We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class resort with outstanding location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First class resort with outstanding location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed 5 night at this beautiful resort. I spend a far amount of time researching the best place to stay for our personal vacation. My husband spends quite a bit time traveling all over the world for business so I want our personal vacation to be memorable. Last year we stayed at the St Regis in Kauai, prior to that Caneel Bay, St Johns and Ritz Carlton, St Thomas, etc. He was thrilled with my choice of this outstanding place to relax and enjoy the island life with luxurious amenities. I did book the package (with Lorraine, reservations) including transfers from the main airport in Belize. Our flight arrived early from the states and Tropic Air put us on an earlier flight to San Pedro. Las Terrazas was on top of things and picked us up (even though we were an hour early) put us in their boat for transport to the resort. Not a minute was lost. Upon arriving at the resort, staff was on the dock to take our luggage to our Seahouse (a waterfront accommodation) while we checked in. Everything was handled for us and information explained to us about the property and amenities at check in. The Seahouse had magnificent water views as the downstairs has all glass sliding doors. Everything was exactly as shown in the picture beautifully decorated and accessorized. The beach area was meticulously maintained each day (some resorts are not). The resort provides areas of shade under it's canopied lounges or palm trees which I found unique to this resort. The staff was extremely friendly and would go out of their way to offer suggestions to make your stay great. It is not often you encounter such warm and personalized service. The food was excellent and they offered it poolside, restaurant or as room service. I did book the chefs special dinner in our package which was an outstanding surprise. I meet with the chef to tell him our food preferences in advance.He created a delicious 4 course dinner for us. It's presentation was out of a magazine and the ingredients were always the freshest. There was NOT one disappointment during our stay. The day before our departure they had a packet ready for me with departure times, flight info, and bill. This was a time saver for me. All in all, it was money well spent and most importantly time well spent. Belize is a beautiful country with beautiful people.

Room Tip: The seahouses are worth the money but all the room seemed to have private outdoor space and similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to provide your positive experience with Las Terrazas Resort on Trip Advisor ... and additionally, with all of the locations to choose from while visiting Ambergris Caye, you selected Las Terrazas. Many of our guests also have great things to say about our staff and our Chef; all of which we pass on to them. The private dinner on the beach is a popular addition to a reservation and as you mentioned, is executed extremely well. We do hope you select Las Terrazas again for a future trip and if so, please contact me personally for assistance.

Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    76
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
124
208
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple just stayed in this resort about 10 days ago and we didn't want to leave!!! Las Terrazas employees were very attentive to our every need and we loved the peaceful nature of our surroundings. The pool is absolutely amazing and we had nothing but positive experiences during our entire trip. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who enjoys relaxing by the pool and is looking for a place that makes you feel very welcome. While we had to stay a few extra days because of a hurricane disrupting our flights, the staff made every effort to assist us in altering our travel plans. This is definitely a great vacation spot!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We just returned from Las Terrazas where we held our wedding with 35 of our friends and family. This review may get long, so let me just start by saying that if you are considering Las Terrazas for your destination wedding, BOOK IT! The planning process was very easy thanks to Carolyn Stone. She is located in Houston so I could call her or send her a quick email if I needed anything. She is wonderful and was always so quick to respond. Lorraine in reservations is also in the U.S. and easy to get in touch with. She was so great at getting the rooms situated for all of our guests. Many wanted to share rooms and split bills, and she worked all of that out on the front end for everyone.

We booked the wedding site unseen, and we could not have been happier when our water taxi pulled up to the resort. It is just as beautiful in person as it is in pictures. The beach, the pool, the rooms, they were all so pretty! We held our welcome party on the rooftop of O restaurant. Patrick, the chef at O, is very talented. We are both foodies and were worried that the food might be like your typical so-so resort food. We were so happy that the food was amazing! All of our guests commented on how good it was. Getting around the island was actually really easy with a large group. We used Dave’s water taxi service and were very pleased. We would tell the front desk what time we wanted to be picked up and Dave was always prompt. It was only $10 per person round trip, so we used him several times to go into town to shop and eat.

The day of the wedding was so relaxing for me. I didn’t have to do a thing but go get ready. The staff was on top of everything! It was pretty windy that day, and we had planned to have dinner on the beach under an open air tirzah. Dave, the resort manager, suggested we change to a tent to block the wind. We agreed, and it worked out even better! It was like we had a dining room to eat easily and hear the toasts. Then we could step out in the breeze to dance! It was perfect!!

We really could not have been happier with Las Terrazas. The ease of planning, the staff, the setting, the food, the music – it was all so wonderful. Feel free to send me a message if you have any questions about using Las Terrazas for your wedding. I seriously can’t say enough wonderful things!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from a 6 day stay at Las Terrazas and couldn't have been more impressed. We had a Garden room that faced the pool, two bedroom, two bath, full kitchen, granite counters, travertine floors, nice furniture, immaculately kept and everything was in perfect working order. Sometimes online pictures can be deceptive, but this is one property that matched the description. The grounds are maintained daily. The resort has a nice beach with paddle boards, kayaks, and a hobie cat that guests can take out anytime. Super confident is the right next door dive shop to arrange and leave from their dock for diving and snorkeling trips. Also next door is a great restaurant called Rendevoux with a fresh menu cooked up by owner/chef Colleen. We opted to rent a golf cart for the week, but the ride is so bumpy on the dirt road that we would probably opt to use water taxis next time. We really didn't need to have the cart, but it was just the two of us. The hotel is a little ways from town and the buzz of nightlife, but that was exactly what we wanted. For us not having kids, the best part was there were no kids staying at the hotel which is rare and we loved it. Great food, great drinks, clean, super nice staff, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'm really surprised by the positive reviews of this resort. We spent half our time at Victoria House and then the remaining half at Las Terrazas which was a disappointing end to our trip. Las Terrazas is located in the northern part of the island which is pretty isolated. It is not easy to get to restaurants, there are no shops, etc. At night, the area is pretty much dead. Overall, it felt lonely.
LT itself is a hotel/residential buying property. From my past experience, resorts like these often can't meet hospitality expectation the way a true luxury resort can. There were two occasions when I tried to order bacon and ice cream and they said they were out. Also, the resort is really showing its age- the lighting is dated and is very dim in the bathrooms, the padding for the lounge chairs were stained and dirty and wifi was in and out.
On a positive note, the staff was really nice and polite. I enjoyed the 5 minutes neck massage and beverage we received upon arrival.
With that said, I would not stay at this resort again. My bf was pretty bummed we ended our trip there. I would much rather spend my time and money at Victoria House which was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 8 days at Las Terrazas and had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious and well equipped. We used the DVD player and the iPod dock both a few times, was great to have them. Having a kitchen was great and we used it a few times, although we mostly ate at or around the hotel. The food at the hotel was good, there were some hits and misses, but considering that we were there during the low season they had a great selection of food and it was always good. We had breakfast included every day, and the breakfast was always wonderful.
The grounds for this property were very nice and well maintained. We used the beach a lot which was wonderful, but the pool area also looked nice. The staff at the resort is very accomodating and helped us with everything we requested quickly and easily. They really helped make our stay wonderful and helped us get everything that we needed and wanted.
The hotel is about a 10 minute boat ride or 30 minute golf cart ride to town, but there are also restaurants and other resorts a short walk up or down the beach. We found that getting to town was very easy when we wanted to go.
Overall this is a great place to stay if you are looking for a very upscale, great service venue with a condo layout. Very happy with the hotel and will be looking for similar properties on other trips we take because it was the perfect combination of luxury, service, and practicality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel face away from the current construction, as of August 2012. Oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful property. Staff is great. Very helpful and attentive. Resort itself a little disappointing for a so called "luxury resort." Rooms clean for most part, more showing its age with little upkeep/upgrades. Light switches broken and missing nobs. AC went out during our stay and ceiling fan did not work making for a warm nights. Had an ant invasion, thankfully the day we left. Fitness center is more of a storeroom of broken equipment. The restaurant is horrible and not worth entertaining the idea of eating there. Supposedly a new chef??? Make other arrangements! Free water sports were a nice perk. For the money there are much nicer places to stay. i.e. Coco Beach, Grand Caribe, Victoria House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you selecting Las Terrazas Resort while on the beautiful island of Ambergris Caye and for taking the time share your comments with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property and standard service. Our staff, as you mentioned, work very hard to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and pleasant stay with us.

We are indeed sorry to hear that the air conditioning and ceiling fan became defective during your stay. Please be assured that our villas are inspected prior to guest check in and although both were operating on your arrival infrequent breakdowns do occur afterward. I trust that they were both repaired immediately on the issue being brought to our attention.

We also sincerely apologize about the ants finding their way into your villa. As you may be aware, storms disturb insects and other animals natural habitats. The recent Tropical Storm appears to have caused a disturbance with ants on our grounds who once disturbed were looking for a new habitat. Again this is an isolated and very rare occurrence that is handled by our staff immediately when reported.

Our small fitness center is quite adequate for the majority of our guests needs however we did experience a treadmill breakdown and are shipping the parts required from the US as they are not available here in Belize. This does take some time and again we apologize for the inconvenience caused you.

We are not sure how we failed your dining expectations and wish that it would have been expressed to us during your stay. Our restaurant experience is quite popular among guests staying at Las Terrazas as you can see by viewing the trip advisor comments as well as by those from the resorts that you mention as being “much nicer places to stay”. We are somewhat puzzled by this statement but can only assume that it is validated by your first hand experience of them all. We do want to say that all the resorts mentioned are indeed very fine resorts each offering their own unique Belize experience.

Your feedback is important to us and we thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.