We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be considered a Six Star resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Should be considered a Six Star resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and I recently returned from a two week vacation at Coco Beach with our daughter and my parents. Having really explored Ambergris Caye, I feel confident saying that Coco Beach is setting a new standard for vacation properties on the island. Here's what you need to know: You will be picked up at the airport and escorted via water taxi straight to the resort. This is not your average hotel. Each unit is a large condo on the beach. Everything is brand new, spotless and high-end. As others have said, the pool is the best on the island. It is huge, beautifully landscaped and never crowded. We booked two excursions (snorkeling and a visit to the ruins on the main land) through the Tuff-E-Nuff activities desk on site. It's hassle free, and priced on par with the other companies in town. Speaking of town, best thing to do is buy a pass for the Tuff-E-Nuff water taxi which runs an express service into and back from town all day/night. (The other taxis are not express). It pays for itself quickly (40 dollar pass for the week). Whenever we asked for something to be taken care of, it was as if someone waved a magic wand. Our a/c died one night, no problem - someone from maintenance came to fix it right away. And even though we were there over Christmas and New Year it was no problem getting massages/pedicures etc. in our room. They were booked in the morning, and we were set to go that day. Another big plus is the choice of restaurants in the area. You can go into town and go to any number of reasonably priced places, but Coco is also within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in the country, Capricorn and RoJo Lounge were two we ate at - both amazing. There's also the Upper Deck at the sister resort, Belizean Shores, mere steps away. You can also buy groceries (or have them delivered) as the kitchens are extremely well stocked for cooking in the condo. There is some construction work going on at the back of the resort as other reviewers have mentioned. From what I saw, the second pool is going to be awesome - it's deeper, than the first pool and will have a slide. They are building a small hotel and a restaurant of their own too. These new amenities are going to put this place in a class of its own - like I said, six stars. This is our third visit to Belize - our first at Coco Beach. We will never stay anywhere else. The service and amenities will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    132
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
203
435
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Great customer service Cheap to stay but expensive to play. Tuff-E-Nuff the resorts activity contractor is amazing great ideas and great guides.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I looked for months for the perfect place to enjoy our honeymoon in Belize. When we came across Cocoa Beach online we knew immediately that it was what we were looking for! However, we never could have guessed the amazing service and friendliness of the staff. While we waited to catch our flight to San Pedro from Belize International airport we ran into one of the staff members of the resort who was flying there too. She immediately called the resort to let them know we would be there shortly and let us know everything would be taken care of. When we got to San Pedro she ensured there was a taxi waiting to take us to the water taxi. We were so grateful for her help, especially since she was not working at that time. When we arrived to the resorts dock there were two employees waiting for us and took our bags to our room. Marica was one of them and she was incredibly easy going and wonderful to talk to. Our room was amazing. Over 1300 square feet, hardwood floors, giant kitchen, huge bathroom, beautiful bedroom and to top it off a bottle of wine congratulating us on our wedding. The place was stunning. Between the kayaks you can take out daily on the crystal clear water, the massages offered in your room, or the gorgeous pool and swim up bar, I don't know what more we could have asked for! Thank you Cocoa beach for the best honeymoon we could have asked for! We can't wait to come back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

What a beautiful new resort! Everything was top of the line and very high quality.. Wonderful staff that made me feel more like family than a guest.

This is the nicest resort I found on Ambergris Caye! And by far the best pool in all of Belize!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

The trip was amazing. I was worried that my two sons (22 & 24) who came with us would be bored, that just didn't happen. The resort staff were so friendly and the resort itself was spotless and beautiful. The pool was amazing with the volleyball and swim up bar, even relaxing in the hot tub was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Coco Beach is spectacular from the first impression until the day you leave. This beach front resort offers the best pool on the island, friendly inviting service, and extremely well appointed accomodations you won't want to leave. We've stayed 5 times with the most recent trip in December 2009. We plan to go back again in June 2010 and again in December 2010. Prior to staying at Coco Beach we have stayed elsewhere on the island so we are able to make a comparison. Definitely take advantage of tours you can set up through Tuff-E-Nuff while you are there at the resort. The trip to Shark-Ray Alley and Hol Chan will create memories to last a lifetime. Some of the best snorkeling we've ever done. And you can make these excursion plans right there at the resort. The restaurant is still to come at this location but there are enough places nearby that you can have a very comfortable stay in the meantime while phase two construction is concluding.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My fiancee and I traveled to Belize in October of 2009 for a week - it was the perfect week to celebrate our engagement and relax. Belize (especially where we were) offers the opportunity to be both lazy and active - so we took advantage. We worked with Leroy at the "activities" desk and he got us some great deals to go fishing, snorkeling, cave tubing and visit the ruins. Note: some of the deals may have been better because we were there during slow season. Either way, try to negotiate (and offer to pay cash - that gets you further).
We couldn't say more about our rooms either - we had a condo essentially with a full kitchen (complete with granite and stainless steel appliances). There's a nice TV in the living room (note - no TV in the bedroom, but you're on vacation!). Bathroom had a cool two person / two showerhead set up. And the people that run the place were super nice.
The only thing to note for those considering this resort over others is you need to take a water taxi to get to "town" or go on some of the activities. It's not a big deal bc there's not a lot to do in "town" but get groceries or visit a restaurant or two - but it adds up to take the taxi (only 5 min ride each way - $5 a person each way)
If we hadn't gone here for our vacation already, we'd definitely consider if for a honeymoon. Met lots of honeymooners on our trip and the resort is pretty secluded in some senses bc it's on the north side of the island. (may be busier during high season)
Overall - we'd definitely recommend for couples looking to relax but still have some activities mixed in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fabulous Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye in Belize. Our beachfront resort is just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town. The resort provides complimentary water taxi shuttle from San Pedro airport to the property. A short boat ride, bicycle ride or golf cart ride back to town will get you to the shops and restaurants located in the town center. A Belize vacation in paradise is the ideal therapy for those who just want to get away from it all! The weather in Belize is ideal. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, Hammocks and the most incredible swimming pool on the island. Coco Beach offers luxurious accommodations in a quaint environment. Coco Beach offers numerous activities including diving, fishing, day tours, volleyball, sailing, kayaking and much more! Plus there is an outside Coco Cafe Providing fresh pastries goodies and specialty coffee as well as quick lunch options. The Coco Cabana Pool Bar features a swim up bar, snacks and a selection of specialty drinks. Coco Beach Resort is the right choice for your Barefoot Vacation in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.