San Ignacio, Cayo district, Belize. Las Terrazes didn't disappoint, it really looks as beautiful as in their website! the grounds are absolutely beautiful, well taken care of and very relaxing. The staff was charming and helpful and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel can be considered a luxury hotel on the island, but if you are use to staying at a Four Seasons or Ritz, this can be better compared to a Westin.

Pros:
Well kept
Large suites. We booked a 1 bed patio room, and it actually turned out be a 3 bed/2 bath. They just locked the other 2 rooms, which were not hard to get into by the way.
Pool is a nice size lap pool
Food in restaurant isn't bad, but the prices are ridiculous
Dive shop is right next door
Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, sailboat looking contraption
Nice bathroom amenities
Staff is friendly, but nothing that goes above and beyond.
Free wifi

Cons:
Bumpy road to town by taxi.
Taxi (van) to town and to hotel is $30 each way....25 min drive. Private water taxi is $30 each way for 2 ppl....10 minute ride. Go with the water taxi (coastal express) price is same as van, but you save 20 min. If you go by public water taxi, pick up is every 2 hrs and $7 pp each way. Front desk can tell you pick up times.
If you rent a golf cart, comes out to about $70 per day, and you have to consider the $5 each way bridge fee in and out of town.
Lots of sea grass near the shore so not conducive to swimming if that's your thing.

Notes: all prices noted are in US$.
If flying back to the mainland, just need to check in 20 min before your flight.
Did discover scuba introductory dive. Did the same course in Maui at the Four Seasons, but Las Terrazas dive wasn't as nice, and instructor wasn't as thorough, which is to be expected from a third world country. Did see a nurse shark, but not as much fish as before.

Room Tip: You can book a patio suite 1 bed and still fit 6 ppl in it comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.