We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice we made for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best choice we made for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

After getting married in Mexico this October, we were looking for a place to relax and enjoy the island life. Upon settling on Belize, we knew we wanted to find a hotel/resort where we could enjoy the luxury of a true honeymoon while not being surrounded by hundreds of tourists.

We stumbled upon Las Terrazas through Trip Advisor based on the great reviews and the candid pictures. This is one of those resorts where the pictures actually tell the true story. A beautiful modern resort with top-end appliances, laundry and high end beds and furniture within the condos. Wireless internet and balconies overlooking the ocean. We moved right in, and it was difficult to leave.

The staff is amazing, and each and every person greeted us with a smile and helped us with anything we needed. It's great to have a PADI scuba shop on location with the ability to charge everything back to the room. The O restaurant on the property serves high quality food (although perhaps not always the most inventive), and Rendezvous next door has a bit pricier French food. Both are worth going to, and a water taxi can get you to any of the other restaurants on the island.

One thing to keep in mind during October is that it is during rainy season. Which means lots of mosquitoes. The rooms are great for keeping them out, and we didn’t have any within the condo. However, bring a decent supply of repellant (we went through two bottles) for any walks outside of the room after dusk.

We did walk around many of the other resorts close by, and we didn't see anything that had the great simple modern look that we really liked at Terrazas. When we finally did pry ourselves out of the room at the end of the week, we knew that Terrazas would be the one reason to come back to San Pedro. Thanks for a great experience! Hope to make the trip again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    96
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
169
245
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were given the opportunity to experience this fantastic condo/hotel resort through a friend. I really did not know what to expect even though I had completed a few months of research prior to getting there. I looked up everything from food shops to restaurants, flora and fauna, weather and water and still I was surprised by the experience. Pleasantly surprised. We travelled there towards the end of the hurricane season, flew from Canada through Houston and then took the island Hopper with Mayan Air to Ambergris Caye and like a lot of other people on here, had the resort pick us up. The cold drink and cold towel welcome were wonderful. The staff took care of our bags and were incredibly friendly and approachable for the entire visit.

We met so many very nice people from all over, who were staying as couples, families, singles. It was a friendly and relaxed atmosphere from the day we arrived. The photos, as others have mentioned, do not do this resort justice. The blue sky, white walls, blue water, white beach and natural thatched roofs are stunning. A great reminder that we were no longer in the cold north.

I took advantage of the White Sands Dive shop just a quick walk from the the resort on our first week and did a half day trip to the reef and Shark Ray alley. Visibility was good despite the great amount of fresh rain water clouding the ocean water. The cost was $55 USD plus tax and rental of equipment.

Food shops are easily within walking distance of the resort - Capt Morgan's and Mata Grande (grocery delivery available to the resort). We walked to both, via the beach, although they are both accessible by the back road too. In the rainy season, the back road is full of deep divots caused by the excessive rain fall (fixed when the rainy season ends). The food was very inexpensive. We had a lot of pasta dishes, ate beans, toast and cheese, the meat from a local butcher and eggs. I would recommend bringing the basics salt / pepper / garlic seasoning / your favorite seasonings from home because nothing like that seemed to come in small amounts. The restaurant was excellent. The nachos, the hamburgers and the breakfast fruit plate were all outstanding.

There are a lot of dogs all over the island but most belong to someone or a resort. The birds are plentiful everywhere and we were lucky enough to see rays, snappers, grunts, the resident barracuda and little brightly colored tropical fish right from the pier. Two fish were caught from the pier and I had them uniquely cooked by the resort chef for dinner for an incredibly reasonable cost. We also saw a boa constrictor, two scorpions, cockroaches, sea urchins, a sea anemone, a starfish, iguanas, and geckos at or close to the resort.

We experienced the side wall of wind from Hurricaine Rina which swept past the East side of Ambergris Caye as it headed to Cancun, Mexico. The Manager called to warn us that we might have to evacuate, but we stuck it out and experienced nothing more than strong winds, huge waves on the pier, some rain (usually at night) and reduced staffing. None of which affected our holiday negatively. The beach was a plethora of shells and interesting things after the overnight waves hit. And after the storm passed, it took no longer than a few hours for the staff to completely return the beach to its pristine raked condition again. They are efficient and fast.

The worst parts of this experience were the no-see-um sandfly bites, the mosquitos and not having water for 24 hours in our condo the day before we left. For the bugs, we used a lot of high deet bug spray, but that didn't work very well. And to assist with the inconvenience of not having access to water, the resort gave us access to another suite for showers, washroom use and brushing our teeth. (I would recommend bringing from home, anti-histamines and high deet sprays as well as aloe vera lotion in the event of sunburns. Most things that you would normally find in Canada or the US are not that easily accessible in Belize.) And of course, the bugs are not something that can be controlled by the resort so I certainly don't hold that against Las Terrazas.

There is excellent wi-fi internet access, the beds are incredibly comfortable and clean, the air conditioning works very well as do the fans, tv is satellite and lots of options, front desk is friendly and helpful, the rest of the staff are friendly and conscientious, management is very hands on and takes good care of the facility and the staff, the bathrooms are clean, and the kitchens are well stocked with items you would need to cook with.

I would highly recommend getting a massage at the resort. It was fantastic and the price was similar to pricing in a North American spa.

We appreciated the fact that the resort was not full, that there were not too many bars around, the nightlife was limited and evenings were quiet. I went to get away from the rat race, not see how other rats live and party. We did not encounter pushy beach sales people, rude people or dangerous people situations. Alcohol is easy to find at the little shops, beer is inexpensive and the 1 Barrel Rum is fantastic with the strawberry banana juice you can find everywhere.

Overall, an excellent relaxing two week holiday. I am very happy to have gone to Belize to experience the lifestyle and relaxed atmosphere. It was perfect. I would definately return to Las Terrazas.

Room Tip: Beach view would be nice because those rooms look out to the reef and the sunrise. But all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We went to Las Terrazas after a friend had been married here and they loved it. It lived up to everything we could have hoped for. Because we went in low season (Oct. is low) there were very few other guests. Therefore, we felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The honeymoon package was perfect and the service was impeccable. The rooms are huge (we had a one bedroom 2 full bath, king size bed, fold out couch, huge walk-in closets and full gourmet kitchen). The only thing about having kitchen is that finding a place to buy food is pretty challenging so cooking wasn't really an option. Luckily the restaurant has really great food. Definitely try to get the all-inclusive dining package because places to eat are at fine dining prices including the onsite restaurant (unless you go to town which costs $7/person by water taxi and about 20 min.) There are a few places nearby that will pick you up by boat for free if you dine with them, also at fine dining prices.

Truly a first rate resort.

Belize is wonderful but the water is different than most Caribbean places. It has the second largest barrier reef so the water is totally calm and full of grass. So you don't really go in and wade in it and you don't swim in waves. At first this was annoying but it is still beautiful and in terms of relaxing it's pretty hard to beat. Instead you go on snorkeling/diving trips that are spectacular! Another aspect of Belize that is not to be missed are the people. They are wonderful and full of information. There's no hassling, no con-artists, etc. Everyone speaks English plus a few other languages.

As I mentioned, it was low season so the whole island was very sparse, which can be a little off-putting. I think next time we'd probably try to go around November so there would be more activity. The dollar is accepted everywhere (converts 1 to 2 Belize) and I would say the price of stuff is pretty much the same as the US.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor corner unit. We were on the beach side and had a beautiful view of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon at Las Terrazas in October (2011). We stumbled upon it online and booked it immediately based on the photos and other comments about the resort. When we arrived, all of our expectations were surpassed.

We opted for the Tropic Air shuttle flight from Belize City to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye. I would definitely recommend the extra $160 per person for this add-on (availble through Las Terrazas website). It only takes 15 minutes and when you land on the island, there is a complimentary taxi that brings you to Las Terrazas personal boat that delivers you to the dock at the resort. Definitely beats a 45 minute water taxi with stops and unpredictable schedules.

The grounds are gorgeous and immaculate. More beautiful than the pictures. The front desk attendants and concierge were amazing. They addressed us each by name everytime we walked by, and were amazing at setting up our adventures/excursions for the day. We would literally stop by the front desk and say "we want to jet ski" and within 10 minutes, there was a jet ski ready for us right on the Las Terrazas shore.

The restaurant staff was perfect. They were so friendly and outgoing, we actually felt bad going to eat at other restaurants. My husband and I have been in the restaurant industry for over 20 years combined and have seen it all, and the experience we had with the staff has definitely stayed with us. We love sitting at the bar and chatting with the staff. Every server and bartender was amazingly friendly and accomodating. The food was great and service was fast. We were there for 7 days and probably ate 30% of our meals at the restaurant and were satified each time.

One warning for those planning a trip in October- it really is the rainy season. Some days were worse than others, the rain never lasted all day, but some days were overcast for the majority of the day. and with rain and heat comes mosquitos-

We found the best way to get around was by renting bikes and riding on the beach. It's about a 4-mile ride into town, which can seem long when its super hot. But we made sure to stop by many bars along the way. The water taxis were also quite reliable and an easy mode of transportation.

We stopped by many of the resorts along the beach to check them out and hit up their bars, and while some of them were very nice, we we always sooo happy to come back to Las Terrazas- it was truly the nicest resort we visited, and it was so relaxing and peaceful, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse units with the private plunge pools - they are huge and you have your own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Awesome service, beautiful place. The room was perfect, very nice views from the terrace. Everyone very friendly and willing to help at any time. We were on a "diving" trip and the dive shop is located a few steps away... literally... Mosquitoes where a nightmare but the hotel can't really make anything about that.... highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take tons of repellents and be prepared to be isolated. Don't go walking to the supermarket at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This was an amazing place. We were three couples, we had a blast. The pool area was very nice. Although the beach side was full of turtle grass, there was hardly any place to swim without having to step on either seaweed or crushed coral. I do recommend this to couples getaway. The villas were beautiful, we cooked our own food and drank our own booze! with the full moon you are bound to come back soon.

Room Tip: rent a golf cart, a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I picked this resort for our honeymoon based on other reviews we read here...and we could not have been happier. As soon as we stepped off the water taxi (which Las Terrazas sends for you) we were greeted with a cold towel and a welcome drink. From there we were shown to our beautiful town home. It was more amazing in person than the pictures on here. We were blown away. The home has all high end fixtures and finishes. The grounds are immaculately kept, the pool is stunning and extremely relaxing. The beach is only steps away and is raked daily. The "O" restaurant was reasonably priced for breakfast and lunch. Dinner was a little pricey but worth every penny. Every meal was tremendous and always came out piping hot. The wait staff and bartenders might have been the best part of this resort. Rodolfo (who made the best mojitos), Ishmael, Nigel, and Noreen treated us like royalty. They were all so kind and attentive. We would highly recommend this resort for the ultimate relaxing experience. Maurice and Manuel will take care of any need you may have. Be sure to bring bug spray though because there are tons of mosquitoes at night, other than that it was the perfect vacation. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.