We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Las Terrazas Resort to your Saves list
Las Terrazas Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“I highly recommend this beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I vacationed with my wife, 5 year-old daughter, and in-laws for 7 days in April and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. We returned tanned, well-fed and rested. The location is spectacular and really caters to those who enjoy snorkeling, scuba, sailing, kayaking, etc. If you simply want to lie on the beach, I would not suggest Ambergris due to the sea grass immediately offshore. The staff was welcoming, attentive and very professional. Manuel at the front desk answered our questions and impressed me with his dedication to friendly and thorough service. We had some initial problems with the a/c and ice maker, and these were immediately addressed. We took advantage of the spa services multiple times and were fully satisfied...Mel did a fantastic job! Note that the resort does not have a spa per se (no hot tub, sauna, relaxation rooms, etc.), but it does offer a full spa menu. Food at the restaurant was high quality & delicious and we dined there several nights. Before arriving we arranged for grocery delivery through Mata Grande Grocery, and so our place was fully stocked when we walked in; if you are staying more than a few days, I highly recommend this service. As the resort is not bargain-basement, don't expect to pay budget prices for cocktails and dining; you can eat & drink on a budget in town, but will need to take a water taxi to get there. Housekeeping was very friendly and outgoing, and having a washer/dryer available in the units was a plus. Overall a memorable visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    75
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
121
203
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We visited Las Terrazas Resort for one week. My husband and myself, his sister and husband and their son who is 16. Having to take a small plane from Belize City and then a water taxi is a tiny price to pay for a little slice of paradise. We were greeted at the Resort dock with rum punch drinks and refreshing wash clothes(not to mention our sister-in law who also brought us drinks!). The private beach, pool and overall grounds were kept impeccable. Our 3 bedroom unit was very tastefully decorated and provided all the amenities of home. I would recommend you use the local grocery service to have grocery delivered prior to arriving, that was nice! The entire staff was amazing, they made sure we were enjoying ourselves every day...every hour. Anything we needed, they were there to provide. Ishmael, Rroddie, Ronnie proved to be quite entertaining and accomodating at the same time. They really left a lasting impression on us! We got a couples massage, excellent, highly recommended. The town of San Pedro offered many wonderful restaurants although it was a little expensive to get back and forth to town ($7.00 per person if you use the resort taxi, $5.00 per person if you call Dave's water taxi), this is each way. Thanks to all the staff for making our vacation very enjoyable! Kirk and Violet

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We hadnt been back to Amergris Caye since 1993. It is alot more developed, but still a laid back, charming place. Plenty to do, or do nothing at all. Food is good overall but expensive. Dont miss The Rondevous Restaurant just next to Las Terrazas . Our condo at Las Terrazas itself was very nice, with plenty of room and a full kitchen. We had a nice beach view from our bedroom. The service overall was impeccable. The only negative was the fold out couch in the living room, which was uncomfortable just to sit on. Belize is a great vacation destination & this is one of its best hotels, but not one of its cheapest.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My girlfriend and another couple rented a 2 bedroom/2bath condo in early April for scuba diving. Overall, the resort and rooms were very nice and are accurately depicted in the photos. The pool was good and the food/bar, although overpriced, were comparable to the rest of the food/beverages on San Pedro.
Pluses:
1) rooms are nice
2) Beach and pier are very convenient - about 10 min water taxi ride to town

Minuses:
1) Food was okay. We went into town most of the time to eat
2) Some malfunctions in the room - internet didn't work, and a/c was broken but got it fixed after a day
3) Staff was friendly, but too friendly with my girlfriend. One of front desk staff was hitting on my girlfriend when I was gone on a scuba trip offering "to hang out with her in our room" after I tried to arrange a spa day for her knowing I would be at the Blue Hole all day. I was annoyed, but tried not to let that ruin our trip. In my opinion, very unprofessional, but something that probably happens at these resorts in other countries. Just FYI

Overall, it was a very nice extravagant resort. I've never stayed anywhere else in Belize so have nothing to compare it to.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStone, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write and express your comments regarding your recent stay at Las Terrazas Resort. While we appreciate constructive criticism as a means to help us improve our services and facilities, your comment on our desk staff seems out of context for their character and training. Their friendly professionalism is mentioned several times in previous reviews. However, this fact does not diminish the seriousness of your accusation. Our only wish was that Resort Management would have been informed so that any misunderstanding could have been immediately clarified. If you or your girlfriend care to share any further information with us please contact me personally at our Central Reservations & Sales Office in Houston.

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much so. We ended up being upgraded from 1 bedroom to a 3 bedroom Cabana - it was beautiful. View from one side was the Caribbean and the other side the lagoon. Especially enjoyed watching the crocodiles surface in the lagoon close to sunset! Only down side was our air-conditioning went out for a day in the beginning of our trip and they were a bit slow and messy getting it cleaned up. After that, all went well and we had no further problems. I would definitely recommend this resort to travelers - food and drink are a bit on the pricey side at the resort. Too bad they don't reduce price to encourage vacationers to stay at the resort more rather than having to venture out!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We have just returned from Las Terrazas and can not say enough about our amazing two week stay. Our accommodations were some of the best we have encountered. Our huge three bedroom, three bath luxurious villa was beautifully appointed. The resort itself is nicely manicured with a gorgeous pool area. But what makes this resort are some of the friendliest, most courteous, and attentive staff you will ever find. The front desk staff of Maurice, Manuel, Sully and Carl will cater to you every whim. The bar and restaurant staff are just as outstanding. Thanks you to Noreen, Elder, Luis, Nigel and Ishmael for making our vacation so enjoyable. In addition to the resort is the White Sands Dive Shop next door. One of the best PADI shops we have had the pleasure of diving with!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStone, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
We are honored that out of all the hotels & resorts on the island you selected Las Terrazas Resort as your "home away from home" while visiting Ambergris Caye. We also would like to thank you for taking the time to compliment the resort and our staff. We too agree that our staff are friendly, courteous and attentive. While Las Terrazas Resort is fairly new, we have been fortunate to work with several of our team for many years as they worked with us at another resort. We are glad that these employees helped enhance your stay at the resort and added to an enjoyable vacation experience. If I can be of any assistance to you with future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at our Houston Reservations & Sales Office.

Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I cannot say one bad thing about our trip to Las Terrazas! It was perfect. Seriously. The service/staff was so helpful and went above and beyond anything anyone could ever expect. The facility is a quaint, peaceful place with an amazing pool for relaxing the day away! Perfect distance to the White Sands Dive shop (only a hop, skip and a jump away)! My favorite part was how private this location was and it didn't feel like a "hotel." It was like each villa (they are HUGE) was made just for us. The beachfront property is breathtaking and the long dock was FUN to jump off the end of. It really was a journey of a lifetime! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Terrazas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.